Advertisement

HOME : Mozilla Firefox 55.0.2 : User Reviews

Results: 1-15 of 233 Total Found

Advertisement

REVIEWS

RATING

DATE

"If you like your add ons like they are"

by: Jack Alexander

Mozilla Firefox 54.0.1 / 55.0 RC 1

2017-08-01

Pros:

Revert to 52.2.1 esr. Which can be had on the Mozilla ftp site. Just google it. Firefox is killing itself and is becoming nothing more than a Chromium based browser with the Mozilla/geko core. Even the current geko core isn't what it is supposed to be. It has mutated into something else.

Cons:

Newer versions disable add-ons and there are no new extensions to replace them as yet and probably not ever.

Other Thoughts:

I've used this browser since version 1.5 and am severely disappointed with the latest versions.

"Firefox 53.0.3 is Memory Hog!!!"

by: Ronald Geiken

Mozilla Firefox 53.0.3 / 54.0 Beta 13

2017-06-06

Pros:

I have lots of apps and extensions installed in my copy of Firefox and would hate to leave and go to Chrome, but can understand why lots of people have. I have used Firefox for years, and this one is probably more memory intense than any other versions that I have used. Quality of page presentations is very good and for that I give them credit.

Cons:

I am using it will both Windows 10 on one computer and Windows 7 on another, and and note on my W10 computer that the memory usage can be 1 gig or more and then it really gets slow and occasionally stalls until it can catch up. It can be frustrating to use, and I use the open in Chrome way too often due to its inability to reproduce a page correctly. Evidently later versions of Firefox are running more slowly that earlier versions I have used. It is very frustrating to use. I have 24 gig of ram available, so that is not the problem. 53.0.3 just cannot handle memory when it gets to 1 gig and more. If they don't get rid of the memory use problem. more people will start moving to Chrome. Unless you have 4 gig or more of ram, it could turn into a real problem of lack of memory on those computers.

Other Thoughts:

I note that on my W10 computer using a given web site on both of them, that Firefox may use as much at 10 times as much ram as Chrome. I only have one tab open on each of them for this condition. It would not bother me except for the fact when the browser starts using up to 1.3 gig of ram, that it really starts to run sluggish. They have a very poor system for clearing memory. I have 2 separate apps to try to alleviate the situation. Firefox uses less memory on a given page after it is restarted, and this can be 3 to 4 times less than before the restart. Chrome ALWAYS uses less memory on any page.

"no good"

by: cbour

Mozilla Firefox 53.0.3 / 54.0 Beta 12

2017-05-30

Pros:

none

Cons:

poor video freezes ect.

Other Thoughts:

Gone worse and bloated. Beth if you like firefox in the old style try out pale moon excellant browser

"RUBBISH!!!"

by: Beth

Mozilla Firefox 53.0.3 / 54.0 Beta 11

2017-05-28

Pros:

There are NO Pros.

Other Thoughts:

We are longtime Firefox users and Firefox is what I install on computers for the Disabled. HOWEVER, there has been nothing but problems with Firefox now with screen freezes, poor video and in general it's just plain junk. Opera has cleaned up and is working well and I absolutely recommend Opera over Firefox.
Dell Optiplex, Vista.

"@ A.F. Rossi - Adjust Address Bar / Search Bar"

by: Admin

Mozilla Firefox 51.0.1 / 52.0 Beta 4

2017-02-07

Other Thoughts:

Position your mouse between the address bar and the search bar. The mouse cursor will change into double arrows. Simply click and slide in either direction to adjust the width of the address bar/search bar.

"Address bar"

by: A.F. Rossi

Mozilla Firefox 51.0.1 / 52.0 Beta 4

2017-02-07

Pros:

I love all the features of Mozilla Firefox.

Cons:

The address bar only, not the search bar, has narrowed to about a eighth of an inch.

Other Thoughts:

How do I fix this.

"Version 49"

by: John Sellers

Mozilla Firefox 49.0.2 / 50.0 Beta 10

2016-10-26

Pros:

Still very customizable as always. Displays most webpages just fine. Saves passwords.

Cons:

Not very speedy compared to other browsers like Microsoft Edge and Google Chrome. Doesn't use Windows' built-in Flash Player, but instead requires the user to download and install the Flash Player from Adobe.com to play Flash content.

Other Thoughts:

Despite a few drawbacks, it's still a pretty good browser.

"48.0.2."

by: Ann

Mozilla Firefox 48.0.2

2016-08-27

Pros:

Cannot access sites that I commonly use, I've been trying to fix the problem for 3 days. I'm done.

Cons:

Security is one thing, but when you can't access websites that you use daily something's got to give. In this case I'm giving Firefox the boot.

Other Thoughts:

My security package said Chrome is not secure but what is the use of a browser that is secure if it won't work. NONE.

"Cannot believe how fast Firefox is dying..."

by: Jackie

Mozilla Firefox 45.0.2

2016-04-13

Pros:

Still supports AdBlockPlus

Cons:

1) Getting more bloated on each release 2) Getting slower each bloatware release 3) GPU blocklist = no 3D on some PC's 4) They keep adding worthless junk to the menu such as Pillbox online backup & other useless, worthless clutter that are totally impossible to remove & do nothing whatsoever to improve the speed or stability of Firefox but only bring the bloatware to an all time high while slowing Firefox down like a dog.

Other Thoughts:

Out of all the browsers I tested, & I tested about 50+, Chrome is about the fastest you can get.

If you want speed, stay away from Firefox & get Chrome.

