Advertisement

Reviews
Rating
Date
 Advertisement
   
  
by: Victor
Free OCR 4.2

2013-10-10
Pros:
During downloading, site try to load me Trojan (Generic_r.CZH)

Cons:
During downloading, site try to load me Trojan (Generic_r.CZH)

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

85 users found this review helpful.
  
"It's Clean"
by: Admin
Free OCR 4.2

2013-10-06
Other Thoughts:
Please use the "FreewareFiles Direct Download" link rather than the ad-supported download manager.

Direct Download link: http://download.freewarefiles.com/files/freeocr_setup.exe

We checked the file locally and with VirusTotal.com which reports the file as clean:

https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/3cf8a2b4801bb841aa0fe82f4db272e517865aacbcc123f38cda2a42b8495d8c/analysis/

The ad-supported download manager does not include viruses, however, it does include 3rd party software that does not need to be installed in order to download the software. All offers can be declined and the download manager will proceed to download the software.

Your antivirus program flagged the software as adware because of the ad-supported download manager. We list direct download links for all software listed on our website and the download manager is optional.


Was this review helpful? 

89 users found this review helpful.
  
"Virus inside"
by: Bzzz
Free OCR 4.2

2013-10-06
Cons:
It contain some viruses, as Avira told me!

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

101 users found this review helpful.
  
"Direct Download"
by: Admin
Free OCR 4.2

2013-08-19
Other Thoughts:
Use the direct download link rather than the ad-supported Download Manager.

FreewareFiles Direct Download
http://download.freewarefiles.com/files/freeocr_setup.exe


Was this review helpful? 

105 users found this review helpful.
  
"Poor install"
by: Lowmeadow
Free OCR 4.2

2013-08-19
Pros:
Don't know. Not keeping it long enough to find out.

Cons:
Not only does it not ask where to install it (big pet peeve of mine), it automatically installs it in the root of the C: drive (this is unacceptable).

Other Thoughts:
Also watch carefully on the install. What appears to an "Agree" to accept the standard EULA, is really an agreement to MSN your homepage and Bing your default search engine. You then get a second "Agree" chance to install a browser plug-in for Food Buzz which is at least a little more obvious. I don't have a problem with developers funding themselves by bundling like this. But they need to make it clear that's what they are doing and not try to be sly about it.

Was this review helpful? 

104 users found this review helpful.
  
"Well done"
by: Jim
Free OCR 4.2

2013-07-10
Pros:
I needed something simple to extract the text from a multi-page PDF document. It seems to work better than I was expecting.

Cons:
haven't used it enough to find anything yet...

Other Thoughts:
I saw a review that stated this utility couldn't OCR more than a single page of a PDF file. When you click ther OCR button, you're given the choice to OCR a single page or all pages. "All pages" worked for me to OCR a 10-page PDF file.

Was this review helpful? 

102 users found this review helpful.
  
"Pretty good accuracy..."
by: omelette
Free OCR 3.0

2012-04-15
Pros:
Good accuracy.

Cons:
Not at all suited for OCR'ing 'en-masse' as it will only process one page at a time - so with pdf's for example, you must manually select each page for processing. The application-size is misleading - this is just a 'downloader', the main OCR is retrieved from the net when run. It is still tiny in size compared to its commercial counterparts.

Other Thoughts:
This really would be much better if it allowed entire pdf documents to be OCR'ed automatically.

BTW, it doesn't run on Linux Wine (with .NET 2.0 installed) Obviously not a 'Con' in the usual sense as it is a failing of Wine, not OCR 3.0 - more a FYI.


Was this review helpful? 

97 users found this review helpful.
  
"Simples, Eficiente e Gratuito"
by: Luiz Lećo
Free OCR 3.0

2012-01-20
Pros:
- great performance - smart interface - easy to install new languages - brazilian portuguese available

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

124 users found this review helpful.
  
"Works as stated"
by: GeoffSchultz
Free OCR 3.0

2011-12-15
Pros:
Installed without any issues on Windows 7 system and runs just fine using a networked Konica/Minolta Magicolor laser scanner/printer.

Cons:
None

Other Thoughts:
People who complain that this won't run on Windows 2000 need to belly up to the bar and upgrade their computer and/or OS! Windows 2000 isn't even supported by MicroSoft anymore.

Also, to the person who complained that this only imported into a single column in Excel need to learn Excel and the Text to Columns function. Duh!


Was this review helpful? 

110 users found this review helpful.
  
"Failure"
by: misery_guts
Free OCR 3.0

2011-11-26
Pros:
It's free

Cons:
It doesn't work!

Other Thoughts:
When installed on Windows 2000 SP4, it reported it could not run and required the (non-existant) Service Pack 5.

Was this review helpful? 

105 users found this review helpful.
  
"Very Nice Program"
by: Pat
Free OCR 3.0

2011-10-01
Pros:
Highly accurate conversion Simple to use Clever selection tools to facilitate conversion of multiple columns or embedded images Very good documentation & examples without requiring many pages of 'how to'

Cons:
Some manual attention required, but this is actually an advantage, lending flexibility and increased conversion accuracy.

Other Thoughts:
Thanks to the author(s) for an outstanding program. You have my sincere appreciation and recognition.

Was this review helpful? 

101 users found this review helpful.
  
"Free OCR 3.0"
by: DegsyS
Free OCR 3.0

2011-09-21
Pros:
!!!WOW!!! Considering that this is free OCR software, I was blown away by how easy it is to download, once downloaded, it installs very quickly. Once setup it is very simple and easy to use, even a complete novice could use without any difficulty at all. Suitable for beginner's to experts alike, much better than the OCR software you pay for. Don't take my word for it, try it yourselves TODAY.!!!

Cons:
Absolutely none...

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

106 users found this review helpful.
  
"WOW!"
by: Garry Cutter
Free OCR 3.0

2010-12-22
Pros:
Small, compact program. Very easy to use, and the accuracy is fantastic! Better than a commercial program I've been using.

Cons:
I've found none.

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

115 users found this review helpful.
  
"Free OCR 3.0"
by: Rambler
Free OCR 3.0

2010-09-13
Pros:
Couldn't get the HP software to interact with the scanner but this software worked great with my scanner.

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

100 users found this review helpful.
  
"Excellent Recognation"
by: waynelimited


2010-05-02
Other Thoughts:
I've lost softcopy of my research proposal. I've scan hardcopy of my proposal and this software help me by converting scan images from pdf to text. Thanks to software builder.

Was this review helpful? 

111 users found this review helpful.
  
       


Copyright © 1998 - 2014 FreewareFiles. All Rights Reserved.