Advertisement

Reviews
Rating
Date
 Advertisement
   
  
"I hate the annoying what new Tab"
by: Dutch
Mozilla Firefox 34.0.5

2014-12-09
Pros:
Nice browser with good UI

Cons:
If Mozilla does not remove the whatsnew tab I will never install the browser again. Just uninstalled it, like I did with the previous version.

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

2 users found this review helpful.
  
"Good"
by: James
Mozilla Firefox 34.0.5

2014-12-08
Pros:
Free

Cons:
Cannot disable annoyances.

Other Thoughts:
4 things that annoy me with Firefox 34.

1) Default network settings on clean install is proxy. It is supposed to be no proxy.

2) No way to disable the "It looks like you have not been using Firefox for a while. Would you like to clean up your profile" prompt. Don't even think about changing your system clock forward a few months while testing other things. Firefox is sure to think you have not been using it in a while

3) Uncheck all the information firefox can share under Options/Data Choices tab. Yes, Firefox sometimes tells you anyway, that it shares information, click here to see what kind of information it shares. You click, but it just brings up the tab & they are already unchecked. Chalk this up to a bug. Why is it even asking you, if they are ALL already uncheckmarked?

4) HTML5 is great... If you like playing YouTube videos without having to install flash. But, it will still prompt you to install flash. But that is ok I suppose. What is NOT ok, is that now you have to deal with HTML5 advertisements. Sure, you have a fancy ad blocker. That works with Flash advertisements. But, now you have to try to find a way to block HTML5 advertisements also? Please, Firefox, add a simple point & click way to disable HTML5 for those of us who don't use it yet!!! Don't let advertisements saturate our internet bandwidth we pay for!!!

5) The last few versions of Firefox bug you to switch from Google to Yahoo search, as well as take a tour.

Now, this might not seem too bad, till you do something to trigger that squeaky clean profile again, and have to repeat clicking out of the mess all over again.

This may be easier to trigger than you would think, through a combination of CCleaner, running the Firefox profile cleanup (whether accidental or on purpose).

Firefox, please, options to DISABLE them, please.

* Lastly, to the previous reviewer, the latest Firefox still keeps it's search box. I do know that. Sounds like you installed a newer version, and it has trouble reading the older profile. Deleting the old profile and letting Firefox create a new profile container that it understands better should fix your problem.

You can also copy the old profile to the desktop as a backup if needed.


Was this review helpful? 

3 users found this review helpful.
  
"Don't let it upgrade!"
by: Brian
Mozilla Firefox 34.0.5

2014-12-01
Pros:
Still works for the most part.

Cons:
No longer has a search field! I went through all settings, I even changed skins no luck the space is there, but no search field.

Other Thoughts:
WTF! Where is the search field.

Was this review helpful? 

10 users found this review helpful.
  
"Good"
by: Johnny
Mozilla Firefox 34.0 Beta 11 / 33.1.1

2014-11-23
Cons:
Cannot disable prompt "It looks like you have not been using firefox in a while. Would you like to clean up the profile?"

Other Thoughts:
Firefox is an ok browser, but it seriously needs to address 2 things:

1) "It looks like you have not been using firefox in a while. Would you like to clean up the profile?" We seriously need a way to disable this annoying prompt.

2) Matrix mode: It is becoming more common to have to use 50+ tabs for casual users of the web. I, myself, have had over 1,500 tabs open at once. Firefox developers, could you please consider the option to add a matrix mode for viewing webpages?

Example: User needs to view a diagram on 1 side of monitor, & view the help video side by side. They can't.

So, they tear off a firefox tab & now they have multiple firefox windows open side-by-side.

Windows 10 allows you to matrix up to 4 application windows on the screen to take advantage of the screen size.

Why can't Firefox do this too?

I would love being able to view a video in 1 window, while checking my email in another, while working on a spreadsheet on another, and doing online docs on the 4th.

Come to think of it, why can't Firefox make a matrix mode that can adjust up to 9 separate windows?

They have the new tab window, that displays more windows as you screen area increases. (9/12/etc).

In fact, it would be great if the new tab window could open all sites in a single window, matrix mode, so you can view all the websites you have pinned without having to go through so many tabs.

Hoping Firefox developers can read this. It would save soooo much time on the web, especially during research.

You have a new tab page that looks like matrix mode, but you have to have a separate tab open for each site you open on the new tab page. Can we have a way to open all the sites inside a single page, with the option to tear a tab out if we need?

Thank you!!!

I am sure this would save others lots of time, as well!!!!


Was this review helpful? 

12 users found this review helpful.
  
