Advertisement

HOME : Avira Free Antivirus v15.0 : User Reviews

Results: 1-20 of 117 Total Found

REVIEWS

RATING

DATE

"Avira antivirus software is a computer program that detects, prevents, and takes action to disarm or"

by: Samiksha Gujral

Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus 14.0.7.468

2015-01-21

Pros:

A single Avira ant virus license protects up to five devices, which can be any combination of PCs, Macs, Android smartphones and tablets, as well as iPhones and iPads.

Cons:

Avira slowed host computers an average of four seconds.

Other Thoughts:

None

Advertisement

"Good Antivirus"

by: AmanKaur

Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus 14.0.7.468

2015-01-15

Pros:

Fast Scanning

Cons:

Installation process is long

Other Thoughts:

If you are looking for a good difficulties free anti virus then this name is Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus 14.0.7.468 and safe your system from viruses.

"Simple, easy but sufficient protection..."

by: melen001

Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus 14.0.7.468

2014-12-04

Pros:

Excellent malware detection, low on resources, default setting are good, easy installation. Scans are relatively fast. Can be considered a "set & forget" antivirus. It's that easy ans simple.

Cons:

Installation is long. The Avira web page service is not needed for the antivirus software to work so I uninstalled it.

Other Thoughts:

Very good and simple and easy. If you are looking for a good hassle free antivirus, this is it.... Avira Free V 14.0.7.468 .... enjoy free security...

by: ka

Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus 14.0.1.759

2013-12-07

Pros:

Possibly still has a good detection rate (about 5 years ago it was the top pick of free AVs)

Cons:

Used to be a light AV and very good for older or low-spec computers, but has grown into a huge and very cpu-demanding AV. Slows the system down remarkably. A very annoying nag screen with ad for their paid products pops up on every update. This is not freeware, it's adware.

Other Thoughts:

I have used Avira for years but, uninstalled it earlier this year. It wasn't until it was gone that I realized how much it slowed my computer down. I now have Avast running on my XP, windows 7 netbook and my windows 8 laptop.

"v- 13.0.0.388(5)"

by: mweizer

Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus 13.0.0.3884

2013-08-28

Cons:

a bit INSISTENT and OBESE

Other Thoughts:

After 2 months, I now uninstall.
General observs and thots [sic]

Why the minimum update of 6 hours? Why can't one turn it off? Cuz they care? Um, no.
That's how they are assured access to send the occasional popup ad and a bit rarer windowed ad. The scheduler service.(by the way, the max is 22 days,18hours,7 minutes)-- grins.

Its boast of "light weight" is kinda funny; just before I uninstalled it , its total "foot print" was a whopping 343mb.
-Program folder> 233mb
-All Users "Temp" folder> 95.4mb (avguard1.tmp)
-Microsoft C++ > 14.6mb --a collateral install and after security update.

And this is not even their full version. hehe

Often I'd have a loading conflict with my wifi at startup. Like Avira was trying to connect prematurely {'that's what she said'}

Uninstall:
Opens site with some boohoo-aw,shucks-faced gal offering me "free" full version --er, just buy something (of yet unknown minimum) from these stores...

What it left:
It didn't indicate I had to reboot but I did and it made a difference.
Wow. No Program folder, All Users, context menu nor even a huge uninstall temp file.
I think about 12 registry items.

I give it a 3 so plus my previous 5 the mean or average is 4.

"v- 13.0.0.3884"

by: mweizer

Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus 13.0.0.3884

2013-07-27

Pros:

I've tried this prog a few times over the years -- I think a year+ was last time. I must say, I'm impressed. The installer had a professional, solid feel/operation about it. It informs what it is doing/done what you need to do, fluently. In my case, comparability scan found that I had to uninstall my Sunbelt firewall (I already had uninstalled my anti virus) I don't recall any toolbar option; either way, its not asking me now nor any pop screens. I have had no probs with updates -- I kept the enabled auto update every 6 hours (gives a notifier and number of files. Has option to "don't show anymore"). I even tried manual update. Took 3seconds to tell me I was up to date. I have had no system conflicts plus I instal/run/uninstall a goodly number of apps -- so far, so good. In configure (settings), hover over for description/info.

Cons:

More an observation than a con but the scans lag time while initializing. After that, good scan time.

Other Thoughts:

*Note -- Web Protection service is listed but not installed, thus disabled.

Total instal sizes, as of now:
-in Programs = 213mb
-in All Users = 83.2mb

Two context menu entries:
-for directory and file scans

Services:
-real-time protection
-scheduler (tasks/updater)
-web protection (for browser)

Processes:
-avguard.exe (scanner)
-avgnt.exe (startup/tray, internet-
bound threats)
-avshadow.exe (copy locked/in-use
files so can scan)
-sched.exe

As I write this, pc several hour on, all processes total memory use = ~9mb.

Custom scan locations found under -> tool bar tab View> pc protection> system scanner>

Default settings are very good; only changed a few.

Xp pro sp3 32bit

by:

Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus 13.0.0.3185

2013-03-21

Pros:

avira

Cons:

avira and avast are both cray anti viruses every time i install it, after i do a full system scan and i wanna log back into my account it gives me a grey screen

Other Thoughts:

None

"Avira"

by: goodgulf

Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus 13.0.0.2890

2012-12-21

Pros:

For AV 13. Unknown. I've had Avira for years. It scans my 300 gig computor fast. It's accurate. It's not a hog for resources.

