Advertisement

Reviews
Rating
Date
 Advertisement
   
  
"Brilliant"
by: michaelpaul
PrivateFirewall 7.0.30.3

2014-04-14
Pros:
The best firewall there is,Passes every leak test, Does what its suppose to do .period

Cons:
NONE

Other Thoughts:
Been using for years,Tried all ,None compare to this JEM.

Was this review helpful? 

94 users found this review helpful.
  
"v- 7.0.30.2"
by: mweizer
PrivateFirewall 7.0.30.2

2013-10-06
Pros:
Been using this (aka, Privacyware) for a few month. Excellent firewall. -- as complex/controlling as you wanna be {seriously}. Great small sized [7.35mb] and easy on the resources. I would strongly, generally , suggest to select, under Settings> Advanced> Enable both Process Detect and Training (default, 3 days). Each window (5) has brief description to the right. I'm using "Home Profile" via private wi-fi, it detects and asks, "trusted?"

Cons:
Comodo, which has gone metrosexual, can [t]uck it. {grins} I think this is as good or better, anyway

Other Thoughts:
RELEASE NOTES - 7.0.30.2, posted 10/5/2013
- Added support for Windows 8.1 (32/64 bit).
- Fixed Windows 8 Live Tiles issue.
- Added version query check confirmation.
- Updated drivers reviewed and tested by Microsoft Winqual.

* Please uninstall the existing version of Privatefirewall and reboot system before installing this update. Custom Process Monitor, Firewall and other product settings can be preserved by exporting (File -> Export Settings) before uninstalling, and importing (File -> Import Settings) after installing updates.


Was this review helpful? 

101 users found this review helpful.
  
"Best free lightwight firewall!"
by: I, Geek
PrivateFirewall 7.0.29.1

2013-02-17
Pros:
As the title of the review says, this is the best free lightweight firewall you can get. It's only outmatched by COMODO Firewall but since COMODO is using a lot of CPU and Memory power and being only 3% more efficient, Privatefirewall is a pretty good alternative for slower PCs.

Cons:
Lacks an appealing GUI but other then that, none.

Other Thoughts:
Non Microsoft built-in Firewalls are designed for the professional computer users not you're every day user, so unless you know how to correctly configure one then stay away from them and just use you're built-in OS firewall instead. Otherwise YOU WILL screw up you're computer!

Was this review helpful? 

167 users found this review helpful.
  
"Worst firewall I've tried"
by: xmac42
PrivateFirewall 7.0.28.1

2012-10-27
Pros:
Easy configuration.

Cons:
Blue screen of death (BSOD) appeared whenever I opened Open Office 3.4.1 version. The same happened when right click opening of "Manage" at "My computer" icon (explorer colapsed) and, when installing some programs. I have not seen so many BSOD's in my life. Things returned to normality when uninstalling Private Firewall. My computer system: Windows Vista Ultimate 64 bits, service pack 2.

Other Thoughts:
Ged rid of this.

Was this review helpful? 

152 users found this review helpful.
  
"Great....."
by: acme
PrivateFirewall 7.0.28.1

2012-08-06
Pros:
Works and it DOES pass the dreaded LEAK TEST. People need to read how to do the leak test. If you do it wrong you have to go to the PROCESS MONITOR - Detect Applications and remove the GRC Leak Test, then run the test again. This firewall WILL block it...

Cons:
People who don't know how to test a Firewall....

Other Thoughts:
Learn about computers and you will be smart.

Was this review helpful? 

154 users found this review helpful.
  
"The Best"
by: Pablo
PrivateFirewall 7.0.25.4

2011-10-22
Pros:
Easy to use, no learning curve, full protection, low overhead

Cons:
None

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

150 users found this review helpful.
  
"Muh improved firewall"
by: deebee
PrivateFirewall 7.0.25.4

2011-10-17
Pros:
Private Firewall 7.0.25.4 achieves a 10+ / Excellent rating in the latest Matousec Proactive Security Challenge,just very slightly behind Comodo Firewall. That's got to mean it's pretty good.

Cons:
None that I have found so far.

Other Thoughts:
I switched back to Private Firewall after the latest Comodo Firewall release started causing problems,again! The previous version of Comodo Firewall worked fine for me. Comodo Firewall is still a bit much for most peoples needs I think,too many settings. Private Firewall does the same thing and is much simpler IMO. I still rate Comodo Firewall very highly,so if it doesn't cause you any problems then use it. I just find it too intrusive.

Was this review helpful? 

95 users found this review helpful.
  
"Good But just one thing..."
by: Proffesor
PrivateFirewall 7.0.25.4

2011-10-02
Pros:
It's a great firewall. It's free.

Cons:
Doesn't have a password protect for settings, this is important if you are using this with multiple accounts on a PC, password protect not only helps users with limited accounts if more than one person uses your pc but it also helps prevent rogue spyware/malware programs and other virus from shutting down your firewall, it is an extra layer of protection in my opinion.

Other Thoughts:
Overall this is a very good Firewall. I used it for a year or so, this firewall in my opinion is not for the average user even though it is easy to configure, it doesn't provide enough information for a novice that doesn't know much about firewalls.

Was this review helpful? 

104 users found this review helpful.
  
"PrivateFirewall 7.0.24.8"
by: Cage
PrivateFirewall 7.0.24.8

2011-06-11
Pros:
Easy to use for non techies, yet will mostly satisfy techies. No conflicts with Avast. Over all a good firewall.

Cons:
Personally I would like better information on the firewall log.

Other Thoughts:
This firewall by default is set up in an standard control: alert, and auto respond mode. This mode is for the average user. In this mode the firewall will fail the GRC Leak Test. How ever if you switch to the Manual Control: Requires input from user, it will pass the GRC Leak Test. Manual control will be a bit annoying until it learns your application usage.

Was this review helpful? 

152 users found this review helpful.
  
"superb firewall"
by: zippycatchy
PrivateFirewall 7.0

2011-05-24
Pros:
works well with rising antivirus(free version) very easy to use and learn

Cons:
none

Other Thoughts:
first free firewall and it works
make sure you uninstall old versions then install new


Was this review helpful? 

187 users found this review helpful.
  
by: cc
PrivateFirewall 7.0

2011-03-31
Other Thoughts:
Failed GRC leak test; only firewall that passed was Zonealarm.

Was this review helpful? 

146 users found this review helpful.
  
"private firewall 7.0"
by: harryfatlegs
PrivateFirewall 7.0

2010-12-12
Pros:
installed about one hour and it works. will update after some time and i have got used to the controls

Cons:
people write reviews that put you off trying, when in fact it could be any number of reasons that it did not work for them, one of the main being that they have not removed all viruses before installation, this is the most important

Other Thoughts:
this looks basic but feels big and is a small drain on cpu.

Was this review helpful? 

153 users found this review helpful.
  
"Best Firewall"
by: 
PrivateFirewall 7.0

2010-10-23
Pros:
I like the fact that this program doesn't try to control my computer. I've tested the rest and I wouldn't even consider another firewall.

Cons:
I haven't got a single complaint.

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

146 users found this review helpful.
  
"C**p"
by: Rysiaczek


2010-08-19
Pros:
Nothing

Cons:
Worst on market..

Other Thoughts:
All of free firewalls are better then this one..

Was this review helpful? 

146 users found this review helpful.
  
by: Serbon


2010-05-27
Other Thoughts:
High quality software! It could be compared with its efficiency to Comodo firewall.

Was this review helpful? 

130 users found this review helpful.
  
       
Copyright © 1998 - 2014 FreewareFiles. All Rights Reserved.