Advertisement

Reviews
Rating
Date
 Advertisement
   
  
"Version 32.0.1750.1"
by: Admin
SRWare Iron 32.0.1750.1

2014-02-03
Other Thoughts:
@KA

This is the public release. Although the version number on the website states 31.0.1700.0, the download is actually 32.0.1750.1.

The developer has not updated the version number on the website for months although they have released several versions.


Was this review helpful? 

13 users found this review helpful.
  
by: KA
SRWare Iron 32.0.1750.1

2014-02-03
Other Thoughts:
version 32.0.1750.1 is not (yet, as of Feb 3rd) listed on srware.net's website. A beta? Not sure if this is meant for the general audience or developers so, I'll wait for the public release

Was this review helpful? 

10 users found this review helpful.
  
"Extensions - messed up"
by: Lonnie
SRWare Iron 32.0.1750.1

2014-01-31
Cons:
I went to the latest ver 1750 and my extensions were not working properly so I went back to 31.0.1700.0 (236000) and everything works fine.

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

13 users found this review helpful.
  
"Good browser"
by: Scud
SRWare Iron 24.0.1350.0

2013-01-22
Pros:
Fast, small & tidy, no freezing up.

Cons:
None

Other Thoughts:
Use Ad Block to stop adverts. WOT & Avast Web Rep help to tell you about sites with a poor rating. Forget Google Chrome, use this.

Was this review helpful? 

87 users found this review helpful.
  
"This is surprisingly a good browser."
by: Stuart
SRWare Iron 20.0.1200.0

2012-09-04
Pros:
Quick, smooth, tons of addons, enhanced privacy, overall good.

Cons:
Eh, none so far..

Other Thoughts:
A have to say i am surprisingly impressed with this browser, i tried Chrome a few months back and it was a buggy mess but this is pretty sorted.
Its quick at loading most pages and plays Youtube videos with no issues, a found Chrome was pretty choppy with flash.

My only niggle is the layout,i don't like this trend Chrome started with the kiddie interface but i am getting used to it and found a half decent skin that was eye pleasing.

A have Pale Moon as my default but a do find myself using this more often now.
Importing bookmarks was no problem and learning how to use it properly hasn't been a issue.

So far so good,lets hope it stays that way....


Was this review helpful? 

73 users found this review helpful.
  
"Best Alternative to other Browsers"
by: Matt
SRWare Iron 20.0.1150.1

2012-07-11
Pros:
Secure, Private, Fast, Effective, and Fun One of my top 3 browsers: 1)SRware 2)Firefox 3)Opera

Cons:
Some addons available for FFox are not made for chrome(SRware) but alternative addons with the same functionality do exist...

Other Thoughts:
Used it as an alternative when firefox 12 froze and became unresponsive...loved it ever since.

Highly RECOMMENDED as an alternative to the all seeing "g00gle" who know no boundries of privacy.

Also best if used with
-duckduckgo.com or startpage.com as default search providers
-abine's DNT+
-noscript
-https everywhere

That'll keep hackers both the "sanctioned" and unscrupulous from collecting data with their dirty little unauthorized hands and using it against you.

Peace ya'll ;)


Was this review helpful? 

83 users found this review helpful.
  
"Nice Browser"
by: Mouse Chaser
SRWare Iron 17.0.1000.0

2012-02-23
Pros:
This Browser Responds Really Fast And Does Not Freeze.

Cons:
None

Other Thoughts:
None.

Was this review helpful? 

66 users found this review helpful.
  
"SRWare Iron is the best "fork" of Chrome we know.."
by: Dr. Nemo
SRWare Iron 10.0.650.1

2011-04-01
Pros:
Beats Chrome Google

Cons:
Please, read "Other Thoughts"

Other Thoughts:
Google Chrome is a real spyware with the face of a browser.

Iron SRWare leaves Google's browser and removes, almost completely, its spyware functions.

This means that SRWare Iron is the best "fork" of Chrome we know.

Notwithstanding we have two small recommendations that SRWare Iron team could attend:

1. Add a "QtWeb style" button for deleting Internet tracks, and

2. Restore the old window of Settings, which is more practical,
lighter and little than the horrible page that is used now.


Was this review helpful? 

74 users found this review helpful.
  
"My Favourite Browser"
by: Caad
SRWare Iron 7.0.520.1

2010-11-10
Pros:
All 'report back to Google' functionality removed at source code level. Fast, modern browser. An Extension allowing pages to be rendered using IE engine is available: handy for Microsoft Update and other IE-only sites! Also has a Portable version.

Cons:
Sincerely, none that I can think of.

Other Thoughts:
As others have said, this browser NEEDS to make itself known to as many people as possible!

Was this review helpful? 

82 users found this review helpful.
  
"Better privacy than Chrome"
by: TwilightZone
SRWare Iron 7.0.520.0

2010-11-02
Pros:
Removes all the "spyware" hardcoded into Chrome/Chromium. Seems faster than Chrome. Looks and operates exactly the same.

Cons:
Poor self-promotion. The guys who made this should be screaming about this browser from the mountain tops.

Other Thoughts:
To delete cache, download CCleaner and give your computer a good cleaning out.
I use it in Ubuntu Linux. Why isn't it offered in the Ubuntu Software Center?!


Was this review helpful? 

69 users found this review helpful.
  
"My favourite browser!"
by: Cad Delworth
SRWare Iron 5.0.382

2010-08-22
Pros:
Has all the speed of Google Chrome with none of the 'spyware' features. You don't need 1001 add-ons to make it usable, as you would with Firebloat.

Cons:
There is no easy way to delete history, cache, etc. for anything other than 'last day,' 'last month,' or 'everything.' But that's a fault of the Chromium source rather than Iron.

Other Thoughts:


Was this review helpful? 

67 users found this review helpful.
  
"Works as advertised"
by: surveyork


2010-06-20
Other Thoughts:
It just works as advertised. No Google ID. No RLZ. No GoogleUpdate.exe (and hence, no unplanned updates). All the extensions and themes that work for Chrome, work for Iron too. There are versions for Mac, Linux and a Windows portable version.

Was this review helpful? 

71 users found this review helpful.
  
"Good one, but I prefer ChromePlus or Chromium-both available here at freewarefiles."
by: poywatch


2010-01-29
Other Thoughts:
No need for Iron now that ChromePlus and Chromium have 'Extensions'. Just go to extensions under the 'wrench' and download AdBlock and WOT. They are better and faster on my computers and no need to cut and paste the adblock.ini as in Iron.

Was this review helpful? 

66 users found this review helpful.
  
"superb effort"
by: argybee


2008-10-05
Other Thoughts:
If you don't mind loading all sorts of 'other' rubbish like Google Gears, unauthorized scheduled tasks etc. AND putting up with them EVEN IF YOU UNINSTALL then go with Google. Otherwise this is definitely a neater option - especially now there is a portable version. (see website). Another nice thing is that Google's chrome themes work perfectly in Iron as should most future plugs. If you're like me and want to know exactly what is loaded and running on your machine then this is the only Chrome to use.

Was this review helpful? 

64 users found this review helpful.
  
"Not really needed"
by: alpha1


2008-09-30
Other Thoughts:
In Chrome you can stop the spy behavior by disabling the autosuggest feature.
You can also choose wikipedia as the default search site instead of google.
So this effort is not really needed.
It would have been better to wait till the chrome api arrives and make a ad blocker.


Was this review helpful? 

83 users found this review helpful.
  
       


Copyright © 1998 - 2014 FreewareFiles. All Rights Reserved.