Advertisement

Results: 1-15 of 4079 Total Found

Advertisement

REVIEWS

RATING

DATE

"Ignore this mess"

by: Kent

Avast Free Antivirus 17.2.2288

2017-03-04

Pros:

Seems fair, but when it wants to resolve "issues" (how politically correct) it demands that you upgrade to their professional version and leaves the garbage on your system.

Cons:

See above. Additionally, it interferes with the installation of software that you KNOW is trustworthy. If you have already installed Avast! I suggest that you dump it with AvastClear. (That is the only decent application they have produced.)

Other Thoughts:

None

"Fell asleep during install."

by: Chuckie

Avast Free Antivirus 12.3.2280 / 12.4.2281 Beta

2016-12-30

Pros:

None, used to be good years ago, lost its plot now.

Cons:

Have to pay for firewall option, install made me feel sleepy it took so long, added installed unwanted software, nothing like Comodo Internet Security, it come with firewall and does not install unwanted software.

Other Thoughts:

Nothing good i ma afraid

"Bloatware beyond Bloatware"

by: Cotty59uk

avast! Free Antivirus 12.1.3064 Beta / 11.2.2738

2016-06-20

Pros:

It used to be the best free Anti-Virus solution and the envy of all expensive big gun manufacturers until it overgrew it's main use as an Anti-Virus scanner/solution..

Cons:

I've used the Free version of Avast AV software from basically day one when it weighed in at less than 10 MB's as it was by far the best on the market and put all other paid Anti-Virus manufacturers solution's to shame. Sadly I stopped using Avast about a year ago as it became nothing but a huge chunk of bloatware with the download alone weighing in at a staggering 200 plus MB's to basically do the exact same job as the likes of Kingsoft Anti-Virus with its download Weighing in at less than 14 MB's or Microsoft's own Security Essentials which also includes a combined Anti-Spyware Scanner weighing in at less than 12 MB's.

Other Thoughts:

Kingsoft Anti-Virus & Microsoft's own Security Essentials are by far the best freeware solutions to date and the way forwards. both work tirelessly in the background with neither hugging the CPU limelight or slowing the Computer/Laptop down one iota and so for me it's thank-you and goodbye to Avast and Hello and welcome to Kingsoft and Microsofts own.

"Nagging"

by: Fredmertz51

avast! Free Antivirus 12.1.3034 Beta / 11.2.2262

2016-05-26

Other Thoughts:

Just run in "Game Mode", no more pop-ups.

"Deceiving version number"

by: other human

avast! Free Antivirus 11.2.2732

2016-04-08

Pros:

The best free antivirus software. Period.

Cons:

Setting the security level too high invites popup warnings like crazy!

Other Thoughts:

The version stated for 4-8-2016 said 11.2.2732
However, when I undated the main program, it clearly says version 11.2.2261.
Somebody's wrong and it isn't me.

"secure"

by: HR

avast! Free Antivirus 10.2.2218

2015-06-23

Pros:

Nice....best.....fast....

Cons:

Nice....best....fast...

Other Thoughts:

Nice....best.....fast....

"Avast is now Adware."

by: Joesph

avast! Free Antivirus 10.2.2214

2015-03-09

Pros:

Still works.

Cons:

With the latest version you cannot turn off the constant pop-ups about other Avast products. The only way it can be turned off is to upgrade to their Premium version.

Other Thoughts:

Every now and again I can tolerate pop-ups like this but the number of their "in your face" ads is intolerable.
What's next Avast? Limiting system scans to one or two a month then charge for additional? Mark my words guys, something like that is coming your way. Time to move on to something else.

"variable"

by: dominosdad

avast! Free Antivirus 9.0.2016

2014-03-25

Pros:

As far as I can tell it is working well on three of my 4 pcs, usually without any noticeable overhead.

Cons:

On just one of my 4 PCs (a Win 7 64bit one)there have been considerable problems. Main ones are that it fails to update, saying it can't reach the server, and it seems to slow the system down to a crawl each time a browser window is opened.

Other Thoughts:

There seems to be very poor diagnostics - it gives no clue why it can't connect to the update server, or what's happening when it's slowing the system down. Since this isn't a general system load I assume that something is being done, but have no idea what.

"*Update*"

by: KristovSluga

avast! Free Antivirus 8.0.1497

2013-09-03

Pros:

Free, does some job

Cons:

-slowing down system -BSOD encounters -not compatible with some firewall's -on some cases it is not possible to register free version to overcome 30 day trial

Other Thoughts:

Avast is constantly improving,but with every update, i encounter new diferent bugs.Some Av vendors like example Dr. Web are not so spread,but in test,i have never seen any bug or fail. I know it's free,but there are some free solutions that have really small or near 0 amount of bugs and hiccups.