Especially if you have an older machine like a netbook.

Firefox has a 3D blocklist that kills 3D dead on the machines that they blacklist the GPU on.

They don't just do that on older GPU devices either! They also force you to have the latest GPU driver possible for your machine in order to properly support 3D, else they disable 3D.

How to tell your 3D is disabled:

Games are laggy, slow, don't work right. Or, go to Firefox menu button (usually on the far right top, the 3 horizontal bars stacked on top of each other). If you have trouble finding it, it is the button that when you hover over with your mouse, it says Open Menu. Then, click the ? button, troubleshooting information, look under Graphics section, then look for Direct2D Enabled & also DirectWrite Enabled. They should be true. If it is disabled, Firefox did that. GPU Accelerated Windows should say 1/1 or something. If it is false or disabled, yep! Firefox did that.

Guess what?

Chrome works on netbooks & older machines, & where Firefox gets a very poor 1-5 FPS, Chrome gets 30-60 FPS & works great!

Chrome feels around 4x faster on older machines, to tell you the truth!

And, if you are on Facebook on a netbook with Firefox, Firefox will lag & you have to wait while your messages stack on top of each other if you are a fast typer.

Chrome? It keeps up without any trouble, for the most part. Yay!

If Chrome can do this, why can't Firefox?

You know what is so bad?

Firefox claims to be championing user rights, claims to be for user choice, claims to be representing the people, offering greater flexibility than the other browsers.

Well, guess what?

It doesn't!

Can't believe I am saying this, but try it yourself! Get you an older machine, & try both Chrome & Firefox. Yep, Firefox is creamed by Chrome.

Wish the developers would see this comment, read this comment, & at least allow people to override the GPU block. I mean, hey! They claim to offer user choice.

Ummm... Where?

All I see is a blocked GPU that I cannot even use because Firefox decided to become a nanny that controls what I can or cannot do, on my own machine.

Come one, please!

Do developers listen to users any more?

If they do, someone let em know, they need to bring user choice back & at least allow experienced users the capability to override 3D blocklist because otherwise, I will use Chrome or whatever browser allows me to use the 3D.

Chrome (with 3D) is around 30x faster than Firefox (without 3D) & even on modern hardware, Chrome bested Firefox in HTML5 as well as being up to 2x faster than 3D even WITH 3D enabled.

Why would I want a slow browser?

Why, why, why?

Someone needs to tell them how to create a small, fast, unbloated browser that actually can be used & doesn't try to be a nanny that tells users what they can or cannot do on their own machine.

I tried to like Firefox, I really did.

But it just gets slower with each release, & there is nothing you can do to get around their blocklist (I tried).

Bye bye, Firefox!
Hello, Chrome!

My new favorite browser.

And... It's faster, too!

by: Gord

Mozilla Firefox 45.0

2016-03-10

Pros:

No Comment

Cons:

This program was ONCE a great browser and unfortunately it is going downhill fast. The higher the version number the more problems with it. v45 constantly crashes so I removed it permanently and now use Cyberfox 45 64-Bit, which is AWESOME!!!!

Other Thoughts:

None

"101 Error"

by: Delsee

Mozilla Firefox 45.0

2016-03-08

Cons:

Repeat-I am still awaiting solution to my following problem: I cannot use the new versions which are not working due 101 error. I could not figure out how to get rid of this error. Any thought?, please, and thanks

Other Thoughts:

None

"Awesome"

by: Riazul

Mozilla Firefox 44.0.1

2016-02-09

Pros:

This amazing browser Allows the audio part of video files to keep playing, even if the browser is minimized, or the screen turn off (both Windows & Android Operating systems).Its really helpful for developing purpuses

Cons:

Some times it got hanged

Other Thoughts:

More of it

"Mozilla Firefox 44.0 - ok (2nd best)"

by: Greg Zeng

Mozilla Firefox 45.0 Beta 3 / 44.0

2016-02-08

Pros:

Registered users like myself have auto-installed my favorite set of add-ons, soon after installation. Allows the audio part of video files (Youtube) to keep playing, even if the browser is minimized, or the screen turn off (both Windows & Android Operating systems).

Cons:

Cannot save many file types into the one selected folder. E.G. saving the latest Firefox setup file, & its html description file, into the correct web-browser folder on my computer systems.

Other Thoughts:

Opera web browser does this everytime - Linux & Windows.

"101 Error"

by: Delsee

Mozilla Firefox 44.0

2016-01-26

Other Thoughts:

I cannot use the new versions which are not working due 101 error. I could not figure out how to get rid of this error. Any thought?, please, and thanks.

"Not bad!"

by: Gerry

Mozilla Firefox 44.0 RC 2 / 43.0.4

2016-01-24

Pros:

User customizations, which have always made Firefox so flexible, are still possible. Also, I'm seeing great performance as far as speed is concerned, and stability as well. The memory leaks I found in an earlier version haven't shown up in 43.0.4. So far I haven't encountered any difficulties in handling the sites I visit regularly.

Cons:

Some of the UI changes are a bit disconcerting. The first thing I noticed was that the buttons on the bookmarks toolbar were displayed at the very bottom of the toolbar, which had a very large top margin, but I eventually fixed that by editing userChrome.css, which has always helped me tweak the UI in the past.

Other Thoughts:

Some extensions may cause Firefox to start up a bit more slowly, particularly Adblock Plus. At any rate, in a much earlier review I stated that I was happy with my very old version of Firefox and was refusing to upgrade it. Now I have to take that back!

Results: 1-15 of 233 Total Found