Advertisement

Reviews
Rating
Date
 Advertisement
   
  
by: 
Mozilla Firefox 5.0

2011-06-18
Other Thoughts:
I still don't have addons for version 4 that don't work , now 5?


Was this review helpful? 

45 users found this review helpful.
  
"Great browser!"
by: Ashley
Mozilla Firefox 5.0 Beta 2

2011-05-26
Pros:
- Fast - Customizable - Easy to use - Stable

Cons:
- I hate the way if your DSL modem goes out, Firefox will display a page cannot be found error when you refresh the page. You cannot click back to go back to a prior page. But then, Internet Explorer & the other browser groups seem to ignore this also. We really need the ability to retain the previous page we were working on before the internet "goes out", please! - While Firefox right-click + t is wonderful for opening links in a new tab, what ISN'T wonderful, is that the same shortcut (right-click + t) on a bookmark will DELETE the bookmark (instead of opening it in a new tab). This is very confusing, so please, please, firefox developers, fix this!

Other Thoughts:
Reviewer: -sean
Review Date: 2011-05-22

Pros: the best is Maxthon.
Cons: Internet Explorer = 1950 GM truck Firefox = 1960 model Ford pick up

Other Thoughts: Firefox4 = 11 Mb
Firefox5 = 13 Mb

Gecko engine = 4,5 Mb
software = 2 Mb
(no add ons,plug ins)
what are the rest 5...7 Mb ??
___________________________

Sorry, Sean!

I tested Maxthon, & it is rather like having everything, INCLUDING the kitchen sink. The interface is lots more confusing than Firefox, or even Internet Explorer to even be considered. The options are overwhelming, & don't really do much. Stability? I have had more than 1,500 tabs open on firefox before with no crash. Try that on Maxthon!

Additionally, I am rather tired of the IE based browsers (such as Maxthon) that are promoted, since they inherit the insecure qualities of Internet Explorer by being based on them. Horrors such as active-X scripting, drive by downloads (AND installs!), + malware make me want to scream!

Thankfully, Firefox is NOT based on Active-X & does not have a lot of these problems!

I thought I would post as someone who has experience, & save someone the time of trying it. Sure, Maxthon is small, but when you realize why (being based on IE) as opposed to other web browsers that use their own engines, then you realize that smaller is NOT always better. Especially when they are attempting to browse utilizing already present IE components rather than do their own.

You can think of them as an IE shell of sorts.

Now, as for what are the rest of the MB?
Firefox supports plugins. Firefox has to have coding room for the way it handles downloads with its download manager (pause/stop/resume) as well as the way it handles history, bookmarks, popups, internet style sheets, etc... Firefox developers attempted to put the most common & useable items in the browser in an easy to understand way. I know that if you use Maxthon a while, you quickly discover things that your used to working in Firefox (or even Google Chrome, IE, etc) that just won't work or aren't present in Maxthon.

I didn't mean to blast you pal, just wanted to explain WHY Firefox (in my opinion) is much better than Maxthon.

You are free to use a browser with security holes in it if you wish, but why would you do that? I like Firefox, & it seems pretty secure to me!


Was this review helpful? 

39 users found this review helpful.
  
by: sean
Mozilla Firefox 5.0 Beta 2

2011-05-22
Pros:
the best is Maxthon .

Cons:
Internet Explorer = 1950 GM truck Firefox = 1960 model Ford pick up

Other Thoughts:
Firefox4 = 11 Mb
Firefox5 = 13 Mb

Gecko engine = 4,5 Mb
software = 2 Mb
(no add ons,plug ins)
what are the rest 5...7 Mb ??


Was this review helpful? 

39 users found this review helpful.
  
"Great!"
by: Jennifer
Mozilla Firefox 5.0 Beta 2

2011-05-20
Pros:
Runs pretty fast, & looks much better than older versions. Seems the load time is less than a second, at least on halfway modern machines. I love the minimal look, because I hate to see a web browser take 1/2 the screen in plugins/toolbars/etc.

Cons:
You do need a lot of memory to run a great browser like this, because it features undo closed tabs, tab crash recovery, & many other things that can eat away memory. If you got a slow system, you may be better using google chrome, or updating the mem in your computer.

Other Thoughts:
For those with problems with firefox, here are common fixes.

- Low memory? -> Upgrade to more. 1 or 2 GB if possible. (more is better)
- Malware? -> Malwarebytes/full scan
- Viruses? -> AVG free/full scan
- Too much trash? -> CCleaner portable
- Bad drive performance? -> Defraggler
- Too many startup items/restore points? -> CCleaner startup list

- Want Firefox menus back? -> Right click above google search box, but below the tab area & select Menu Bar
- Change Firefox Settings? -> Tools/Options on menu bar
- Change advanced settings, including whether firefox uses undo close tabs? -> About:config + enter in the address bar
- Firefox deleting your saved bookmarks & settings? -> When uninstalling, do NOT checkmark & also remove user data box. It is never checkmarked by default, so if you checkmark it, you lose it.
- Backup your Firefox Profile? -> Start/Run/%appdata% & enter. Copy Mozilla folder to a safe location so that when you remove Firefox, you can add it back again & retain all your settings. Better yet, use Moz Backup & backup your bookmarks + saved passwords so you can re-import them & lose all the old extensions/plugins that cause firefox to slow down or crash!

