Advertisement

Reviews
Rating
Date
 Advertisement
   
  
by: broughie
WinPatrol 28.0.2013.0

2013-04-21
Pros:
Excellent free program .Several times had malicious ? recurring hidden programs installed from software and torrent downloads eg "Browser Protect" which AVG , Malwarebytes and SuperAntispyware programs failed to detect even after running scans.Win Patrol preserved my PC by first warning me and then after antivirus & anti spyware scans failed,gave me the option to delete at "boot-up", which only soltion that worked as options of deleting registry items and using system restore also failed . Brilliant facility.

Cons:
None

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

87 users found this review helpful.
  
"Good Doggie"
by: jrogers
WinPatrol 20.0.2011.1

2011-05-10
Pros:
First thing I install on a new computer. Been using it for 8-9 years. Keeps the dog poop off my stuff.

Cons:
None

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

77 users found this review helpful.
  
"nice puppy"
by: allan clark
WinPatrol 19.3.2010.5

2010-12-08
Pros:
this is one puppy you need. And he eats little..

Cons:
when doing his job and you are installing software, he is a annoying pup. BUT THATS HIS JOB..

Other Thoughts:
more help for the poor sucker with windows
rubbish system.. and we need it..
It wont be long before the virus,
swallows windows.. off line windows,
online linux or apple...


Was this review helpful? 

67 users found this review helpful.
  
"WinPatrol 2009"
by: Kurt
WinPatrol 19.0.2010.0

2010-10-02
Pros:
I did use WinPatrol 2009 & I found it execelent, if you go to a website that try's to install Malware on your computer WinPatrol will ask if you want it installed!

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

58 users found this review helpful.
  
"Wonderful !"
by: CASTLE DEFENDER
WinPatrol 18.1.2010.0

2010-08-23
Pros:
Excellent add on for part of layered defense on computer, Works well with other antivirus programs.

Cons:
none.

Other Thoughts:
KUDOS to Billp.



Was this review helpful? 

61 users found this review helpful.
  
"I love this"
by: jefferson


2010-03-05
Other Thoughts:
I have been using this program for 12 years now and have recommended it to many many friends. I will always recommend this to anyone that doesn't want unwanted programs in their startup.

Was this review helpful? 

66 users found this review helpful.
  
by: Hell Noire


2009-01-21
Other Thoughts:
Despite what the low rankers say, WinPatrol very good at what it does, for free, and if you really want to, you can tweak a lagging Vista install to boot in around 25 seconds!

Was this review helpful? 

83 users found this review helpful.
  
"Highly rated only because it's free"
by: x


2008-10-10
Other Thoughts:
I have no problem understanding how WinPatrol works. My problem with WinPatrol is that it doesn't work as it's billed. It touts "real-time" protection, yet it polls at most every minute. And this is better than something like Kaspersky? Hilarious.

Was this review helpful? 

66 users found this review helpful.
  
"I like it!"
by: Aung Din


2008-10-10
Other Thoughts:
The authors of many programs that I install these days seem to feel that it should make a system change or launch itself when Windows boots up. It bothers me when I'm not consulted about that during the installation process. The little WinPatrol dog watches this for me and barks to let me know when something tries to slide through undetected or make a registry entry that ultimately changes the way my system operates. "Scotty" then asks me if I want to let the program get by with it. WInPatrol gives me choices, makes me happy. It catches Windows updates from messing with me too! I like it!

Was this review helpful? 

60 users found this review helpful.
  
"Great helper!!"
by: junker


2008-09-18
Other Thoughts:
I've been using WinPatrol for a couple of years now. It's a great addition to regular protection. If you don't know exactly what it does or how it alerts you, don't bad mouth it. To those of you that are ignorant of the operation, it ASKS you if it's OK for a program to run or start up or if a change in a program is all right. So, it actually DOES offer a good degree of protection, IF you know what you're doing. If you don't want to take the time to learn security and how things work, get one of the high dollar name brand all-in-one "protection" programs. Then, you can pay me to fix your machine when it gets infected. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? 

65 users found this review helpful.
  
"Getting Worse"
by: Rodger


2007-09-24
Other Thoughts:
This is the 3rd update of 12 in how many days?? I use version 9.5.01 and imho that is the last stable version-these newer versions are buggy as heck,you can get old versions just google it.

Was this review helpful? 

64 users found this review helpful.
  
"Stunningly Overrated"
by: admin


2007-08-03
Other Thoughts:
It's amazing how overrated this program is. If it weren't freeware, it would be laughed out of the building.

Was this review helpful? 

63 users found this review helpful.
  
"Useless"
by: iZammered


2007-08-02
Other Thoughts:
Works as advertised, but it's a real pain in the rear. All this program does is eat sys resources & give you a false sense of security.

Was this review helpful? 

57 users found this review helpful.
  
"Excellent!"
by: DoubleX


2007-03-11
Other Thoughts:
Very good prevention programm

Was this review helpful? 

66 users found this review helpful.
  
"Win Patrols good...but beware..."
by: The Vermin8tor


2007-02-10
Other Thoughts:
Downloaded and installed v7.0 and found it good if you have the serial key, in that it helps lock your 'Hosts file'as well as alert you to what's been installed,cookies,and changes in yuor 'Hosts files',oh and your history.etc.Look inside at the start ups and you may see this:'WIN PATROL~bat.exe'- it is suggested as a possible trojan.But doesn't seem to effect your PC right away.I used 'Bit Defender FREEE' to scan my PC,and it told me I had a 'deep infection' which was at 'start/programs/access/start up' so I went there to scan it indvidually.No infection found.I ran 'Ewidi Micro scan', and woah!- 3 worms found from 'WIN PATROL~BAT.EXE' so I removed the infections which took Win Patrol off my PC.This may be attacked so you have no protection/lockdown for your 'HOST FILES'which can be messed with.So,download & install 'Hosts Blocker' or 'KHBlocker'.KHBlocker will stop you from getting many cracked serials, from say 'freeserials.com,coreserials',etc...

Was this review helpful? 

58 users found this review helpful.
  
       
Copyright © 1998 - 2014 FreewareFiles. All Rights Reserved.