Advertisement

Results: 1-20 of 28 Total Found

REVIEWS

RATING

DATE

"@other human - Runs on Windows 10 (64-Bit)"

by: Admin

TheSage English Dictionary and Thesaurus 7.28.2686

2019-02-21

Other Thoughts:

After reading your review, we re-tested the latest version on Windows 10 (64-Bit). It installed and ran correctly without issues. Please view the following screenshots of our test.

Setup complete:
https://cdn.freewarefiles.com/screenshot/thesage-setup-complete.gif

After launching:
https://cdn.freewarefiles.com/screenshot/thesage-launched.gif

Note the version number is 7.28.2686. Feel free to contact us here:

https://www.freewarefiles.com/Contact-Us.html

Advertisement

"v. 7.28.2686 fail"

by: other human

TheSage English Dictionary and Thesaurus 7.28.2686

2019-02-21

Pros:

It's the latest version, but...

Cons:

...Windows 10 blocks the app.

Other Thoughts:

None

"TheSage's New UI"

by: Gerry

TheSage English Dictionary and Thesaurus 7.6.2638

2016-06-06

Other Thoughts:

This is a follow up to the last review, which was mine (I forgot to enter my name there). To admin: The screenshot on this site shows the previous version of TheSage (6.xxxx), which I prefer, but the new version doesn't look like that at all. Please update the screenshot.

by:

TheSage English Dictionary and Thesaurus 7.6.2638

2016-06-05

Pros:

A good, comprehensive reference work.

Cons:

As good a reference work as TheSage is, I do not like the new interface. The program takes a lot longer to start up, probably due to it's new dependence on the .NET framework. I've found that .NET apps are always slow to start up, but with TheSage that's very pronounced. The program has become bloated; not surprising, because aside from the extra drive space taken up by the recent version of .NET, the program files themselves take up twice as much space as the old version. The new tree-style side panel menu at the left uses up a lot of horizontal screen real estate, squeezing the definitions into a small pane at the right.

Other Thoughts:

The tab-based interface of version 6.2 was excellent, however, so I have reverted to that version.

"The ultimate dictionary and thesaurus"

by: Gerry

TheSage English Dictionary and Thesaurus 6.0.1798

2014-01-15

Pros:

I like everything about this program, and have been using it for a couple of years now. TheSage packs a very comprehensive reference work in a full-featured, stable and portable application.

Cons:

No problems, except that the options dialogs, and there are a lot of them, are a bit too large for the aspect ratio of my netbook's screen.

Other Thoughts:

The changelog shown on this page is way out of date!

"Excellen English Thesaurus"

by: John Doe

TheSage English Dictionary and Thesaurus 4.5.1784

2012-10-30

Pros:

all in thesaurus

Cons:

nothing

Other Thoughts:

recommended for everyone who want learn english

"Still Great"

by: Woof

TheSage English Dictionary and Thesaurus 4.0.1774

2011-07-05

Pros:

More than just a dictionary or thesaurus. Not just definitions and synonyms, TheSage helps you truly understand the word. Example sentences are really helpful. A great writing tool.

Cons:

Haven't found one yet.

Other Thoughts:

I've been using TheSage for years and never thought to check for updates - just slipped my mind and never really needed to - it's that good. The GUI looks pretty much the same, just expanded.

Check out The Pond at the bottom-expand your window. It's cute.

"Built-in Database"

by: FreewareFiles Admin

TheSage English Dictionary and Thesaurus 4.0.1774

2010-11-29

Other Thoughts:

TheSage has a built-in database and does not lookup the definitions online.

Included are more than 210,000 definitions.

"what nonsense"

by: Geeeesus

TheSage English Dictionary and Thesaurus 4.0.1774

2010-11-29

Cons:

It is NOT a Dictionary if it has to look up the word online. ANYONE can look up a word online without a dictionary. A dictionary already has the definitions so you can reference it offline. What Nonsense!!!!!!!

Other Thoughts:

None

"Great Program"

by: Retired

2009-09-01

Other Thoughts:

I use a lot of freeware programs and this is one of the best easy to install and have up and running in minutes. If you need a great dictionary program this is the one. Thanks

"It is the best one!"

by: Dr. Nemo

2009-01-21

Other Thoughts:

For two years I stopped worrying of its updates, for me, there was not necessity of it. The Sage had everything! But, now, I meet with
the good news of its extraodinaries improvements, its changes in the GUI and its new tools. Of great didactic value, always useful and to the hand of who wants to have it in the PC without troubles, there is not another as it that gives so much without occupying too much space in the hard disk and without demanding to the processor what others make. Such it seems that Franc Morales and Leah Gilner, developers of The Sage, are the only ones able to be overcome themselves in this extraordinary project.


"new version out 3.1.2.1744"

by: Martin

2009-01-08

Other Thoughts:

@Tall53

There was a Vista issue with the UAC. The latest version works for me.

"Will not install"

by: Tall53

2009-01-06

Other Thoughts:

I have used the previous version for a couple of years and found it very useful however, when I attempted to install this new version it gave errors inspite of two attempts. Do I need to uninstall the old version first? I would appreciate any comments, thanks in advance.

"Finally, the unbeatable, uncomparable.."

by: SageFan

2009-01-06

Other Thoughts:

It was one feature that " The Sage " lacked,..and it was that very function that haunted me when I had to choose between " The Sage " and Wordweb, despite obvious inclinations towards " The Sage ".
But with now the " Word Capture " function implemented... " The Sage "
has of course become the Numero Uno dictionary choice.....Thanx! No shortcomings whatsoever.

"A Real Jewel"

by: jules362

2008-12-14

Other Thoughts:

This site doesn't indicate that Sage works on Vista, but I've been using it (with Vista) for months and haven't had any problem with it. I keep the icon on my lower task bar, and it gets a lot of use.

Great program.

"Fantastic"

by: wrzenk

2008-06-23

Other Thoughts:

Great, handy dictionary. If there's a word you can't find, you don't need to ever use it

"yes!"

by: willdabeast

2007-06-13

Other Thoughts:

this is a must have for college students. HUGE database of entries!

"Nice"

by: Boo!

2006-10-22

Other Thoughts:

This is a really nice program. It's fast,accurate, and incredibly useful.

"Great tool!"

by: ArtUe2

2006-09-30

Other Thoughts:

If you are a student, writer, or just can't think of the correct spelling of a word this may be quicker than opening up your office program to get the answer. The Best one out there for free until I can be proven wrong. :)

"AMAZING!!! EXCELLENT!!! TWO THUMBS-UP!!!"

by: DODOWI

2006-09-29

Other Thoughts:

In this category this is the best!!!

Very usefull.

Very Fast Result.

Nice interface.

All in all... Job Well Done For the Author!!! Many thanks to the author!!!

Results: 1-20 of 28 Total Found