Advertisement

Reviews
Rating
Date
 Advertisement
   
  
"101 Error"
by: Delsee
Mozilla Firefox 44.0

2016-01-26
Other Thoughts:
I cannot use the new versions which are not working due 101 error. I could not figure out how to get rid of this error. Any thought?, please, and thanks.

Was this review helpful? 

0 users found this review helpful.
  
"Not bad!"
by: Gerry
Mozilla Firefox 44.0 RC 2 / 43.0.4

2016-01-24
Pros:
User customizations, which have always made Firefox so flexible, are still possible. Also, I'm seeing great performance as far as speed is concerned, and stability as well. The memory leaks I found in an earlier version haven't shown up in 43.0.4. So far I haven't encountered any difficulties in handling the sites I visit regularly.

Cons:
Some of the UI changes are a bit disconcerting. The first thing I noticed was that the buttons on the bookmarks toolbar were displayed at the very bottom of the toolbar, which had a very large top margin, but I eventually fixed that by editing userChrome.css, which has always helped me tweak the UI in the past.

Other Thoughts:
Some extensions may cause Firefox to start up a bit more slowly, particularly Adblock Plus. At any rate, in a much earlier review I stated that I was happy with my very old version of Firefox and was refusing to upgrade it. Now I have to take that back!

Was this review helpful? 

0 users found this review helpful.
  
"compatability problems"
by: RJ
Mozilla Firefox 44.0 Beta 7 / 43.0.4

2016-01-09
Pros:
easy to find addons, nice layout, good options menu

Cons:
hard to troubleshoot, compatibility problems

Other Thoughts:
version 44 not compatible with vista x64
for no reason that i can think of

also neither is 43.0.4, so i'm stuck on 43.0.3 and it keeps asking me to update which is annoying


Was this review helpful? 

0 users found this review helpful.
  
"Marching Backwards"
by: MickinMD
Mozilla Firefox 43.0.1

2015-12-20
Pros:
Unmatched Bookmarks toolbar with folders for RSS news feeds, etc. Excellent choice of addons and adjustments

Cons:
Getting more and more complicated and slow to use. Flash often hangs or doesn't want to start loading in a video.

Other Thoughts:
It seems that every update recently has fixed things that didn't need fixing and replaced them with less user-friendly stuff. So many of us would stop using Firefox if it wasn't for the "Classic Theme Restorer" addon. The newer versions of Firefox removed the choice of putting the tab bar just above the main window, removed the ID of the current searcher in the search box while replacing the simple drop-down list to easily switch between searchers/dictionary/etc. with a less user-friendly box, and has made many key addons no longer workable under standard settings - like the Garmin Communicator and the Google Advertising Cookie Opt-Out.

Was this review helpful? 

0 users found this review helpful.
  
"no consistency from one version to the next."
by: stuart
Mozilla Firefox 43.0 RC 1 / 42.0

2015-12-10
Pros:
It's free, has a army of addons, can be customized to death, Open Source.

Cons:
Performance can drastically change between versions, too many updates, each new version is more bloated, still has memory leaks, latest version often freezes and simply won't connect to many sites, flash plugin crashes all the time, takes time to load, sometimes doesn't close correctly.

Other Thoughts:
I really have a love/hate relationship with Firefox and for a year or so I switched away from Firefox after my patience finally snapped. This gave me zero pleasure as I was a Firefox fan for many years and I tried to remain loyal but the issues just kept stacking up.

I decided to give it another chance as a friend had told me that the last few versions have been pretty solid. To be fair it did seem at first like Mozilla had finally listened to users and fixed many of the issues. Last week I was prompted that a new version was available so I updated Firefox, I wish I hadn't as the latest version is a mess and we are back to the bad old days in one version. How can one version change so drastically, I followed all the advice on their forum which included a clean install from scratch and it's still a mess and before people respond to this post it is not a hardware, configuration problem, no security is restricting it and my PC is clean, it's simply a new version that appears to be broken.

If Mozilla had addressed these problems early on as let's face it, it has been going on for sometime now, then maybe Firefox would have taken a lot of numbers from IE, instead Chrome has cleaned up and frankly it's okay at best. It would be good if one of the big players could produce a decent browser. So far the only one I rate is Pale Moon which is based on Firefox, the difference being Pale Moon is lighter as it cuts out many features you will never use on Firefox and supports less older hardware or Windows versions, sounds simple but what a difference between the two of them. Sorry Firefox but you are dumped again.


Was this review helpful? 

0 users found this review helpful.
  
