Advertisement

Reviews
Rating
Date
 Advertisement
   
  
"Bad for netbooks"
by: Brian
Mozilla Firefox 18.0 Beta 3 / 17.0.1

2012-12-07
Pros:
Fast, secure, customizable.

Cons:
Doesn't work great on GMA 3150 graphics. IE9 gives 45 FPS on html5 fishbowl test. FF17/18 gives 4 or 5 FPS. PITIFUL! Come on, Firefox! Isn't it time to give people the OPTION to run 3D if they want?

Other Thoughts:
Tried latest vid driver, in addition to all the force enable commands set to true instead of false.

Still nothing!

Love Firefox, but it's ridiculous when IE9 supports 3D & FF doesn't!


Was this review helpful? 

41 users found this review helpful.
  
"Anything's better than IE"
by: Gerry
Mozilla Firefox 18.0 Beta 2 / 17.0.1

2012-12-01
Pros:
I'm staying with Firefox 15.0.1 as I see no real need to upgrade. Compared to IE, Firefox is far more customizable and handles all my sites without crashes or script errors. I also like its ability to display my local directories as nicely laid-out pages with links to all my files. Netscape could do that years ago, whereas a request in IE for a local directory will simply bring up Windows Explorer, instead.

Cons:
The latest Adobe Flash Player plugin doesn't behave too well in Firefox. I've reverted to Flash Player 10, which solved the problem.

Other Thoughts:
I recently upgraded my IE8 to IE9 and was unpleasantly surprised by how many unwelcome changes there were. It also took a very long time to do the upgrade, as it also updated some Windows components. After all that, the only improvement was better support of the newer JavaScripts. IE8 had been giving me lots of script errors.

Was this review helpful? 

40 users found this review helpful.
  
"Still The Best"
by: gojo
Mozilla Firefox 17.0

2012-11-26
Pros:
Nice selection of themes and addons. Renders pages very well. No problem sites for Firefox. Crashes are extremely rare with fresh installs. (like once every few years).

Cons:
Some addons quit working with updates. Not a big deal since I only use a few. I actually forget how good Firefox is until I experiment with some of the others. IE is always seems behind the times. Chrome is a disaster. It's like a cloud browser (it's crap). To each his own.

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

30 users found this review helpful.
  
"New Version 17.0 - No Problems"
by: Beckola
Mozilla Firefox 17.0

2012-11-24
Pros:
Installed Firefox 17.0 using my old profile. No problems. All add-ons still work. ...I've used Firefox for 10+ years and never crashed or froze up. ...Surprised to see some reviews about crashes or freeze ups.

Cons:
Never in a hurry to upgrade as I never see any substantial improvements. In most cases, I don't see any differences at all. Version 17.0 eliminated the "Tabs On Top" option. Not a big issue, but why put out new versions with LESS options ?

Other Thoughts:
Save my profile folder and profile.ini file to my flash drive and have used on new computers with a fresh install of Firefox. No crashes. No freeze ups.
Don't know why anyone would still use Internet Explorer (or Chrome).


Was this review helpful? 

28 users found this review helpful.
  
"Solid Stable with Great Addons"
by: buzz
Mozilla Firefox 17.0

2012-11-22
Pros:
Love all the add-ons. It's why Firefox is my #1 choice. Don't understand all the complaints about the constant updates and new versions. I turn off automatic updates in the options and normally use Firefox for years before I download a new version. I don't care if Mozilla updates and create new versions every day. It's nothing to me. None of them are mandatory. I see verion 17.0 is available. I'm still using version 9.01. 17.0 looks stripped down (like Chrome) I don't believe I'll be updating anytime soon.

Cons:
None.

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

25 users found this review helpful.
  
"What the F***!"
by: CyclePath
Mozilla Firefox 16.0.1

2012-10-13
Pros:
v15 was working fine, until v16 became available.

Cons:
Version 16+ horrible. "Not Responding" constantly showing up.

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

36 users found this review helpful.
  
"Firefox 15.0.1"
by: 57dodgerman
Mozilla Firefox 15.0.1

2012-09-11
Pros:
I have been using Firefox 15.0.1 for several months with no issues. I use minimal plug-ins and have had no crashes. As stated earlier, I did a clean install and did not update the older versions. I tried that previously and had crashes and significant system slow-downs. I am running an XP system that works great!

Cons:
None at this tome. Keep it lean and clean and it works fine.

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

31 users found this review helpful.
  
"About Firefox 15 beta 3"
by: Baloney
Mozilla Firefox 15.0 Beta 3 / 14.0.1

2012-08-02
Pros:
Secure, never crashed here, plethora of add-ons, flexible, tweetable to an unimaginable extend, faster than ever. This version 15beta3 is a major improvement in terms of start and run (page rendering).

Cons:
None!

Other Thoughts:
How can any user deliberately affirm crashes when others as myself have never encountered a single crash, with 70+ add-ons. I'm afraid some people complain of closets when the problem is their own disorder. Handle Firefox as any computer component, hard as well as software, with respect and brains, and then start being objective!

Was this review helpful? 

29 users found this review helpful.
  
"Great!"
by: James
Mozilla Firefox 15.0 Beta 3 / 14.0.1

2012-08-01
Pros:
Fast. Easy use, easy to uninstall or change settings, & plenty of plugins such as adblock and forecast fox. I drag forecast fox to the top left of my tabs so that it works better.

