Advertisement

Reviews
Rating
Date
 Advertisement
   
  
"Opera 23 not connecting to the Internet."
by: JacesJerc
Opera Web Browser 23.0.1522.72

2014-08-06
Pros:
Installs correctly. Opera 22 still works. I'll be staying with it.

Cons:
Our PC is Windows XP Pro 32bit. After autoupdating from Opera 22 to 23 our modem doesn't want to connect to the internet. Our modem uses Opera to connect to the internet. Only after uninstalling Opera 23, reinstalling Opera 22 and rebooting the PC, the modem connects to the internet. I hope this problem will be fixed in future versions.

Other Thoughts:
I don't know why I'm still using Opera these days. The Opera.exe executable used to be around 800 kilobytes. Now it is 44.6 megabytes. What happened there? It is slowing down our PC completely.

Was this review helpful? 

12 users found this review helpful.
  
"Opera R I P"
by: Ninjatron
Opera Web Browser 22.0.1471.50

2014-06-06
Pros:
It runs really fast when it runs correctly and that's vary rare

Cons:
Crashes when opens at times , its not / no where at all as stable as the older versions, they changed things around now its harder to find the options or restore user interfaces.

Other Thoughts:
This company used to be good I don't know what happened to them , they might as well hold up a flag saying " we don't care about quality anymore this is 2014 -ith a picture of Justin Bieber with a banana in his mouth " lol I used to love this software now I cross my fingers when it loads and I shouldn't have to feel like that .

Was this review helpful? 

31 users found this review helpful.
  
"Don't Waste Your Time"
by: Sprerock
Opera Web Browser 21.0.1432.67

2014-05-22
Pros:
Takes less than 5 minutes to realize Opera has become a joke before you uninstall it. It hardly qualifies as a "browser".

Cons:
Freeware Files should be embarrassed that they have this labeled as a "pick". Bad enough Opera is wasting people's time with this crap. Freewarefiles should not assist them by listing useless crap like this.

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

28 users found this review helpful.
  
"Still in the dark"
by: Moongazer
Opera Web Browser 20.0.1387.91

2014-04-10
Pros:
Opera replaced they're Presto engine with the Blink engine, witch resulted in slightly faster web navigation. It still retained it's Speed Dial feature.

Cons:
Comes with it's own built-in search engines provided by third party affiliated companies, but unlike in Opera 12.16 these cannot be removed, unless you edit Opera's source code. It's vastly rich configurable settings are missing from this "new" version. Cleaning your browsing history isn't as easy as 3 clicks in this new version. Even tough the new Opera has been developed and improved now for about 10 months, Opera Software still has a long away to go until they return this browser to it's former glory. Been using Opera for more then 5 years, and can't find 1 single option that i can call an improvement in Opera 15-20.

Other Thoughts:
I keep hearing people saying that Opera did not become a Google Chrome clone, yet i fail to observe any major differences between these two browsers.

It's been 9 months since Opera 12.16 has been discontinued, yet it's still more convenient to use the old version then the current version, even though it started having some incompatibilities and crashes on some sites (you need a backup browser for some pages), Opera 12.16 is not yet obsolete.


Was this review helpful? 

28 users found this review helpful.
  
"My opinion"
by: Star_fighter
Opera Web Browser 19.0.1326.63

2014-02-20
Pros:
Fast. Speed dial can be used for bookmarking

Other Thoughts:
Opera now uses WebKit instead of the Presto engine. It does not mean that it is a clone of Chrome.

Was this review helpful? 

35 users found this review helpful.
  
"this is the end..goodbye opera."
by: aku46
Opera Web Browser 17.0.1241.45

2013-10-12
Pros:
the only good thing is I visit several top sites just to give my review on latest opera (15 and up).

Cons:
almost all. its not even should be call BETA.

Other Thoughts:
if I want Chrome, i'll install Chrome.
I've been loyal Opera user since my first notebook 8 years a go..it is sad its end this way.

i'll stick with v12 as long as I can..though it wont be too long..

goodbye opera, nice 8 years.


Was this review helpful? 

123 users found this review helpful.
  
"Spoiled"
by: 
Opera Web Browser 16.0.1196.73

2013-09-06
Pros:
None

Cons:
Too many to mention. It is just a poor Chrome clone, no tailoring and few useful facilities. What a complete disaster.

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

88 users found this review helpful.
  
by: Trinx
Opera Web Browser 15.0.1147.153

2013-08-28
Pros:
0

Cons:
ALL! If I wanted to use Chrome, I would use Chrom. :(

Other Thoughts:
(sorry for my poor english) Best browser dies on our eyes. :(

Was this review helpful? 

88 users found this review helpful.
  
"Rubbish"
by: thundab0x
Opera Web Browser 15.0.1147.148

2013-07-24
Pros:
None

Cons:
Too inflexible. Very few add ons available. Massive install. No email. No bookmarks. No home page. Nothing useful here at all.

