Advertisement

HOME : PrivateFirewall 7.0.30.3 : User Reviews

Results: 1-15 of 26 Total Found

Advertisement

REVIEWS

RATING

DATE

"newer version for 8/10"

by: spike

PrivateFirewall 7.0.30.3

2016-08-10

Pros:

good firewall ...

Cons:

it disabled the network on windows 8

Other Thoughts:

windows 8/10 both dont work well with software and devices

"Small problems"

by: Tom

PrivateFirewall 7.0.30.3

2015-08-06

Pros:

Good firewall, but.....

Cons:

Norton Internet Security does not like this software, so be careful.

Other Thoughts:

This is why I only gave it a 4. I had to fight with my Norton app to accept his firewall.

"Brilliant"

by: michaelpaul

PrivateFirewall 7.0.30.3

2014-04-14

Pros:

The best firewall there is,Passes every leak test, Does what its suppose to do .period

Cons:

NONE

Other Thoughts:

Been using for years,Tried all ,None compare to this JEM.

"v- 7.0.30.2"

by: mweizer

PrivateFirewall 7.0.30.2

2013-10-06

Pros:

Been using this (aka, Privacyware) for a few month. Excellent firewall. -- as complex/controlling as you wanna be {seriously}. Great small sized [7.35mb] and easy on the resources. I would strongly, generally , suggest to select, under Settings> Advanced> Enable both Process Detect and Training (default, 3 days). Each window (5) has brief description to the right. I'm using "Home Profile" via private wi-fi, it detects and asks, "trusted?"

Cons:

Comodo, which has gone metrosexual, can [t]uck it. {grins} I think this is as good or better, anyway

Other Thoughts:

RELEASE NOTES - 7.0.30.2, posted 10/5/2013
- Added support for Windows 8.1 (32/64 bit).
- Fixed Windows 8 Live Tiles issue.
- Added version query check confirmation.
- Updated drivers reviewed and tested by Microsoft Winqual.

* Please uninstall the existing version of Privatefirewall and reboot system before installing this update. Custom Process Monitor, Firewall and other product settings can be preserved by exporting (File -> Export Settings) before uninstalling, and importing (File -> Import Settings) after installing updates.

"Best free lightwight firewall!"

by: I, Geek

PrivateFirewall 7.0.29.1

2013-02-17

Pros:

As the title of the review says, this is the best free lightweight firewall you can get. It's only outmatched by COMODO Firewall but since COMODO is using a lot of CPU and Memory power and being only 3% more efficient, Privatefirewall is a pretty good alternative for slower PCs.

Cons:

Lacks an appealing GUI but other then that, none.

Other Thoughts:

Non Microsoft built-in Firewalls are designed for the professional computer users not you're every day user, so unless you know how to correctly configure one then stay away from them and just use you're built-in OS firewall instead. Otherwise YOU WILL screw up you're computer!

"Worst firewall I've tried"

by: xmac42

PrivateFirewall 7.0.28.1

2012-10-27

Pros:

Easy configuration.

Cons:

Blue screen of death (BSOD) appeared whenever I opened Open Office 3.4.1 version. The same happened when right click opening of "Manage" at "My computer" icon (explorer colapsed) and, when installing some programs. I have not seen so many BSOD's in my life. Things returned to normality when uninstalling Private Firewall. My computer system: Windows Vista Ultimate 64 bits, service pack 2.

Other Thoughts:

Ged rid of this.

"Great....."

by: acme

PrivateFirewall 7.0.28.1

2012-08-06

Pros:

Works and it DOES pass the dreaded LEAK TEST. People need to read how to do the leak test. If you do it wrong you have to go to the PROCESS MONITOR - Detect Applications and remove the GRC Leak Test, then run the test again. This firewall WILL block it...

Cons:

People who don't know how to test a Firewall....

Other Thoughts:

Learn about computers and you will be smart.

"The Best"

by: Pablo

PrivateFirewall 7.0.25.4

2011-10-22

Pros:

Easy to use, no learning curve, full protection, low overhead

Cons:

None

Other Thoughts:

None

"Muh improved firewall"

by: deebee

PrivateFirewall 7.0.25.4

2011-10-17

Pros:

Private Firewall 7.0.25.4 achieves a 10+ / Excellent rating in the latest Matousec Proactive Security Challenge,just very slightly behind Comodo Firewall. That's got to mean it's pretty good.

Cons:

None that I have found so far.

Other Thoughts:

I switched back to Private Firewall after the latest Comodo Firewall release started causing problems,again! The previous version of Comodo Firewall worked fine for me. Comodo Firewall is still a bit much for most peoples needs I think,too many settings. Private Firewall does the same thing and is much simpler IMO. I still rate Comodo Firewall very highly,so if it doesn't cause you any problems then use it. I just find it too intrusive.

"Good But just one thing..."

by: Proffesor

PrivateFirewall 7.0.25.4

2011-10-02

Pros:

It's a great firewall. It's free.

Cons:

Doesn't have a password protect for settings, this is important if you are using this with multiple accounts on a PC, password protect not only helps users with limited accounts if more than one person uses your pc but it also helps prevent rogue spyware/malware programs and other virus from shutting down your firewall, it is an extra layer of protection in my opinion.

Other Thoughts:

Overall this is a very good Firewall. I used it for a year or so, this firewall in my opinion is not for the average user even though it is easy to configure, it doesn't provide enough information for a novice that doesn't know much about firewalls.

"PrivateFirewall 7.0.24.8"

by: Cage

PrivateFirewall 7.0.24.8

2011-06-11

Pros:

Easy to use for non techies, yet will mostly satisfy techies. No conflicts with Avast. Over all a good firewall.

Cons:

Personally I would like better information on the firewall log.

Other Thoughts:

This firewall by default is set up in an standard control: alert, and auto respond mode. This mode is for the average user. In this mode the firewall will fail the GRC Leak Test. How ever if you switch to the Manual Control: Requires input from user, it will pass the GRC Leak Test. Manual control will be a bit annoying until it learns your application usage.

"superb firewall"

by: zippycatchy

PrivateFirewall 7.0

2011-05-24

Pros:

works well with rising antivirus(free version) very easy to use and learn

Cons:

none

Other Thoughts:

first free firewall and it works
make sure you uninstall old versions then install new

by: cc

PrivateFirewall 7.0

2011-03-31

Other Thoughts:

Failed GRC leak test; only firewall that passed was Zonealarm.

"private firewall 7.0"

by: harryfatlegs

PrivateFirewall 7.0

2010-12-12

Pros:

installed about one hour and it works. will update after some time and i have got used to the controls

Cons:

people write reviews that put you off trying, when in fact it could be any number of reasons that it did not work for them, one of the main being that they have not removed all viruses before installation, this is the most important

Other Thoughts:

this looks basic but feels big and is a small drain on cpu.

"Best Firewall"

by:

PrivateFirewall 7.0

2010-10-23

Pros:

I like the fact that this program doesn't try to control my computer. I've tested the rest and I wouldn't even consider another firewall.

Cons:

I haven't got a single complaint.

Other Thoughts:

None

Results: 1-15 of 26 Total Found