"Increasing bloat..."
by: James
Mozilla Firefox 42.0

2015-11-04
Pros:
Still usable

Cons:
Getting (slightly) fatter/slower/RAM hungry with each release

Other Thoughts:
I just wanted to make a chart to show the ever increasing bloat in Firefox.

It is predicted (bottom of chart) that at current rate, Firefox will meet or exceed 1,000mb (1GB) for download sized by year 2,140 (based on current rate of 8 major version numbers per year)

Note: Installed/extracted Firefox tends to be 2x larger, so expect installed size to be 2,000+mb (2+GB) by year 2,140...

What is REALLY horrifying to me, is HOW MUCH BLOAT do you NEED to just open a simple text based HTML page?
Back in Firefox 2 days, I had an older dual core P4 with 3.5GB RAM that I opened 1,611 pages on!
Sure, it slowed down somewhat, but I could have opened even more tabs!

Now, I find even with a modern QUAD core i3 with 1.8GB video RAM & 4GB system RAM & Windows 8.1, it is all I can do to open more than 50 tabs before the computer almost stalls to a complete halt.

1 tab in Firefox 42 uses 285mb, & 2 tabs = 300!!!

Something needs to be done to reign in this monstrosity, before it becomes impossible to use!!!!

I know some say, oh, but Firefox is still fast! Yes, it appears to do ok, I mean, if you only open 1 to 5 tabs!

But power users who are used to opening hundreds of tabs are CRIPPLED!!!

Bring back the bloat-free days, please!!!!

Do we really need hundreds of MB just to surf the web?
Firfox 42 is listed as 41.1mb download, but my install folder shows 85+ mb (not including additional Firefox folders such as Maintenance)

This whole bloatware thing is running out of control!

85+ mb just to surf the web? Won't be long before it's 200+mb, or 300, or 400, or 500, or 2+GB!!!

Is anyone listening? Do we NEED hundreds of MB of web browser just to display a simple "Hello World" HTML page?

Notepad takes far less RAM!!! Do we have to start surfing with a modified Notepad browser, just to get rid of increasing bloat?
------------------------------------
Firefox 1.0 (2004, 4.69mb)
Firefox 1.5 (2005, 4.98mb) > 5mb
Firefox 2.0 (2006, 5.63mb)
Firefox 3.0 (2008, 7.15mb)
Firefox 4.0 (2011, 12.0mb) > 12mb
Firefox 5.0 (2011, 13.0mb)
Firefox 6.0 (2011, 13.3mb)
Firefox 7.0 (2011, 13.4mb)
Firefox 8.0 (2011, 14.0mb)
Firefox 9.0 (2011, 14.6mb)
Firefox 10.0 (2012, 15.1mb) > 15mb
Firefox 11.0 (2012, 15.4mb)
Firefox 12.0 (2012, 15.6mb)
Firefox 13.0 (2012, 15.8mb)
Firefox 14.0 (2012, 16.0mb)
Firefox 15.0 (2012, 16.9mb)
Firefox 16.0 (2012, 17.3mb)
Firefox 17.0 (2012, 18.4mb)
Firefox 18.0 (2013, 19.3mb)
Firefox 19.0 (2013, 19.6mb)
Firefox 20.0 (2013, 20.0mb) > 20mb
Firefox 21.0 (2013, 20.3mb)
Firefox 22.0 (2013, 20.8mb)
Firefox 23.0 (2013, 21.3mb)
Firefox 24.0 (2013, 21.6mb)
Firefox 25.0 (2013, 22.2mb)
Firefox 26.0 (2013, 22.9mb)
Firefox 27.0 (2014, 23.5mb)
Firefox 28.0 (2014, 24.0mb) > 24mb
Firefox 29.0 (2014, 27.6mb)
Firefox 30.0 (2014, 28.4mb)
Firefox 31.0 (2014, 30.7mb) > 30mb
Firefox 32.0 (2014, 33.6mb)
Firefox 33.0 (2014, 34.7mb) > 35mb
Firefox 34.0 (2014, 37.7mb)
Firefox 35.0 (2015, 38.0mb)
Firefox 36.0 (2015, 39.1mb)
Firefox 37.0 (2015, 39.0mb)
Firefox 38.0 (2015, 37.7mb)
Firefox 39.0 (2015, 39.2mb)
Firefox 40.0 (2015, 40.0mb) > 40mb
Firefox 41.0 (2015, 40.7mb)
Firefox 42.0 (2015, 41.1mb)
-------------------------------------
Future? Firefox 1,000 (2140, 1,000+mb)
(Based on 8 major versions per year)

2,000+mb extracted/installed
(Based on 2x larger on average installation size vs downloaded size)


Was this review helpful? 