* About memory - Memory is very important on a system. Memory is about 1,000 times faster than a harddisk. If you run out of memory, your harddisk is used, & your system slows to a crawl.

Some say use 512 MB on XP, but that's low. Many systems use up to 128 mb system ram for video mem. That doesn't leave a lot left over when your figuring in the cost of the startup items, your antivirus, + your os loading too! I recommend no less than 1 GB ram, & at least 2 GB, if not 3 GB or more if possible.

You can make do with 1 GB, but the more mem you have, the better your system will run. When surfing YouTube sites, that eat your ram up. More is better. If you got less, don't complain that your system is running slow!

Hope this helps, & peace!


Was this review helpful? 

37 users found this review helpful.
  
"IE9 Clone?"
by: Davo
Mozilla Firefox 4.0.1

2011-04-29
Pros:
Fast

Cons:
Just like IE9, all useful bits hidden (On IE9 manual windows update disappeared! 3.6.12 was the best version, never crashed/ PS scripts very slow to load on 4.0, am using noscript to filter out the dross.

Other Thoughts:
RonnieJ

Go to filehippo for old version, I did!


Was this review helpful? 

78 users found this review helpful.
  
"Sweet"
by: Salt and Vinegar
Mozilla Firefox 4.0.1

2011-04-29
Pros:
Nice. This is my SOB - standard operating browser.

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

37 users found this review helpful.
  
"Give Me v3 back!"
by: RonnieJ
Mozilla Firefox 4.0.1

2011-04-29
Pros:
Not much

Cons:
Too many to list

Other Thoughts:
Wish I could reinstall v3 again....anyone have a copy?

Was this review helpful? 

42 users found this review helpful.
  
"No Crashes"
by: Cage
Mozilla Firefox 4.0.1

2011-04-28
Pros:
Since I have been using Ver. 4 I have had not one crash with this browser. It's the most stable version yet. With version 3 I use to get browser crashes almost every day. All of my plugins from version 3 work fine with version 4

Cons:
It's still slow to start but no worse then version three was.

Other Thoughts:
Like all software that gets updated, there are new things to learn. The help file is very complete. So finding out how to use the new things in the browser is pretty much a snap. I was looking for a different browser because of the never ending crashes with Version 3. Could not find one that was 100% stable, how ever now that Version 4 is out I will stay with Firefox. I would suggest you download Mozilla Backup. It will back up Firefox, and Thunderbird files. As far as speed of loading web pages goes, that really depends on what firewall and anti-virus programs you use. I know some anti-virus programs scan the page before it allows the browser to load the page. This will ultimately slow down any browser. I still would highly recommend this browser to people.

Was this review helpful? 

45 users found this review helpful.
  
"suckage"
by: george_nelson
Mozilla Firefox 4.0.1

2011-04-28
Pros:
Not sure these guys went in the right direction on this release

Cons:
Loads much slower than 3, icons rearranged with no sense, settings are fun to hunt for just like an easter egg hunt, no release notes on the post.

Other Thoughts:
Time to migrate to other browsers, their heads got to fat I think.

Was this review helpful? 

45 users found this review helpful.
  
"Major Bug"
by: Davo
Mozilla Firefox 4.0

2011-04-01
Pros:
Faster than 3.15

Cons:
All sides disappear off screen rendering useless. Tried reinstalling, same thing plus lost all my bookmarks. Pale Moon still 3.15, works fine Avoid at all costs until sorted. ps no other program affected, IE fine!

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

47 users found this review helpful.
  
"Great"
by: mfcarpino
Mozilla Firefox 4.0

2011-03-25
Pros:
I love 4.0!! They did a excellent job making browsing the internet fun again with a faster process. Page loading is noticeably faster and the new layout is cool.

Cons:
None that I can think of.

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

41 users found this review helpful.
  
by: Rob
Mozilla Firefox 4.0

2011-03-24
Cons:
I've lost all my bookmarks and toolbars. Little or no support

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

40 users found this review helpful.
  
"Mozilla Hog"
by: Woody
Mozilla Firefox 4.0

2011-03-24
Pros:
I really wish there was...but I'm not seeing any improvement...a facelift...that's it.

Cons:
This browser should be called Mozilla Hog. Chrome and IE don't consume half of what the fox does (90 MB)

Other Thoughts:
What can this browser do that the others can't?


Was this review helpful? 

41 users found this review helpful.
  
"Firefox at a cost"
by: nweightman
Mozilla Firefox 4.0

2011-03-23
Pros:
Fast and nice user interface

Cons:
plugin compatibility and processor hog

Other Thoughts:
The new firefox 4 is certainly an improvement over the previous versions, it looks nice and works very fast, but that comes at a cost to the processor in terms that it is a resource hog, more so than the previous version. The compatibility of plugins is still not fully supported and some writers have just not written updates for FF4. This is a real shame. I am a user of Digital Persona Personal and that is one plugin that does not work anymore and have to use to IE to do my online banking in future which is not too convenient. Overall the look and feel of firefox 4 is pretty good. I can only give it a rating of 3 because of the resources hog and compatibility to many plugins.

Was this review helpful? 

46 users found this review helpful.
  
"great"
by: joeres
Mozilla Firefox 4.0

2011-03-22
Pros:
much faster now!!!

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

112 users found this review helpful.
  
       
Copyright © 1998 - 2014 FreewareFiles. All Rights Reserved.