"trash"

by: Vinny

avast! Free Antivirus 8.0.1489

2013-05-16

Pros:

none

Cons:

slow, bugs you all the time, misleading updates,

Other Thoughts:

Avast is trash and takes forever to scan. I got a virus and this useless program couldn't remove it but Malwarebytes removed it with no problems. I don't see why I have to register it and if you click the wrong button during one of many constant program updates it upgrades you to the full version. There isn't a day goes by without some kind of pop up bugging me.

"Agree with Stuart"

by: KristovSluga

avast! Free Antivirus 8.0.1483.72

2013-03-21

Pros:

free

Cons:

bad malware removal score,little mixed up interface,bit havy on system,bugs in registration

Other Thoughts:

Avast become weaker than avg.Saad.

"adware, false positives"

by: Henry

avast! Free Antivirus 8.0.1483.72

2013-03-20

Cons:

1.Avast itself is adware, as it pops up telling me to "upgrade". The so-called "upgrade" actually means buy a pro version. An unsuspecting user might think that there is a newer freeware version. This popup comes from time to time and is VERY ANNOYING. 2.It challenges every program which it has never encountered on USB accusing it is "dangerous". Strange enough is that Avast does not report what kind of "danger" it found. Avast just blindly accuses the software without actually analyzing it.

Other Thoughts:

None

"Better Free Options"

by: Stuart

avast! Free Antivirus 7.0.1474

2013-02-06

Pros:

Free, slick interface that's easy going but advanced, Boot scan option, regular updates.

Cons:

Heavy, Really slow scan times, doesn't work well with my usb devices, Registration, Pop ups, cannot deal with stubborn Malware.

Other Thoughts:

I used to like Avast but the last few versions have not been as good as a lot of people like to think.
I hate the Sandbox feature and got fed up with Avast telling me it can't identify if the program is Malicious so i'l just stick it in Sandbox for now anyway and cripple its performance.

All of my USB pens ran very slow with Avast installed, even the one's i checked "ignore"..
I have a powerful custom PC and i ran a full scan and went for a coffee, i came back 20mins later and Avast was nowhere near finished, 1hr and 10min later it finally finished.
You need to register with a email or Facebook account which is bad enough but now if you are installing on a few machines you need a different email for every machine,,too far imo.

One thing i cannot stand is Security products that install tool bars, it just isn't right, Avast goes that little further and install's Chrome, sometimes after you have checked it not to!!!
More time waisted removing Junkware and all the rest of its additional components that are hidden (Chrome, Google Update Service).

When a few of my friends PC's got infected they were running Avast and it was hopeless at removal, it would identify the Malware, remove it, reboot and still infected.
Overall Avast is not as good as it used to be, registration, annoying pop ups,Additional Google crap, mega slow scanning, terrible rating results are just some of the reasons not to bother with it.....

"avast does not work with windows8"

by: the wolf

avast! Free Antivirus 7.0.1474

2013-02-01

Pros:

none because i couldn't not get avast to work on windows 8.

Cons:

almost completely freezes windows 8 after avast reboots windows8.

Other Thoughts:

had no problems with the initial install until i found out i had to reboot my os so the cloud feature that comes with avast 7.0 would work properly. after i clicked on the restart now button in avast cloud feature settings several things happened first the boot time was extremely extended beyond the normal boot time of my pc. second when my desktop finally showed itself, clicking on anything on my desktop took several clicks to get a response (simular to lagging in video games). third my desktop shortcuts ui was changed from a regular shortcut to a white blank paper icon covering the desktop shortcut icon. i had to resort to resetting the pc to a earlier restore point to get the pc.working before i installed this mess of a program. i think its safe to say that avast 7.0 is not compatible with windows 8 at least not with my pc.

"sneaky"

by: steve

avast! Free Antivirus 7.0.1466

2012-09-22

Cons:

After reading another review. I took custome installation so I could uncheck google chrome. Even though it was unchecked google chrome and the google chrome int exp toolbar installed.

Other Thoughts:

I uninstalled the whole mess immediately

Results: 1-15 of 4079 Total Found

Related Software
DOWNLOADS

1.

W32/Sober Worm Removal Tool 3.0

Removes the W32/Sober Worm and its variants completely from your computer.

5336

2.

Xvirus Anti-Malware 7.0.4.0

A simple and easy to use protection tool designed to help you keep your computer at bay from the various threats online.

4790

3.

Panda Anti-Rootkit 1.08.00

Uses latest generation technology to detect and remove rootkits.

7601

4.

W32/Bagle Worm Removal Tool 9.5

Detect and remove W32/Bagle Worm and its variants from your computer.

5563

5.

VirusTotal Scanner 6.5

Desktop tool to perform a quick anti-virus scan using VirusTotal.com.

12526

6.

ARP AntiSpoofer 1.0.1.30 Beta

A utility to detect and resist Bi-directional ARP spoofing.

6087

7.

Dr.Web LiveCD 9.0.0

Emergency System Recovery Disk.

31860

8.

Comodo Cloud Antivirus 1.16.440168.650

Free, simple to use, antivirus software to remove viruses, malware, trojans, and other security threats from your computer.

8390