0 users found this review helpful.
  
"Fast, secure, customizable"
by: Baloney
Mozilla Firefox 41.0.1

2015-10-01
Pros:
Always on the leading edge of Web technologies, fast and reliable, customizable, EASY access to settings.

Cons:
pros sometimes lead to cons, in this case major updates sometimes break old extensions, but that's the lot of progress.

Other Thoughts:
Always surprised to hear, read comments which seem to mistake a personal experience with reality : no problems for 99% of users so for those who encounter an issue, what about if they started wondering if the problem could not be their computer and/or their settings and/or their Firefox messed-up configuration? I run this browser since ever, 70 add-ons, speed and security as surfing companions.

Was this review helpful? 

0 users found this review helpful.
  
"So slow I can't do anything."
by: Tana
Mozilla Firefox 40.0.2

2015-08-21
Pros:
Still pretty and customisable.

Cons:
I get the circle timer thing trying to type one sentence, or scroll down a single page. I used to be able to open 10+ tabs if I wanted to. Firefox has given me the stop and wait/not responding thing 8 times just typing this paragraph.

Other Thoughts:
They need to stop saying 40 is faster than the 30s versions because it's not. If I can port all my organisational preferences over, I'm going to Seamonkey.

Was this review helpful? 

0 users found this review helpful.
  
"I don't want to have to be an expert in Firefox to use Firefox"
by: I.A. Watson
Mozilla Firefox 40.0.2

2015-08-16
Pros:
Still offers a reasonable tabbed browsing experience. Still supported by many useful, flexible add-ons.

Cons:
Bloated additional core functions that I will never use. More crashes with 40.0 onward. Ridiculously large memory usage in excess of 1.5gb at some points.

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

0 users found this review helpful.
  
"No Longer Fun"
by: ThisBoy
Mozilla Firefox 40.0

2015-08-12
Pros:
Used FF since it's earliest version. FF 39.x was fast and light weight. Easy on the CPU and rarely crashed.

Cons:
With the latest beta versions from FF 40.x many add ons no longer work. Add ons are a great way to see the Net the way we want to see it. I also had 14 FF crashes yesterday using the latest version.

Other Thoughts:
Whatever happened with the open source developers at Mozilla is a mystery. Recommend you do not update to the latest versions if you have 35.x to 39.x installed.

Was this review helpful? 

0 users found this review helpful.
  
"Poor"
by: John
Mozilla Firefox 40.0 Beta 4 / 39.0

2015-07-20
Pros:
Free

Cons:
Bloated

Other Thoughts:
Latest Firefox versions have many problems that make it hard to enjoy.

1)Automatic Cleanup: Prompts users to clean up their profile, after a predetermined time. Newbie users will lose all plugins, settings, & themes. Only the bookmarks & saved passwords are kept. Users have no options to disable these annoying prompts from appearing. There should be an option to disable this, or it should be disabled by DEFAULT!!!

2) Bloatware: Newer versions ship with all kinds of social media, worthless plugins, & other things that keep making Firefox get bigger & bigger. While being touted as features, I find it unlikely that all but a very small percentage of people would use baked in "pillbox", or other bloatware. The only reason I use Firefox, is hoping it will be slimmer & faster than the competition. Not happy with how things are proceeding. ALL extensions should be optional. Not MANDATORY!!! .

3) Mandatory HTML5 Video: While there are options such as using older browsers or disabling WEBM in about:config, this is NOT exactly a good solution for most people. People should have a chance to use Flash if they want, & disabling the "Always Activate" option to kill flash in the newest versions of flash isn't a good option. Flash uses tremendously fewer CPU cycles, particularly on older hardware. HTML5 is much slower than flash, stutters at times, & will open the gateway to embedded HTML5 advertisements to blanket the screen. At least with flash ads, people have a chance (to block some of them). But what about HTML5? It is a problem for everyone, from increased hardware usage, to forcing people with slower machines to upgrade because they cannot understand why their video is running so slowly, to generating the perfect advertising spams. Come on! I know security is important, but when security turns your machine into a brick you can't use, it's worthless!!! This IS the way things seem to be heading. Secure brick over usability. NOT good! HTML5 should be DISABLED by default, or the user should be presented with an option to easily flip between flash or HTML5 on any webpage.

4) Internet Settings: By default, Firefox ALWAYS selects: Auto-detect proxy settings for this network under "Configure how Firefox connects to the Internet" options. It SHOULD be No Proxy by default instead. I cannot say how irritating this is to have to manually change this on each brand new install.