"@Henry"
by: Admin
Mozilla Firefox 33.1

2014-11-11
Other Thoughts:
1. Firefox supports HTML5 video for Windows Vista and up. Are you using Windows XP?

2. The width of a web page is often wider than the width of the standard paper size. Use the print preview function to view what will be printed.


Was this review helpful? 

7 users found this review helpful.
  
"Does not go with HTML5"
by: Henry
Mozilla Firefox 33.1

2014-11-11
Pros:
The only Pro is that FF is portable.

Cons:
1.Still not compatible with HTML5 in many aspects such as: unable to play mp4 videos. 2.Printout does not match screen. Text and image overlapping, too much space for advertisements and not for the message.

Other Thoughts:
I am going to say goodbye to Firefox if it does not rectify these catastrophic problems in the future 2 updates.

Was this review helpful? 

14 users found this review helpful.
  
"3 Stars for the following reasons"
by: James
Mozilla Firefox 33.0.2

2014-11-02
Pros:
Better than Internet Explorer

Cons:
1)FF removed (several editions back) ability to untick media & images loading on webpages. Since modern webpages have ballooned with HTML5, Flash ads, & video ads, this used to keep me from seeing such clutter. 2)FF adds annoying prompt to clean up user profile. "It looks like you have not been using Firefox for a while now. Would you like me to clean things up for you?" Um, no, where is the setting to DISABLE this thing? Please, please, please add the option to DISABLE this pestering advertisement to cleanup. I can do this myself. My profile is not slow, and I don't need help to clean it. If I want to, I know where the action is at & how to use it. 3)Could be me, but seems each edition of FF struggles with being a larger download, bigger install, & take additional RAM. Used to be, Firefox was known for how light it was, or the attempt to be light, I thought... Can we see a Firefox minimum released? Please? For people like me who hate bloatware that do nothing but suck CPU cycles down the drain? 4)Less customizable: Sure, you can customize things in Firefox, but used to be able to add separator lines between groups of buttons on Firefox. Since they switched to the new interface, not any more!!! Bring it back, please!!!

Other Thoughts:
Firefox used to be great, but it has fallen down a notch, to only being good...

I have high hopes that it can/will redeem itself in future versions.

DO NOT, DON'T add annoying prompts to do things, without adding the ability to disable cleanup prompts etc.

DO NOT, DON'T remove ability to restrict page items such as videos, images, etc.

HTML5 ads are starting to get popular, & so are video ads in flash.

Please, Firefox, all we as the users want, is control of the web back!

Thank you!!!


Was this review helpful? 

28 users found this review helpful.
  
"Customizability is a LIE"
by: Soon-To-Leave-Firefo
Mozilla Firefox 33.0.2

2014-10-31
Pros:
The ONLY reason why I'm keeping Firefox is the extensions.

Cons:
After almost every version yet another feature for customizability disappears / gets disabled. Their latest joke of a "feature" is automatic icon resizing that overrides the users' customized settings on the newtab page.

Other Thoughts:
As of an hour ago, I had to reinstall FF32 to regain the functionality I DESIRED, not the "developers'," who seem more bent on destroying the functionality and customizability Firefox users grew accustomed to and that got them to stick with it to begin with. All of my friends are using Firefox solely on my recommendation and because of customizations that I performed on each of their systems, and if this gets thrown out the window with every version I'll be leaving this browser for good.

Was this review helpful? 

18 users found this review helpful.
  
"v33 stilll crap"
by: Bear
Mozilla Firefox 33.0.2

2014-10-29
Pros:
Loads web pages. And that's it.

Cons:
Loading web pages well is all FF can manage. _Getting_ to and from those pages is another matter. See below in "other thoughts".

Other Thoughts:
FF v33.0.2 tested 10/29/2014

I have fond memories of Firefox from the pre-v29 days when it was not a POS. So when I saw that v33 was out, I decided to give it a test drive, to see if -- however unlikely -- the developers had recovered from their catastrophic rectal-cranial insertion.

They haven't.

I had in mind testing v33 with a straight default installation. If that went well, I'd install some of the add-ons I like. But I did select custom installation just so I could see (but not change) options. So much for that plan. I immediately unchecked the installation of the default maintenance service which for anyone but developer/testers/troubleshooters is basically nothing but spyware.

When the install finished, I saw that, as expected, they still use the ridiculous Aurora UI (excuse me, "User Rainbows & Unicorns Experience"). No toolbars that I regularly use on a daily basis, silly effing menu button in a place that normal people (as opposed to latte-lapping wanna-be hipster developers and Google fellatiators) would not expect to find it, no nav buttons (real people actually use those, morons), fricking tabs separated from the tab content by the bookmark toolbar and address bar (after all, who would want to associate content controls with their content?), ... and so on. For Freya's frickin' sake, they even set the inactive tab color to the same toolbar back color just to make it harder to spot the tab you want. Can't see a way to fix that without downloading a separate theme; if there is a way, I guess they made finding it purely intuitive to Google hipsters.