Cons:

Avira 13 would not update after install. I re-installed Avira. It still refused to update. Luckily I still had the install for the previous Avira.

Other Thoughts:

None

"Now It doesn't work with Xp sp 2"

by: R.K

Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus 12.0.0.898

2012-03-08

Cons:

Avira was a very good and effective antivirus earlier and also support Windows Xp all versions but now it doesn't work with Xp service pack2 32 bit versions.

Other Thoughts:

None

"Gone downhill"

by: JTS

Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus 12.0.0.861

2011-11-20

Pros:

None

Cons:

This program has steadily gone downhill over the years and the addition of dubious Uniblue and Ask crapware has completely ruined it.

Other Thoughts:

Use something else - ANYTHING else!

"Poor, poor, poor"

by: bg703

Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus 12.0.0.861

2011-11-18

Pros:

very few

Cons:

The biggest one is download speed for virus definitions. I have a very high speed connection, and it just took over 15 minutes for 3 mb and still didn't complete the download. I am going to find another antivirus program.

Other Thoughts:

None

"Avira sold its soul to the Devil"

by: Jimbo

Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus 12.0.0.861

2011-10-31

Pros:

Used to be an adequate free antivirus until...

Cons:

...Avira sold its soul to the Devil and packaged the evil Ask Toolbar.

Other Thoughts:

Don't waste your time with this crapware-ridden crap.

"Avira is BEST Antivirus!"

by: Den72

Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus 12.0.0.855

2011-10-22

Pros:

This is my favorite antivirus program! I use it about 10 years. During all this time, Avira Free never let me down! I want to note a very high speed and its excellent ability to detect viruses and other malicious code!

Cons:

-

Other Thoughts:

Thanks to developers! :)

"great"

by: Ronald

Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus 12.0.0.851

2011-10-09

Pros:

best antivirus on the market

Cons:

this new version does not work with sandboxie 3.58

Other Thoughts:

lets hope this problem is sorted out

"rubbish"

by: Bob

Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus 10.0.0.680

2011-06-30

Pros:

fast scanner, easy to use

Cons:

too many false positives, a toolbar, nag screen, buggy, better free options

Other Thoughts:

Good detection,,lmfao, it see's everything as a virus i have never seen so many false positives,thats not good detection its a crap program calling it wrong.
A toolbar doesn't go down well in a security product, a toolbar to hog more memory and dig itself in my registry.

Then comes the cheesy nag screen constantly telling you that what your using isn't up to the job.
It seems to start when it feels like it as sometimes the umbrella goes up and sometimes down.

What the hell is the story with updates, again they work when it feels like it which is handy being your main security program.

So considering its protection is pretty lame it seems to love swallowing my ram , this program is a mess and not a good option unless your a one of the fanboys who love it because it says normal files are malicious.

Stay away from it and put in the best free AV from Microsoft, MSE.

I dont like MS but its the best free AV you can get.....

"Time to ditch Avira"

by: Alias

Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus 10.0.0.680

2011-06-25

Pros:

Excellent detection results but ..

Cons:

Avira has partnered with Uniblue and ASK toolbar,who wants to install spyware,adaware/ scumware products this is a real backward step bad move by this company

Other Thoughts:

Microsoft Security Essentials ,no adds spyware

"Good for modern computers"

by: HonestUser

Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus 10.0.0.609

2010-12-22

Pros:

Avira AntiVir has incredibly good detection rates and a very good graphical interface. The settings are all well thought-out and it's not as obtrusive as Avast! (which exaggerates the use of skins). AntiVir's realtime scanning mechanism is very effective and complete scans are made in reasonable time. However, you need a modern computer.

Cons:

Doesn't run well on older machines with less CPU power or RAM.

Other Thoughts:

If your PC is a bit older, I recommend Avast!. Because Avast! needs considerably little RAM while still providing slightly lower detection rates compared to AntiVir. But in that case you have to modify Avast's settings a bit in order to turn off annoyances (voice notifications, etc).

"pc eater"

by: allan clark

Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus 10.0.0.592

2010-12-08

Pros:

free. good at finding bugs.

Cons:

500 mhz and it killed it. looks like you need 3000 mhz. Too ram hungry.

Other Thoughts:

years ago i had this on 98 333 mhz and it was ok. now on a atom 1600 mhz, it like
a ton of bricks. I am using emsisoft
emergancy kit and it works good but xp on.

"best free antivirus program"

by: joeres

Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus 10.0.0.592

2010-11-03

Pros:

this is for sure the best best antivirus software on the market!

Cons:

nagscreen

Other Thoughts:

remove nagscreen for perfection

"Error In Updating!"

by: HomeUser

Avira AntiVir Personal - Free Antivirus 10.0.0.567

2010-09-15

Pros:

Good detection capability Durable process

Cons:

Error in updating

Other Thoughts:

Reformatted the system and reinstalled the antivirus, still will not update. Testing with XP 32bit, Vista 32bit and 64bit; all same outputs, cannot update. Installed to 5 different computers, still the same.

Check online for possible fix-up, Im not the only one having same problem.

No remedy yet till now!

Avira should address this issue.

Results: 1-20 of 117 Total Found