Advertisement

Results: 1-12 of 12 Total Found

REVIEWS

RATING

DATE

by: KristovSluga

Trend Micro RootkitBuster 5.0-1102 Beta

2013-01-29

Pros:

Working

Cons:

20 false detections!

Other Thoughts:

Not so usable

Advertisement

"works"

by: sirius23

2008-05-09

Other Thoughts:

Seems to work good. Nothing was found on my machine. This app is "non install" just zip and run which is great.

"v- 1.6-1060 beta"

by: mweizor

2007-10-25

Other Thoughts:

Ran fine with my configs with 2kpro-- I scanned with all its option s selected.

"X..."

by: the Vermin8tor

2007-08-03

Other Thoughts:

download Compusec 4 for free,install it,run it and you'll pick up a rootkit,possibly a false-positive,because the software has added an encrypted fiel or something else which antivirus'/anti rpptkits pick up as a 'rootkit' ot 'hidden file' on C:.Use AVG Rootkit remover and you'll detect it.Now try and use that,or Bitdefender AntiRootkit remover,or Ares,Gmer,or trend micro and then post here which removed.I tried them all.But only AVG removed it once.Oh,and by the way if you use Compusec 4, you'll possibly pich up Adware.BHO etc and Malware.Check its History with 'StartUp Mechanic 2x'.The only way to remove these rootkits completely IS to reformat and clean install.
Even if you do this,your PC may report some damage found - using Gmer rootkit remover- of perhaos a rootkit from a Prior installation'.As your 'Hustory' is NOT completely wiped.'History'can be hidden in secret Microsoft file povkets on your PC.Refer to 'Dariks boot and nuke'Software review.

"v-1.6-1055"

by: mweizer

2007-02-05

Other Thoughts:

Actually version is 1.6.0.1052... anyway, my scan came up negative so apparently there is no "fire in my house". Inherintly difficult to evaluate, unless one has another to compare results to .. my only reference is F-Secure scan of a lil while back which was also clean. Just out of curiosity ,Verm. , are you implying that based on your other rootkit scanners , Trend is giving you a false positive? I see what you tried to do about the result ..are you satisfied?

"I have tried..."

by: The Vermin8tor

2007-01-31

Other Thoughts:

AVG Rootkit remover:Detected nothing. Aries Sony Rootkit remover:Detected nothing.White sword:Scanned,detected,removed nothing.Bit Defender Rootkit remover:Detected nothing,removed nothing.Trend Micro Rootkit remover:Scanned,Detected 1,Couldn't remove it.said found-"SYSTEM INFORMATION.N/A".Tried rootkit scanner,Rootkit analyzer,scans can't remove.

"Detected, but not effectively removed..."

by: The Vermin8tor

2007-01-31

Other Thoughts:

Exactly what I was saying...You can detect it,but the software will not effectively remove it.Look at '46 best freeware files ever'it will tell you exactly the same thing.Nothing has been created that will effectively remove rootkits.If there is a program that actually does,up to 98%,then give me its name etc and I'll test it out.

"Wrong...wrong...wrong..."

by: The Vermin8tor

2007-01-31

Other Thoughts:

People who aren't I.T. trained always state the wrong.I am a PC Technician with a Diploma in PC Engineering,Level5.I have been often reminded by my Tutor who has had over 20 years in the I.T. Industry that it is very hard to remove a Rootkit from your PC.The only way to remove it(effectively) is to reformat your PC.As he got one on his network server and couldn't remove it,and another guy built him a Linux firewall to prevent it,and another guy used the same and got hacked through the same firewall used on his Laptop.Look on the net for a website called '46 Best free Utilities ever',and check out their review on Rootkits.F-secure Blacklight was supposedly able to remove them,but expired,and didn't remove it anyway.AVG Rookit remover,and many others can only detect,some falsely claim to remove them, but can't.Show me via video media a rootkit found and then removed then I'll believe you.I bet this software here can't/won't remove one.I downloaded 'Free Compuserver' from freewarefiles.com which had a rootkit in the software download.It sais "(where found) n/a".and did NOT remove it.And if I tried and did,and didn't know what I was removing,I could have damaged my machine.Try contact Patrick @ www.techtorium.co.nz if you still are skeptical.

"Rootkits"

by: x

2007-01-31

Other Thoughts:

Rootkits aren't "impossible to remove", Vermin8tor. The correct phrasing is that while it is possible to remove a rootkit--come on, anything is POSSIBLE--it's very hard to be certain that all traces are removed. Therefore, the sensible advice (coming from no less than Mark Russinovich) is that if a rootkit is found, start clean.

So, utilities like this should not be looked at as rootkit cleaners, but rather simple rootkit detectors. If a rootkit is found, don't act as if you have a house with a vermin infestation (where you could get rid of them and then happily go about your life), but rather a house that is on fire (get the hell out, recover what you can, and start anew).

Period.

"Hmm..."

by: The Vermin8tor

2007-01-11

Other Thoughts:

I have a Diploma in PC engineering (L5,NZQA) and have been told a rootkit once on your PC is impossible to remove, and can only be removed by reformatting & clean installing your PC.So let's see if this works to remove any I may encounter on my PC.I have tried McAfee rootkit detective,which found the 'systems information rootkit',which it said was N/A and if I tried to remove 'rootkits' & didn't really know what I was doing and removed the wrong file/folder; it could possibly ruin my computer.Tried AVG Rootkit remover.Desn't seem to pick up anything at the time, did get one one time, didn't seem to remove it.
Get back to you all on the results.Watch my post, and further tested and reviewed items by 'The Vermin8tor',PC Protection & Security Consultant,NZ; @freewarefiles.com'...

"Hmm..."

by: The Vermin8tor

2007-01-11

Other Thoughts:

I have a Diploma in PC engineering (L5,NZQA) and have been told a rootkit once on your PC is impossible to remove, and can only be removed by reformatting & clean installing your PC.So let's see if this works to remove any I may encounter on my PC.I have tried McAfee rootkit detective,which found the 'systems information rootkit',which it said was N/A and if I tried to remove 'rootkits' & didn't really know what I was doing and removed the wrong file/folder; it could possibly ruin my computer.Tried AVG Rootkit remover.Desn't seem to pick up anything, did get one one time, didn't seem to remove it.
Get back to you all on the results.Watch my post, and further tested and reviewed items by 'The Vermin8tor'(PC Protection & Security Consultant,NZ; @freewarefiles.com'...

by: jd

2006-12-25

Other Thoughts:

very fast

Results: 1-12 of 12 Total Found