Advertisement

Results: 1-17 of 17 Total Found

REVIEWS

RATING

DATE

"Headache"

by: Mike

BitDefender Free Edition 1.0

2014-03-14

Pros:

Not sure it has any anymore except it is free.

Cons:

1. Over simplified thus no way of configuring it to work how you want. 2. Uses a lot of resources and slows computer down with constant scanning and updating. 3. Removes programs and files without notification. I happened to look at the logs and checked quarantine and found a bunch of files and a couple of programs sitting there. 4. A nightmare to uninstall.

Other Thoughts:

Tip. If you uninstall you might find that files and processes, services are still installed and running. I tried everything to stop these services and delete files to no avail. Finally the answer was simple work in safe mode, this did the trick, everything gone including registry entries in a couple of minutes. Followed up with c cleaner and registry cleaner.

Advertisement

"Tricky but good"

by: Canvassi

BitDefender Free Edition 1.0

2014-01-28

Pros:

PC much faster with the free edition of BD than with any other AV programs I have tried. (Switched off the auto scan and using only the virus shield. System scans done manually and double checked with MBAM when convenient.) It's a pleasure to have the BD AV shield running without suffering from the sluggishness experienced with other AV apps.

Cons:

BD is too overly concerned about making their program simple to use. There are some things everybody needs to be notified about. Installation left me scratching my head at times. After installation, it also quarantined and removed various perfectly safe program files that I had been using for years - without notifying me. Wasted days trying to find out why these progs were not working. Eventually found out it was BD silently killing them. Then battled to figure out how to use the obscure settings to keep BD from killing them, though some of them are again quarantined, even after I had marked them as excluded in BD. RAM usage is OK while online, but increases massively as soon as you go offline. Updater is also hopelessly overeager and keeps popping up at extremely frequent, disruptive and annoying times while you are online - No settings found to change this behaviour in the latest version.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, I am still fairly happy with BD Free and have decided to keep it, in the hope that the annoying cons will be fixed sometime. If they do fix them, I'll change my rating to a 4.

"version whatever"

by: mweizer

BitDefender Free Edition 1.0

2013-07-25

Cons:

-Continually calling it 1.0 is stupid; either use the full version # or label it 1.3 , 1.4, etc. -Its cumulative rating is bogus -- the posts (of what?) go back to 2007. -No update info here nor readily on website (you wanna surf in the forum?)

Other Thoughts:

Ok, I'm a freeware masochist:

-the .NET framwork link is now offered here (thus one can infer it is required)
I don't have it nor used the link -- last time installer just downloaded it (without asking me)
last time ,as this, I had Microsoft auto update disabled-> didn't matter last time; this time , not so sure.
Kept telling me a file was not properly downloaded > "want to retry?" > ok
did that about 5 times then just selected abort , then exit instal.

Decided to reboot , perchance try again.
LET THE HELL BEGIN
Ultimately, Winlogon would not load -> {popup]
debug or cancel the attempt , either way you're not getting on
OOkay, hit reset button, went to safe mode and deleted everything I could identify as BitDeficater (program, doc, & settings file/folders, registry entries
> Restart pc
It worked
I even, yes, tried it again
partly because of this:

One of the first things installer does is scan for incompatibles (even previous to running installer , I uninstalled my other anti-virus)
Said it found something. what, it didn't say
-> options: they remove whatever it is or (not recommended)instal alongside.
No cancel/abort option
so I Task Manager ended it -- to contemplate and maybe I needed to reboot to fully uninstall previous anti-virus
Previous described problem happened too
But that time I used Last Best Logon
That worked too but still an incompatible
So I tried it again >fine, selected remove whatever it is
Get this, it had the gull to ask me "are you sure"
Blindly, I selected (oh),yes
Then it displayed that it was gonna be my Sunbelt firewall ->reboot

Anyway, I don't know if it couldn't auto install .NET or even bothered trying
Either way it didn't inform me

So I tried the new release of Avira
It told me to remove Sunbelt
and does not need any Microsoft .NET

Too bad no "what's new" info
like "unlike preceding release , we are not gonna instal .NET but, like it, we're not gonna say a damn thing

cheers

"an update on my previous review"

by: Gorlash

BitDefender Free Edition 1.0

2013-07-24

Pros:

it's free

Cons:

see "other thoughts"

Other Thoughts:

Wow, this program turned out to be a MAJOR headache for me. First of all, it tagged 10-20 files as containing trojans; most of these were small utilities that I had compiled myself using MinGW toolchain. Most of these, it allowed me to recover, but some were just deleted.