That's interesting. It seems one can move the bookmark bar, but only to force it to share the tab or menu bar (once you get that turned back on). You can't leave as a stand-alone bar unless you really, really s/u/f/f/e/r/ f/r/o/m/ l/a/t/t/e/ t/o/x/i/c/i/t/y/ LIKE having your content somewhere other than your content controls. But it won't let me relocate the address bar at all, content/control separation is not exactly an option anyway.

The included search engines (with Pappa Google naturally set as default) do not include any privacy-protecting engines like Startpage or Ixquick.Mainly because that would defeat Google's purpose in co-opting Firefox, I suppose.

For some reason, it would not allow me to open a simple blank tab. For fun, it incorrectly imported IE bookmarks so my _desired_ homepage wouldn't load.

Oh lookie; in options (once you find where they hid it; I had the advantage of having discovered that when testing an earlier Aurora release) "health reporting" is enabled by default. Again: "for anyone but developer/testers/troubleshooters is basically nothing but spyware."

A minor quibble, probably specific to me: Pale Moon allows me to close the last open tab without closing the browser. Oddly enough, I use that function a lot. For one thing, that lessens some of the system load (and keeps active content from playing unnecessarily and unwanted), while saving me a few seconds in browser start time when I'm ready to surf again. It also lets me kill a screen that I want kept private (bank balances, anyone?) if someone enters my office. Firefox doesn't give me this option. I'd suggest it to them, but we've already seen Mozilla's... "respect" for user input, and clearly drug-induced aversion to truly useful tools and options.

Software nausea forced me to stop my testing there. About the only good thing I can say for FF vv33.0.2 is that is seems to display web pages properly and in a reasonably amount of time., which pretty much any modern browser can manage.


Was this review helpful? 

28 users found this review helpful.
  
"Not bad One"
by: Vijay
Mozilla Firefox 32.0

2014-09-10
Pros:
"My favourite browser!" Instead of Google Chrome And Opera is not more special

Other Thoughts:
Google Chrome is a real spyware with the face of a browser.

Was this review helpful? 

37 users found this review helpful.
  
"Absolute crap!"
by: RonnieJ
Mozilla Firefox 32.0

2014-09-02
Pros:
none

Cons:
too many to mention

Other Thoughts:
Since FF wants to look like Chrome....I will just go with Chrome.......the real one...........I used to love FF......not now.......

Was this review helpful? 

39 users found this review helpful.
  
"Utter crap"
by: Bear
Mozilla Firefox 32.0

2014-09-01
Pros:
None.

Cons:
Since the introduction v29, what was the best browser out there has become a poorly executed Chromeclone, with a dash of IE contamination. Consider Pale Moon if you liked FF before they sold out and told their user base to eff-off.

Other Thoughts:
If only the rating scale went to zero, or even negative numbers. At best, the operation of the software garners it a 1. Mozilla's "consideration" of users most surely drops it below that sad point.

Was this review helpful? 

41 users found this review helpful.
  
"Truly a waste of space"
by: Mike
Mozilla Firefox 32.0 RC 1 / 31.0

2014-08-29
Pros:
None

Cons:
Everything. Each time there is an upgrade my favorite skin and some other extensions become inoperable or just removed. How can this be possible in this day and age surely an upgrade should be able to incorporate your preferred skins and extensions. Each new version brings more bloat and less flexibility. These days its just another i.e Looking at all the skins available maybe 8 actually work in this upgrade.

Other Thoughts:
Rubbish

Was this review helpful? 

40 users found this review helpful.
  
"Terrible"
by: cbour
Mozilla Firefox 31.0 Beta 9 / 30.0

2014-07-13
Pros:
Over rated is it's becoming Bloated.Even Chrome is better by very little

Cons:
every thing

Other Thoughts:
if you like this engine try Slimjet which is faster more customable and much more feature's

Was this review helpful? 

52 users found this review helpful.
  
"Crap"
by: Bear_NH
Mozilla Firefox 31.0 Beta 8 / 30.0

2014-07-08
Pros:
None

Cons:
Utter, bloated, Chromish crap. Runs slow, not configurable, crappy UI.

Other Thoughts:
Try Pale Moon.

Was this review helpful? 

77 users found this review helpful.
  
       
Copyright © 1998 - 2014 FreewareFiles. All Rights Reserved.