Advertisement

HOME : Mozilla Thunderbird 45.3.0 : User Reviews

Results: 1-15 of 56 Total Found

Advertisement

REVIEWS

RATING

DATE

"Love it"

by: shnbwmn

Mozilla Thunderbird 45.2.0 / 45.3.0 RC 1

2016-08-26

Pros:

* Full-featured * Extensions * Tabs * Easy to setup and use * FOSS software * The same people (Mozilla) that are behind Firefox, my browser of choice * Integrated Calendar and Tasks * Modern interface with support for themes * Future-proof (Mozilla is unlikely to simply drop TB any time soon, as with Firefox)

Cons:

* A bit heavy for an email program

Other Thoughts:

All-round great email program that should serve most people's needs. If you use Firefox as your main browser, then there's the added benefit of a unified web/mail experience. Oh, and PortableApps.com has portable versions of both Firefox and Thunderbird, so you can carry them on your USB/external HDD along with all your data.

"Technical"

by: ThisBoy

Mozilla Thunderbird 45.1.0

2016-05-24

Pros:

The only pro is the software is almost free.

Cons:

Considering my lengthy background with computers the program is difficult to understand. Software has no idea where mail folders are found. Address book is useless. The few remaining add-ons nag for contributions. It's a technical nightmare.

Other Thoughts:

Microsoft announced they are no longer supporting Live Mail as of June 1, 2016. You must install Win10 to have email on a PC. Thought Thunderbird would do the job rather than use Win10.

"to previous reviewer ."

by: stuart

Mozilla Thunderbird 38.1.0

2015-07-12

Other Thoughts:

My review was anything but baloney, maybe you should look at the time and version difference between my review and your response, do you actually know how a review process works ?

When I reviewed this program it was based on the version being offered at the time, at that time the version I was testing was a nightmare that I was very happy to remove from my PC on the account of it being useless, and I don't use that word lightly, it was also backed up by well documented problems that Thunderbird was suffering from that a quick Google search would have revealed to anyone who doubted what I said. I have no ax to grind and I wanted this to be a good program like all programs I test.

For 2 days I battled trying to get this program into a usable state and finally I gave up. Now I have a decent technical knowledge and at the time of review I remember getting more and more frustrated trying to solve very basic issues, one issue was the password problem in trying to run a Yahoo account,I constantly got a prompt telling me my password was wrong, this also affected Blueyonder and Tiscali accounts. When I checked online I found the Yahoo problem was much bigger than I imagined, Yahoo worked just fine on Outlook or Windows Live Mail but refused to work on Thunderbird.

My inbox folder got corrupted so many times that I finally gave up even trying to fix it, by then my patience had finally snapped so yeah, I was pretty pissed when I posted my review but I stand by that review 100%.

Now I recently gave the portable version a spin and to my joy it worked just fine but that's another review for another time. However to compare it to the previous version I tested then the story is very different, clearly Thunderbird have been working hard and kudos to them for doing so. The portable version worked out of the box with no issues and guess what, I am using it currently as my default and the more I use it the happier the whole experience seems to be. So pull your neck in and chill out and maybe concentrate on your own reviews and avoid the baloney that I post ;_)

"Never drove me insane"

by: Baloney

Mozilla Thunderbird 34.0 Beta 1 / 31.2.0

2014-11-11

Pros:

Mozilla signed, free, many add-ons available, excellent account creation ease, fast, reliable

Cons:

None

Other Thoughts:

I'm taking via this comment's title the opposite position of past reviewer.
I've never had the slightest problem with Thunderbird, so reading a user's review where obviously he mistakes big configuration errors with the reality of an application leads me to REACT :)
Thunderbird is really very easy to set-up. Works flawlessly if you configure it right, and configuring right is impossible only for an extra-thin slice of world's population. Need I say more?!

"It will drive you insane."

by: Stuart

Mozilla Thunderbird 24.6.0

2014-06-22

Pros:

Well its free and that's about it.

Cons:

It never remembers my password, sometimes it connects, sometimes it doesn't, the most basic settings are awkward, the interface is cluttered and looks very dated, folders get corrupted easily.