Other Thoughts:
Why bother with this? Seems like it was released way too early. Stay with version 12 as long as possible.

Was this review helpful? 

91 users found this review helpful.
  
"Opera 15 (isn't)"
by: resbro
Opera Web Browser 15.0

2013-07-02
Pros:
If you like Google chrome you will probably like this,(Opera 15.0) cuz that's what it is

Cons:
No bookmarks, No notes, No mail, no customizations. Nothing really, that made it good.

Other Thoughts:
You can make it usable (sort of) with extensions, however it will only let you see 6 in the tool bar, so not very practical.

Was this review helpful? 

104 users found this review helpful.
  
"Opera "Turbo" Great For Slower Connections"
by: East
Opera Web Browser 12.11 Final

2012-12-06
Pros:
If you have a slower connection (56K to 256K), the Opera "Turbo" speeds up browsing. Comparing the same web pages with both browsers open Opera is significantly faster. 20 seconds on Firefox. The same page downloads in 12 seconds on Opera. Another page 50 seconds on FF / 28 seconds on Opera. Pics show up in full resolution with Opera Turbo. Not like some of the turbo/compression progams I've tried in the past

Cons:
I've found a few google pages that don't work well with Opera. Like trying to edit pages on google sites. This is rare. maybe 1 page out of thousands.

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

82 users found this review helpful.
  
"Solid Browser - Nice Extensions & Themes"
by: Jodee
Opera Web Browser 12.11 Final

2012-12-05
Pros:
Have used Firefox exclusively for years, but decided to give Opera a try and I really love Opera. Lots of small details and fine tuning are so much easier to do on Opera. Some things you can do with about:config settings on Firefox. Some you can't do at all. One example: You can resize the Opera toolbar buttons (larger or smaller) with just a couble clicks in options (100%, 120%, 140%, etc.)

Cons:
Not really a negative....but if you've been using FF for years, setting up Opera to your liking will take a little more effort. Not really so different, but adjustments I do automatically on FF, took a little more time on Opera.

Other Thoughts:
I think personas on FF and different skins for Opera are overrated. Nice designs but most are not suitable for toolbars. Opera has nice "plain" skins right out of the box. Plus a "Classic Opera 9.01" theme extension that I'm addicted to.

Was this review helpful? 

87 users found this review helpful.
  
"Solid Browser - Nice Extensions & Themes"
by: Jodee
Opera Web Browser 12.11 Final

2012-12-04
Pros:
Have used Firefox exclusively for years, but decided to give Opera a try and I really love Opera. Lots of small details and fine tuning are so much easier to do on Opera. Some things you can do with about:config settings on Firefox. Some you can't do at all. One example: You can resize the Opera toolbar buttons (larger or smaller) with just a couble clicks in options (100%, 120%, 140%, etc.)

Cons:
Not really a negative....but if you've been using FF for years, setting up Opera to your liking will take a little more effort. Not really so different, but adjustments I do automatically on FF, took a little more time on Opera.

Other Thoughts:
I think personas on FF and different skins for Opera are overrated. Nice designs but most are not suitable for toolbars. Opera has nice "plain" skins right out of the box. Plus a "Classic Opera 9.01" theme extension that I'm addicted to.

Was this review helpful? 

87 users found this review helpful.
  
by: Stuart
Opera Web Browser 12.00 Final

2012-07-18
Pros:
Quick sometimes, easy to use, easy to install, safe.

Cons:
Completely refuses to load certain pages, this version is riddled with bugs..

Other Thoughts:
That's me finished with Opera which really saddens me as ive used it for years!
This version is the worst to date, it refuses to load certain pages and ive tried everything i know and that's been recommended on their forum.
In some cases it freezes my internet connection for a few min.

It is simply terrible at playing anything on youtube..
Sometimes it loads and again just freezes.
Before people start posting that my setup is wrong or plugins or whatever then explain why i have since installed Pale Moon and have "none" of these problems.

The skins gallery has been replaced with a horrible themes gallery, all the themes look the same, they look like a cheap copy of Chrome.
The existing skins are still available after a quick Google but now they don't work properly, in some cases the menu bar flashes..

Since switching to Pale Moon my stress levels have dropped, it just works.
Youtube videos are smooth as glass, pages just load as do most their addons.

I was used to Opera and switching all my passwords over, finding similar plugins and learning a new browser was a real pain.
If version 12 is a taste of future Opera versions then they can keep it.
12 felt like i was testing a very early beta, how this was ever passed as a stable release is beyond me..


Was this review helpful? 

96 users found this review helpful.
  
"Keeps improving"
by: Rosdi
Opera Web Browser 11.62 Final

2012-04-01
Pros:
1. Can have hundreds speed dial 2. Speed dial can be used for bokmarking web sites

Other Thoughts:
None

Was this review helpful? 

85 users found this review helpful.
  
       
Copyright © 1998 - 2014 FreewareFiles. All Rights Reserved.