Advertisement

Reviews
Rating
Date
 Advertisement
   
  
"Firefox at a cost"
by: nweightman
Mozilla Firefox 4.0

2011-03-23
Pros:
Fast and nice user interface

Cons:
plugin compatibility and processor hog

Other Thoughts:
The new firefox 4 is certainly an improvement over the previous versions, it looks nice and works very fast, but that comes at a cost to the processor in terms that it is a resource hog, more so than the previous version. The compatibility of plugins is still not fully supported and some writers have just not written updates for FF4. This is a real shame. I am a user of Digital Persona Personal and that is one plugin that does not work anymore and have to use to IE to do my online banking in future which is not too convenient. Overall the look and feel of firefox 4 is pretty good. I can only give it a rating of 3 because of the resources hog and compatibility to many plugins.

Was this review helpful? 

26 users found this review helpful.
  
"great"
by: joeres
Mozilla Firefox 4.0

2011-03-22
Pros:
much faster now!!!

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

69 users found this review helpful.
  
"Mozilla Firefox 4.0 RC 1"
by: Cage
Mozilla Firefox 4.0 RC 1 / 3.6.15

2011-03-10
Pros:
Stable, with no crashes as of yet. So far all my addons from my previous version work with this release canidate. It seems to work faster then 3.6 when browsing. So far I am impress with this new version.

Cons:
Start up time is not much better then the 3.6 version. Other than that there are no real cons.

Other Thoughts:
If you haven't tried out this latest version, then give it a try. I think you will be happy with it.

Was this review helpful? 

23 users found this review helpful.
  
"Good"
by: Brian
Mozilla Firefox 4.0 Beta 11

2011-02-12
Pros:
- Fast - Easy - Free - Stable

Cons:
- Hurry up & release the final! Ok, so maybe that isn't much of an issue... Haha!

Other Thoughts:
To the hotmail user:

Did you try the following steps?

- Update Flash player for Firefox
- Update Java
- Run Firefox in safe mode (no plug-ins) to be sure this isn't the problem?

* Try IE tab for Firefox?

I am sure one of these must be it! No problems on my end.


Was this review helpful? 

21 users found this review helpful.
  
"Bug on hotmail.com"
by: valcan
Mozilla Firefox 4.0 Beta 11

2011-02-09
Pros:
As per all 4 beta version also this 11 issue doesn't work properly reading email on hotmail.com. The only working version is still 3....

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

23 users found this review helpful.
  
"Whats gone wrong"
by: Davo
Mozilla Firefox 3.6.13

2010-12-18
Pros:
Usual great browser apart from.........

Cons:
Crash after crash, can't restore session, gets embarrassed easily. Tried pale moon which is based on firefox, no such problems and is actually faster

Other Thoughts:
Will somebody show Ancestry how to update their reader to be compatible, they don't seem to listen to our complaints

Was this review helpful? 

25 users found this review helpful.
  
"I love Firefox!"
by: Great!
Mozilla Firefox 3.6.10

2010-09-20
Pros:
- Speed - Totally uninstallable with no consequences (IE isn't) - Renders pages IE trips over

Cons:
I can't really think of too many. Firefox does crash from time to time, even on the latest 3.6.1.0, but usually it's after I loaded a few hundred tabs... Internet Exploder haha! would crash after 20 tabs or so, then endlessly loop on "tab recovery"!

Other Thoughts:
* They should make a "Mini" firefox for flash drives. Absolutely barebones for slow/older laptops & computers with the following features.

Easy to brows the internet in these modes:

- Text only
- Full Multimedia
- User selectable (no flash, java, shockwave, mp3 etc loading)

- Back/Forward/Refresh/Print buttons
- No user profile creation
- Extremely small size similar to Browzar, but with Firefox security.
- Auto clean all web history on close

Firefox mini would be a GIANT hit with slow computers/surfing in public libraries from flash drives, etc.

* The previous user stated that Firefox looked like Opera. I used Opera 10 something the other day, & it seems to me to have "updated" to be similar to Firefox. Additionally, I can tell you that from testing Opera, it has the following limitations:

- Tabs shrink to almost invisible if you keep opening sites. Firefox does not do this
- No right click + T option to open internet pages
- Opera seems to slow a lot on multiple tabs opened
- Opera buttons seem a little whacked out sometimes during use.

Although Opera is a decent browser, it doesn't seem as stable as Firefox & Google Chrome at the moment.

And I like Firefox because of all the combined features it has.

Thanks for reading!



Was this review helpful? 

21 users found this review helpful.
  
"Hmmm"
by: losevino
Mozilla Firefox 4.0 Beta 4

2010-08-27
Other Thoughts:
looks like Opera???

Was this review helpful? 

22 users found this review helpful.
  
"Awesome"
by: Dude
Mozilla Firefox 4.0 Beta 4

2010-08-25
Pros:
This is the one

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

24 users found this review helpful.
  
"superb"
by: hash


2010-07-17
Other Thoughts:
nothing can beat firefox!

Was this review helpful? 

25 users found this review helpful.
  
"The bug ist still there"
by: Freeboy


2010-06-28
Other Thoughts:
Version 3.6.6 didn't fix the memory leak and the unstable behaviour. The problem is this newly introduce plugin-container.exe running in the background. It causes Firefox to crash and consumes a lot of CPU power and extra RAM.

Was this review helpful? 

28 users found this review helpful.
  
"Excellent on Windows 2k"
by: valcan


2010-06-28
Other Thoughts:
Really I dont understand any negative comment about 3.6.6 vrsion, I have updated my Firefox and everithing is ok is fast as previous version and i could't find any software crash or others problems.I'm working with Windows 2000 SP 4 Update 1 may be that others windows sustems like vista could generate any problems. Additional comments will be appreciated.

Was this review helpful? 

29 users found this review helpful.
  
"Buggy, unstable"
by: Freeboy


2010-06-24
Other Thoughts:
With its latest releases Firefox has entered the world of bugginess. Instead of making progress, it's getting worse and worse with each of the recent releases. Especially with version 3.6.4 Firefox shoots themselves in the foot. Now they introduced Firefox with a sepearate extra process running in the background, called plugin-container.exe. This thingy is supposed to stabilized the Flash problems, but instead it makes Firefox crash much more often now. What happened to Firefox? It used to be a good browser, but now I consider switching to Opera.

Was this review helpful? 

27 users found this review helpful.
  
"Slowing down, crashing a lot"
by: Delsee


2010-06-22
Other Thoughts:
Firefox used to be so stable and crash-proof I almost forgot using other web browsers, but with every new version, it is getting slower and crashing a lot, forcing me to use other web browsers again. What happened Firefox, to our best web browser in the computing world???

Was this review helpful? 

28 users found this review helpful.
  
"Bloated"
by: IanL


2010-03-09
Other Thoughts:
Time was when I couldn't have heaped more praise on Firefox, but now having 3.6 I find it slow, bloated and liable to freeze, especially the downloader

Was this review helpful? 

30 users found this review helpful.
  
       
background background background
background
Bookmark and Share
Over 17,000 programs to download and use for free.
background
background background background
Copyright © 1998 - 2014 FreewareFiles. All Rights Reserved.