5) Profile Management: While there is a way to export Firefox saved bookmarks/passwords/extensions via 3rd party utilities, it would be nice to have a simplified interface under the settings box to backup/restore these settings without having to resort to 3rd party utilities or backing up the entire profile in the appdata folder. Most newbie users have no idea where these settings are. And backing up the entire profile causes users to tote around lots of files they really don't need. There should be a more well defined backup option. Sure, users can export or import bookmarks, but they need the ability to also backup/restore the saved passwords & extensions.

Firefox has the opportunity to shape up.

By listening to users & implementing these fixes, it can go a lot further, a lot faster!!!

Developers? Hope your listening! Let's bring the Fire back in FireFox!!!


Was this review helpful? 

0 users found this review helpful.
  
"To Bad"
by: cbour
Mozilla Firefox 39.0 RC 6 / 38.0.6

2015-07-01
Pros:
none

Cons:
none

Other Thoughts:
If you want a fast browser that does what google and firefox can't try Slimjet which is much better than both and is more custimisablr

Was this review helpful? 

0 users found this review helpful.
  
"I dumped Chrome and SRWare Iron!"
by: other human
Mozilla Firefox 38.0.1

2015-05-15
Pros:
On my Win8.1 desktop, Firefox is faster and much more stable than any Chrome-based web browser.

Cons:
Chrome will not support most Flash content from version 42 and beyond.

Other Thoughts:
If you want to continue to curse at your monitor screen, please follow Steven's bad advise and continue to use Chrome ver. 42 and later. If you need a great web browser that has the large Mozilla support, switch to the latest version of Firefox. I use the PortableApps.com version of Firefox and I love it! With help from Ghostery, WOT, BitDefender TrafficLight, Avast Online Security, Blur, Adblock Plus, BetterPrivacy, BrowserProtect add-ons, I'm more comfortable browsing the web.

Was this review helpful? 

0 users found this review helpful.
  
"Good, but needs work"
by: Steven
Mozilla Firefox 36.0.1

2015-03-18
Pros:
Smoother youtube videos than Chrome

Cons:
Nearly everything else.

Other Thoughts:
After extensively testing around 30 different web browsers, I have had to come to the conclusion that if you want a web browser that just works, and it works fast right out of the box, better use Chrome.

Many PC's have no 3D while using Firefox, because of their driver blacklist.

Chrome on the same machines, may do 60 fps vs 5 fps on MS fishbowl test.

Chrome also has Firefox beat on the MS Maze solver. 24 seconds vs 104 for Firefox.

If your using any kind of netbook, laptop, desktop, chances are that Chrome will work faster than Firefox. A LOT faster. Because the only 3D that works on your box, is the machines that Firefox decides you have a 3D they will allow. They have a wiki about their driver blacklist.

If you don't want to waste time on the web, get Chrome. Don't waste time with Firefox. I would recommend Firefox, if they fix their 3D, but I have seen so many machines with no 3D support, and all because Firefox decides who will have it on their machine via driver blacklist.

The difference is like night and day. And it isn't just 3D.

Chrome is also sometimes 4x to 10x faster than Firefox on CSS3 or other variables on the web.

About the only test Firefox wins on the machines I tried, is having prettier video playback. But not by much.

Chrome is close. It still looks good.

I would have to say that Chrome is the best browser to use, because out of the box, all the settings just work. Out of the box, it is fast. The interface has been tweaked to as simple as possible without leaving out important things.

If you have a netbook, low-powered laptop, slow running PC, I challenge you to try Chrome vs Firefox & be amazed.

The reason I tested so much, is I wanted to see what browser is the fastest because I have a netbook that would slow down when I am using Facebook to talk to someone.

It would also sometimes happen that I type about a paragraph ahead of Firefox's ability to keep up with me & I would have to stop and wait.

Laggy. Sometimes Firefox would do ok on Facebook, but sometimes it would lag. Now, when I tried with Chrome, I never have this problem.

It keeps up. It works. Like it is supposed to. Everything works. 3D works. I can type as fast as I want to. No lag.

There was 1 browser faster than Chrome. Opera. But it was only 1 second faster on the MS Maze Solver at 23 seconds, instead of 24 like Chrome. But it uses the same engine as Chrome, and overall, Chrome is just tweaked for most optimum performance.

So, I scrapped Opera for Chrome.

Want speed? Chrome.
Want experience on facebook? Chrome.
Want pretty videos? Firefox.

To speed up Chrome even further, download Ad Block Plus plugin for Chrome, and also add Ghostery.

In Ghostery options, select for it to automatically block everything. Trackers, Advertisements, Web Beacons, and 2 other types. Click save.

Your web-pages will load faster, and prettier without all the ad/spam/garbage.

