Advertisement

Reviews
Rating
Date
 Advertisement
   
  
"Tricky"
by: Canvassi
Ad-Aware Free Antivirus+ 11.1.5152.0

2014-01-01
Pros:
Does not slow down system very much (depending on which options you use). Toolbar was installed, even though I opted out, but was easy to remove.

Cons:
Online installer and updater takes forever to finish! Very tricky to avoid installing the toolbar. Manual scans are very slow. Uses enormous amount of RAM, even without the toolbar and with only one (realtime protection) option enabled. Remains very, very heavy on RAM even when not running a manual scan. Limited options. Especially missed the option to exclude certain folders.

Other Thoughts:
On average, it provides a good balance if you want something that does not slow down your system too much, yet provides fair protection.

Was this review helpful? 

35 users found this review helpful.
  
"Needs Work"
by: Darrell
Ad-Aware Free Antivirus+ 10.5.1

2013-03-08
Pros:
GUI

Cons:
Ad-Aware Free AntiVirus has the slowest scan engine of any AV program I have ever used. It doesn't scan email like other free AV programs do. It doesn't allow you to choose folders to ignore while scanning, that would speed things up. Just doesn't have the basic features that other free AV programs have. Ad-Aware Free AV has a lot of work to do to compete with other free AV programs.

Other Thoughts:
Needs more basic featurs....

Was this review helpful? 

93 users found this review helpful.
  
"Better this time"
by: HUM
Ad-Aware Free Antivirus+ 10.5.1

2013-03-08
Pros:
Having tried the evolving versions, this attractive version 10.5.1. 4369 is different. It recognized 58 traces plus one significant level 5 threat. Others security softwares such as: MB., SASp., AgU., SB., etc., recognized approximately 11 traces but not the level 5 threat.

Cons:
It tends to slow my computer a bit; somewhat sticky but not as much as earlier versions. I believe that eventually, this stickiness would be resolved. It works better with Mozilla Firefox than with Explorer.

Other Thoughts:
I would continue to use this product with my other security software. The early intervention action is a definite plus.

Was this review helpful? 

57 users found this review helpful.
  
"Lavasoft rules!"
by: Ray Alex
Ad-Aware Free v9.0.2.0

2011-03-05
Pros:
A real solid security software, made in Sweden. Lavasoft`s Ad-Aware doesn't slow your PC down at all, like the worst of them all AVG,Panda, and also Avast in some amount. Lavasoft`s Ad-Aware is the oldest antispyware program and with 367,254,662 total downloads on a competitors site, speaks for it own.

Cons:
Actually none. But to be picky it takes a bit to load.

Other Thoughts:
Long Long tradition of making security software and a solid "made in Sweden" idea of how to stop all crap.

Was this review helpful? 

75 users found this review helpful.
  
"simply awful"
by: stuart


2010-07-28
Other Thoughts:
this has to be the most bloated, power hungry buggy pile of junk i have ever seen,, its awful and not worth the hassle.
FAIL


Was this review helpful? 

66 users found this review helpful.
  
"Poor"
by: Edith


2010-07-17
Other Thoughts:
Pros:

- Uninstaller sometimes works

Cons:

- Bloated
- Slow
- Poor detection rate
- Installs system service
- Expect a BSOD on some machines
- Sometimes doesn't even install properly!


Was this review helpful? 

50 users found this review helpful.
  
by: Money Eater SHAREWAR


2009-12-31
Other Thoughts:
This software is a pure money eater,

just because this software detects ads doesnt meant the software is good, its totally a crapware just look at its update size they are 50 MB per day, if such is the case of it then i will have to sell my entire house for 1000000 US

this is the way how the freeware wants to make money

just by looking at the update size for continious 6 days i directly uninstalled it

i think avg 9 is much much better in detecting threats, its updates are just 30 Kb per day


Was this review helpful? 

75 users found this review helpful.
  