Then, after that, I downloaded a 4.3GB torrent that definitely did not have any viruses in it, and this program just deleted it with no messages, and no option for recovery.

I sent a support request to BitDefender, but didn't receive a reply after 24 hours. I have now removed this program and returned to MSE.

"Installation was clutzy, but works well"

by: Gorlash

BitDefender Free Edition 1.0

2013-07-23

Pros:

Seems to work well, has good reputation

Cons:

Installation was rather awkward (Win7/64bit). I had to run the installer three times!! The first time it un-installed MSE and then terminated with no messages. The second time it said I needed to reboot to finish cleaning up MSE (but it didn't prompt for that after the un-install). The third time it finally installed, and seemed to be running, but in fact was doing nothing, because it needed me to reboot my machine again, but *still* didn't prompt me to do so! After the second reboot, it then needed me to log in before it would scan, but again didn't prompt me for anything. It just seems to be averse to prompts... Once all this was done, it seems to work well.

Other Thoughts:

None

"UPDATE"

by: KristovSluga

BitDefender Free Edition 1.0

2013-07-09

Pros:

ultrafast,full scan option with right click in tray,very good protection from scam pages,evolving,excellent detection,finally option to exclude files - from quarantine,you press restore,and detection will not flag this as dangerous.Good :)

Cons:

none

Other Thoughts:

Good to see tech from B.D listen for what people say :) 5 stars for this product.Combined with some firewall/Hips is excellent protection.

"Not my choice"

by: KristovSluga

BitDefender Free Edition 1.0

2013-01-28

Pros:

Good detection, light

Cons:

Lack of options(big one), not so nice UI

Other Thoughts:

well, for those playing Perfect World, it will delete patch.exe without asking user ( it is clallified as adaware)! I don't like it.

"v-1.0 free"

by: mweizer

BitDefender Free Edition 1.0

2013-01-04

Cons:

This requires Microsoft .NET Framework 4 client profile (120mb) which , if you don't have it, automatically installs , without telling you. BitDefender, itself, installed size is 123mb It has four running processes; Windows Presentation Foundation .Net Framework gziface.exe gzserv.exe You basically have two setting options : turn the damn thing off/on turn the Auto Scan off/on (when it scans, who knows) and some kind of weird trial period

Other Thoughts:

So, do I like this thing ...um, no.

Given the rating scale (options), I only give 1s (poor) to programs that mess up my system.

"Rated #3 now, I think."

by: Buster Hymen

2008-11-18

Other Thoughts:

Top Anti-virus competitions sunk Nod32 from 3rd to 8 zillionth while Bitdefender now ranks right up there with the best. It caught stuff that others didn't. But, beware of the 'no-news-is-good-news' approach to anti-virusware.

by: Coradine

2008-03-22

Other Thoughts:

BITDEFENDER IS AN ANTIVIRUS FOR SCANNING
AND CAN BE USED WITH ALL THE OTHERS THAT HAVE TOTAL PROTECTION (I USE ANTIVIR THAT FOR ME IS THE BEST).THIS NEW VERSION OF BITDEFENDER IS BETTER OF THE PREVIOUS AND HAS AUTOMATIC UP-TO-DATE.

"i want to ask"

by: it3_pc

2007-12-16

Other Thoughts:

this version have active protection or not?can i use this version with avg free edition?

by: CORADINE

2007-11-12

Other Thoughts:

NOT BAD BUT NOT MUCH GOOD

by:

2007-08-29

Other Thoughts:

heavy on resources but ya cant complain on this free app

"Excellent"

by: andreas

2007-08-27

Other Thoughts:

Simply an excellent product as a back-up scanner.

"sufficient for me"

by: jeus

2007-08-25

Other Thoughts:

I don't use 'permanent' protection, I prefer on demand scan that doesn't slow down the pc, so this is great, much more powerful than the previous version, light, friendly. You can schedule your scans. I prefer to be a little more careful than running a lot of programs and be a slave of my fears.

"ok."

by: p

2007-08-22

Other Thoughts:

it doesnt seem to have active protection so i just use it as a powerfull scanner along with my other 5. It's good gui but it hasent detected anything that my others didn't find.

"powerful"

by: joeres

2007-08-21

Other Thoughts:

It is missing some functionality but in combination with avg you are unbeatable when it comes to virusses

Results: 1-17 of 17 Total Found

    Advertisement
    >