Some web pages load up to 19 different trackers/web beacons/etc!!!

If your having trouble with speed, get Chrome. It definitely is noticeable on low-end/low-powered laptops, netbooks, and computers. And if you want to speed up your existing computers, get Chrome.

I tested Firefox on a PC where Firefox supported 3D, and guess who won? Chrome!

1,000 fish in the MS Fish Bowl test. Chrome stayed at 60 fps. Firefox started about 30 or 40, then dropped to 9 fps.

Bad. Really bad.

I am disappointed in Firefox. They need to catch up with the competition.

The thing is, I WANT Firefox to be fast! I want them to win! But, I honestly cannot recommend Firefox for speed when Chrome has repeatedly proved across hundreds of machines, that it speeds up your web browsing experience by being anywhere from 4x to 15x faster.

It is hard to believe. I didn't want to believe it. But, it's true. Chrome is just about the fastest browser you can get, on the planet.

Before, when I used Firefox, I was always trying to tweak my netbook, make it faster, but now, I don't have to do a thing. It is amazing how much different Chrome has made on my machine.

I didn't believe it, but I tested about 30 browsers in all, the latest 2015 versions of them all.

And Chrome came out on top.

You want to go faster on a netbook, underpowered pc, you can't go faster than Chrome. I tried it out. Chrome wins.

Chrome may start slower than Firefox, but once it loads, it is way faster.

Just remember 3 things...

Chrome
Ad Block Plus
Ghostery

Hope this helps someone else!

And, please, Firefox Developers, if you are reading this, I really hope you can find out why Firefox is so much slower than Chrome.

There are some things I like about Firefox, but no 3D is a no/no to me. I want the option to choose.

Being 4x to 15x slower than Chrome doesn't help. Fix this, please!!!

Thank you, have a great day!!!


Was this review helpful? 

0 users found this review helpful.
  
"I never thought I would say this, but..."
by: Jay
Mozilla Firefox 36.0.1

2015-03-16
Pros:
Smoother youtube videos than Chrome or Opera.

Cons:
Chrome is almost 2x faster!!!

Other Thoughts:
There are problems with Firefox!

1) 3D - No 3D on netbooks.

(Firefox decides who gets to use 3D based on a blacklist. This strips control from users, while they promote it heavily as the browser that is for you, and they do not allow you to enable either, through config settings. Chrome gets 60 fps MS fishbowl for 10 fish, while Firefox gets 4 fps because they decided to disable 3D).

2) Chrome is over 4x faster on many areas, than Firefox. MS Maze Solver challenge, Chrome completes it on my netbook in 24 seconds, while Firefox does it in 104 & IE 10 in 164).

3) Annoying prompts. Firefox annoys you with all kinds of nearly malware type loss of control, including:

A) Would you like to take a tour of the new features of Firefox?

B) Click here to control what information is sent back to Firefox (even after disabling everything)

C) Looks like Firefox was a little slow starting. Care to refresh there, buddy?

Conclusion:

Firefox has good video quality, but needs to reign in the error messages, slow browser prompts, tour offers, and allow users option to install a lean, clean, lite version of Firefox, before they begin to lose users.

I used to love Firefox, before it became a nagger all the time. Now, it's hard to do anything without Firefox prompting you to do this or that, or trying to tell you what you should do and when you should do it.

I hate to say it, but I have started to use Chrome lately, because it is over 4x faster on css3, 15x faster on 3D, and facebook messenger does NOT lag as much when I am talking to someone.

On Firefox, it sometimes slows down, causing me to be typing faster than it can keep up, while the same thing I can type full speed and Chrome has no trouble keeping up at all.

More recent versions of Firefox have gotten better with speed, but the nags are seriously worrisome, & it still lags somewhat on Facebook, & there is still NO 3D support on my netbook.

If Firefox can fix the lack of 3D, improve the CSS3 performance, & improve the speed of the browser in general, I would love to use it as the main browser.

But I can't. Right now, it's broken, & I do not know how to fix it.

Chrome works fine, why can't Firefox?

Firefox does play YouTube videos smoother than Chrome, but everything else Chrome seems to win at.

Please, give me my browser back!

I just want a Firefox that is fast, does not nag me everytime I do something, & that gives a user the choice in whether I want 3D enabled!!!

Both IE10 & Chrome have no problem with 3D on my netbook, why should Firefox?

4FPS Firefox vs 60 FPS Chrome is pathetic!!!

Thanks!!!


Was this review helpful? 

0 users found this review helpful.
  
       
Copyright © 1998 - 2016 FreewareFiles. All Rights Reserved.