Advertisement

Results: 1-20 of 122 Total Found

REVIEWS

RATING

DATE

"Windows Defender"

by: Leah's Choice

Microsoft Windows Defender 1593

2010-09-30

Pros:

Absolutely none.

Cons:

There isn't enough space to tell you how useless this program is.

Other Thoughts:

Advertisement

"to previous review"

by: stuart

2009-06-20

Other Thoughts:

you are either mad or you are Bill Gates!
you rate it a 5 based on its realtime protection!
Its protection is average at best and its removal capabilities are "terrible"
at best.
defender is a clapped out average ms product that needs a total overhaul..

"Realtime Protection works!"

by: Tester Al

2009-06-01

Other Thoughts:

Eicar test.org Windows Defender detected quarantined "eicar virus Test file" Spybot S&D does not.Also quarantined a few trojans surfing malware sites on my old XP test PC.

"rubbish"

by:

2008-11-17

Other Thoughts:

this is not worth the space on a hard drive. detects very-VERY little.
Dont waste your time downloading this, at least get something to works, like, super antispy or spybot

"Windows Defender"

by: RDean

2008-08-11

Other Thoughts:

W.D. is a weak removal tool. It didn't touch some of the adware I have.

"Yes the real time protection works"

by: roger x

2008-06-27

Other Thoughts:

W/Defender has detected 2 trojans in the last 2 years it does not detect/highlight 3rd party tracking cookies that's why it does not detect much unlike Spybot and Adaware which does.

"Does this catch anything?"

by: Jonas Tras

2008-06-17

Other Thoughts:

I've had this software as long as it has been released and so far it hasn't captured anything. Does it work?

"Room for improvement"

by: Magoo

2008-05-09

Other Thoughts:

WS has found the odd trojan and realtime protection has blocked a couple of trojans from downloading from malicious websites in the last 2 years but overall spyware goes undetected and also tracking cookies goes amiss although not considered potential threat i still would like the option to delete remove them with this program.Best realtime/spyware protection now is AVG 8 (linkscanner blocks the website before you can open it thus avoiding any chance of actually infecting your pc with any virus trojans especially from many spammy spyware and adult sites.

"its average"

by: stuart

2008-05-07

Other Thoughts:

ive been looking at all the reviews and they are quite mixed. i used defender for a year and found it lacking! quite simply, there is better freeware available. if you are a hardcore surfer and use adult sites, filesharing etc, then give this one a miss. if you are an average user and use mostly safe sites then defender may suit you. the reviews are mixed as the people who tested it may have differnt needs so wont agree with each other. i rate it as 2 as i think it should be better. that rating is down to its realtime protection which is ok,and it dosent require much power and is simple to use.

"Plenty of updates to keep it upto date"

by: Michael Parker

2008-04-24

Other Thoughts:

Spybot and Adware updates once a month if your lucky,Spyware doctor free version although it updates daily you only get 70% of the updates compared with full paid version.AVG anti-spyware full daily updates same as paid version which you have to install manually recomended to use with Windows defender.

"Useful second scanner"

by: Manxman

2008-04-20

Other Thoughts:

Windows Defender o.k, AVG anti-spyware impressed me the most like it better than webroot spysweeper which i used to use .

"Mint"

by: Dave the rave

2008-04-18

Other Thoughts:

Tested this me birds computer as i dint wana infect my computer it worked when the realtime protection kicked in searching for a key for PowerDVD which i lost but found on serialsws.org

"waste of resourses and time"

by: Bigturd

2008-04-15

Other Thoughts:

I tested this by installing trojans. This anti-spyware recognized a full blown keylogger while being installed and the realtime protection caught it. Avast did not detect it.
tested by bigturd

"Useful secondary scanner"

by: Tommy

2008-04-08

Other Thoughts:

Only finds trojans not spyware ,use with AVG anti-spy,Spybot or Adaware as these programs have better spyware detection.Saying that the realtime protection is o.k and not as intrusive as Spybots teatimer.

"Windows Defender"

by: BillG ates

2008-04-06

Other Thoughts:

Tested defender" my arse"

"if its facts you want?"

by: the judge

2008-04-06

Other Thoughts:

the purpose of a review is to give an honest account of a program after you have tried it. we tested defender in all aspects and our results differ from "pro" reviewers results. you have to ask yourself how a pro could rate defender with a 5/5 rating when clearly its not! we tested spybot and spyware doctor (paid) along with many others and found the results very different! defender took the longest to complete a full scan (approx 90min). thats why it only uses 21mb of ram as pointed out by pro. the quick scan never reveals anything. defender failed to detect 5 forms of spyware (one of which hijacked our home page) and the 2 it did detect it could not resolve. both spybot and spyware doctor resolved these issues.. i do agree with pro that no program is full proof but to rate defender with a 5 is suspicious. i also find it strange why you refer only to the people who have anything negative to say about defender. if you dont like the reviews then dont allow it, but dont start crying every time someone has an opinion you may not like moderator.

"strange?"

by: hoppy

2008-04-06

Other Thoughts:

a bit strange that me ,judge and kev are the only ones mentioned moderator. i dont see del boy or so called pro reviewer mentioned. so what we are saying is, if you dont rate defender then shut up? looks dodgey to me fella.,

"Constructive reviews only please!"

by: Moderator

2008-04-05

Other Thoughts:

Hoppy , Judge and Kev
If you cannot put a sentence together and supply evidence to back up your review please do not comment.

"pro reviewer?"

by: kev

2008-04-05

Other Thoughts:

a pro reviewer who rates defender 5/5. yeh right mate. pull the ova one..

"Don't knock Windows Defender no anti-spyware program is 100% effective"

by: Jotti (Pro Reviewer)

2008-04-04

Other Thoughts:

I ran a scan with Spyware Doctor (paid),Spybot S&D and with Windows Defender and the results were the same.
I am reluctant to proclaim that a certain computer protection tool is the best as I do not think that there is such a tool. Almost all of them are on the same level and I do not think that one computer protection software will keep my machine safer than the other.
It can protect it from certain malware, while other such tools protect it from yet other types of computer threats. But my conclusion is that Windows Defender is a good tool to protect your computer against most threats.
The software does not take more than 21MB of RAM, even in full system scan.

Results: 1-20 of 122 Total Found