Other Thoughts:

This must be one of the worst programs I have ever tested, its a complete cluster f*** of uselessness ! It has one of the most public bugs ever known, when it fails to connect you are given a error that your password is wrong, it took me a few times before I Googled this problem and there were unlimited pages of people having the same experience. I found plenty of reasons why this happens but couldn't find a solution that worked.

The settings are a nightmare as are its defaults, they are all over the place. The UI is horrible and looks like a 5yr old designed it on a bad day and its missing some of the most basic functions.

For whatever reason my Inbox folder got constantly corrupted and at that point I had no time or patience left to even bother trying to troubleshoot this nightmare. Its a awful program that's nowhere near ready for primary use..

"Calendar"

by: TerryB

Mozilla Thunderbird 24.4.0

2014-03-19

Pros:

A brilliant programme for email, but lacks one major facility for work use.

Cons:

Without an integral calendar it's a nuisance for work use and so on my work machine I have to stick with Outlook.

Other Thoughts:

I don't understand why it wasn't written with the same functionality that Outlook has to offer. Very different to FF, which is much better than IE.

"Auto dial frm address book."

by: Thunderboy

Mozilla Thunderbird 24.0.1

2013-10-15

Pros:

Works ok for your email needs.

Cons:

Can't seem to find a working method to auto dial from the address book like Outlook does. Needs this functionality badly.

Other Thoughts:

None

"Excellent Program"

by: CyberWolf64

Mozilla Thunderbird 24.0

2013-09-17

Pros:

Does everything I need to do VERY well. @-TerryB: Mozilla has stated on s a site I read that they will "release" an actual version number jump on v17, v24, v31, etc.

Cons:

None.

Other Thoughts:

Keep up the good work guys.

"Something strange here"

by: TerryB

Mozilla Thunderbird 24.0

2013-09-17

Other Thoughts:

A new version ought to be fun, but.....The Mozilla website says V17 is current, not v24.
Even if the UK update is a few days behind the US, a jump from v17 to 24 in the course of a month since the last one sounds very strange.
I'll wait on this one.

"Finally"

by: ThisBoyTV

Mozilla Thunderbird 16.0.1

2012-10-13

Pros:

This version is faster and uses little memory. It is more akin to the early FF that I always used. So far the few addons that I had work fine.

Cons:

First thing I did was delete the search engine file included. I never use Google to search nor any of the others. Still need to figure out how to get rid of Babylon when opening a new Tab.

Other Thoughts:

After trying many other versions I finally made the jump from 5.x to 15x and now this version. So far I am enjoying the speed and light weight.

"Thunderbird not ready for prime time."

by: myremedy

Mozilla Thunderbird 16.0.1

2012-10-12

Cons:

Needs some useful features, like a decent way of auto-dialing from address book.

Other Thoughts:

None

"thunderbird"

by: alank44

Mozilla Thunderbird 12.0.1

2012-05-05

Pros:

looks ok

Cons:

does not reconize password

Other Thoughts:

pure caa-caa now

"v- 10.0"

by: mweizer

Mozilla Thunderbird 10.0

2012-01-31

Pros:

The 9.1 and this version 10.0 seem to be working well.

Other Thoughts:

None

"v- 9"

by: mweizer

Mozilla Thunderbird 9.0

2011-12-22

Cons:

I had version 8, I installed this version 9 over 8 Now my email will not open. I get message saying application configuration is incorrect I tried to reinstall 2 times , same result frikkin graeat

Other Thoughts:

XP pro 32bit

"Letdown"

by: Mike

Mozilla Thunderbird 8.0

2011-11-09

Pros:

Looks good but not much else

Cons:

Unfortunately this did not work well for me, I could not get half the things to work properly like half the addons don't work, importing my address book was a nightmare and I tried everything to get auto completion of email address's to work to no avail so I have given up.

Other Thoughts:

People bag Google all the time but I have found that GMail has improved a lot and is a piece of cake to use. For style and ease of use you cant beat incredimail but I got put off by constant nags to upgrade and all the bits and pieces it leaves all over your hard drive.

Results: 1-15 of 56 Total Found