"Crapware!"
by: John


2009-10-17
Other Thoughts:
Use to be lite, portable, easy on resources, pretty good detection, & decently fast!

Now it is slow, buggy, installs a system service, & takes forever to scan!


Was this review helpful? 

69 users found this review helpful.
  
"Adware"
by: Parvez


2009-07-22
Other Thoughts:
It contains adware & spyware & it dosen't uninstalled & affects my computer for uninstalling anyhow & has to be formatted. Very bad exp. twice with this Ad-Aware 2009 8.0.7.0 software.

Was this review helpful? 

70 users found this review helpful.
  
"Decent"
by: John


2009-05-29
Other Thoughts:
+ Looks good

- Slow
- Bloated
- Installs system driver or service

* If you are looking speed, go to filehippo and download the older 1.05 version. The 1.06 version is iffy & sometimes does not download updated definitions.

You can run 1.05 from a flash drive, update the latest definitions, and it is fast.

It will always prompt you there is a new version (1.06) but just click cancel & then on the next one you can update the definition set.

Peace, & let's keep the freedom in freeware (not chains and shackles to a computer through bloatware & services).

P.S. I find the claim that the newer version needs the system service to remove malware to be mighty bogus sounding. Programs like Cedrick Collombs Unlocker do not need a system service to remove malware, but a simple right click/delete/unlock all processes & click ok, & it will remove malware on reboot if necessary.

Really good for locked files. You mean they think they can fool us that the older proggies scheduled files to be deleted on reboot, but the newer ones needed a system service just to delete certain malware?

Do I hear baloney, or what?

P.S. Also grab the version 1.85 of Unlocker from filehippo since the 1.87 will still install ebay shortcuts in the program file folder whether you uncheck it or not.


Was this review helpful? 

67 users found this review helpful.
  
"SLOW !!!!"
by: Aatos


2009-05-27
Other Thoughts:
JUST TOO SLOW !

Was this review helpful? 

77 users found this review helpful.
  
"Ad-Aware - Anniversary Edition 8.0.0:"
by: drhpkgu


2009-05-13
Other Thoughts:
good

Was this review helpful? 

92 users found this review helpful.
  
"xp pro sp3"
by: arnold39


2009-04-08
Other Thoughts:
Hi i had a prob with the first install but ifound that if you did not use the auto restart at the end of the installation it worked fine,it still was trying to do things and this caused the blue sreen memory dump so just manually restart your system after say 5min from the finish screen.

Was this review helpful? 

59 users found this review helpful.
  
"good free program"
by: stuart


2009-01-28
Other Thoughts:
this version of ad aware is the best yet. my main problems with previous editions seem to be fixed. there is finally realtime protection which is limited but sufficient and it dosent require a nuclear power station to run it. its new engine is much smoother and easy on the ram. old editions (2007,2008) were awful and buggy but this one is much better. its detection is good as previous people have said and it found 3 small trojans that good old defender missed, and that was just on a basic scan. to the previous reviewer, my mate ran onecare for 6 months and when his system nearly gave up he downloaded a few freeware scanners and was also shocked at how much onecare missed. for a premium suite its kak. as for this program, i would give it a shot. good bit of freeware. cheers folks.

Was this review helpful? 

69 users found this review helpful.
  
"ad-aware anniversary 8.0.0"
by: evilgrin


2009-01-21
Other Thoughts:
i used this program long time ago and after a few new versions it would not run good so moved to other antispyware programs.Retried this newer version and wow so much better especially realtime for process only.It found 5 malware, 2 programs i used myfreeweather and pc-checkup found as malware and ad-aware removed them.What is weird i have microsoft onecare and never caught the malware.Microsoft what the heck is going on with onecare?Thanks for a better version of ad-aware.

Was this review helpful? 

77 users found this review helpful.
  
       
Copyright © 1998 - 2014 FreewareFiles. All Rights Reserved.