Cons:
Firefox stable seems well, stable! Tried a few betas, but there are the occasional betas that will crash from time to time.

Other Thoughts:
People who have problems with firefox typically have problems because they:

1) Have tons of plugins. Do u really need to have millions of plugins?
2) Upgrade instead of clean installing. Consecutive upgrades can cause problems after multiple version updates. Clean install, please! You may leave your customizasion data (%appdata%Mozilla) folder, but clean install the program filesMozilla folder, please!
3) Toolbars. Coolseek, yahoo application state causes crashes, etc. Come on people, just uninstall the toolbars. They are only for search anyway, & that's why Firefox has search built in!
4) Malware/spyware. Don't blame firefox for having this on your system.
5) Drivers... Firefox disables 3D acceleration without having your graphics driver updated. Update it please!

* Edit: I saw one review that says IE9 was better than Firefox. Maybe it is! But in my testing, Firefox 14 stable is 2X faster than IE9 at HTML5 rendering & other graphics tests. Additionally, IE9 uses Active-X (Known security risk) & cannot be uninstalled & re-installed easily in the event of a bad malware or virus attack that infects system files or Internet Explorer settings get corrupted. Firefox in my testing, also renders webpages such as Facebook much faster/more stable than IE does. Some web pages do not display properly in IE9 that display perfect in Firefox.

I just ask that you don't badmouth firefox when you always use a beta instead of stable release, or you never clean install it, or you have 75% of your screen taken up by toolbars because you feel the need to have AOL, ALOT, Google, Yahoo, MSN, & every toolbar you can download on the web installed.

Also, do not blame (please!) firefox if you have tons of malware, viruses, haven't updated your graphics driver in 10 years, etc.

Thank you!




Was this review helpful? 

27 users found this review helpful.
  
"Mozilla Firefox 14.01 crash edition"
by: Joe
Mozilla Firefox 14.0.1

2012-07-25
Pros:
Tons of mega addons.

Cons:
Heavy, not very quick, crashes all the time.

Other Thoughts:
Mozilla are doing a good job at diverting people to Chrome, this version is broken.
It crashes just about everyday, today i was posting on a Forum and i was halfway through a long post and out of the blue a crash report appears.

I was burning a disc using convert x to dvd and for some reason thats beyond me Firefox refuses to start, once the disc finished Firefox started.

I have used this browser for a long time and ive never seen it crash so many times.
Its so bad that im looking at trying another browser as i dont trust Firefox as my default anymore..

It feels slow and bloated and im not running that many add ons..
Time to look for another browser me thinks..


Was this review helpful? 

30 users found this review helpful.
  
"Its painfull to update the ver..3.6 to..4..5..6..7.............14beta."
by: Mithun
Mozilla Firefox 14.0 Beta 12 / 13.0.1

2012-07-15
Pros:
Are mozilas guis gona mad?i was a fan of fire fox.but few months ago i uninstalled it.because they updates there ver once a week.its not nessecery.the nessecery is security update.isnt it?which ver u use dosent mean u r secure.the main thing is .. Is u r browser updated with its latest security update?new versions are heavy in lod and just crassing.but 3.6 was lite and good.but mozila guys stop support of 3.6. Mozila have to realise that we all hav not core i7 pc to handle that latest crap.3.6 was best.thats why me and my other friends uninsalled firefox for ever and using ie9 which is bater than new crap ff14b

Cons:
Nothing

Other Thoughts:
Very bad tactics to change version frquetly.u lose many users in this way.

Was this review helpful? 

34 users found this review helpful.
  
"Please not so many updates"
by: Mike
Mozilla Firefox 13.0 Beta 6 / 12.0

2012-05-30
Pros:
By far the fastest and very configurable.

Cons:
Constant updates really make it hard for developers/contributors to keep up and it is a real pain for users. Surely once a month would be enough.

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

30 users found this review helpful.
  
"Fast and Nice"
by: Rodger
Mozilla Firefox 13.0 Beta 5 / 12.0

2012-05-24
Pros:
Fast and Secure

Cons:
So many updates developers of themes and addons cant keep up!Just when you get a theme you really like it wont work in new version!!

Other Thoughts:
Slow Down Mozilla-I dont see why not just focus on security and make themes backwards compatable?

Was this review helpful? 

32 users found this review helpful.
  
"Yet another update"
by: Mike
Mozilla Firefox 13.0 Beta 1 / 12.0

2012-04-26
Pros:
Works ok

Cons:
Update after update and no explanation as to what the updates are for. Also each update renders half of my add ons unusable.

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

35 users found this review helpful.
  
"Oh Well...."
by: Rodger
Mozilla Firefox 10.0 Beta 3 / 9.0.1

2012-01-18
Pros:
uses less ram than 7

Cons:
would not remember some settings and no download progress in add on bar-no good themes for newer versions(I use 3.6)

Other Thoughts:
I am using XP SP2 so I guess it wont work well on older machines,shame they should test it on XP as lots of people use it.

Was this review helpful? 

31 users found this review helpful.
  
       
Copyright © 1998 - 2014 FreewareFiles. All Rights Reserved.