Advertisement

Results: 1-20 of 52 Total Found

REVIEWS

RATING

DATE

"Microsoft Security Essentials 64-bit/ (4.10.209.0 Lightweight and Works well"

by: Synoptic12

Microsoft Security Essentials (32-Bit) 4.10.0219.0

2018-04-19

Pros:

Lightweight, Very Reliable; Works well with windows 7 integration.

Cons:

None

Other Thoughts:

Been using M.S.E. for well over five years with no issues. Really cannot complain about that, especially being freeware.

Advertisement

"Useless"

by: Robert

Microsoft Security Essentials (32-Bit) 4.10.0219.0

2018-04-13

Pros:

Offers a degree of security.

Cons:

Ineffective and shouldn't be relied on as your only protection as it fails to detect all but the most common virus and malware and frequently fails to detect the ones that can do real damage. Doesn't offer any ransom protection.

Other Thoughts:

There are much better free alternatives. Wouldn't recommend.

"Microsoft Security Essentials (32-Bit) 4.4.0304.0"

by: SamikshaGujral

Microsoft Security Essentials (32-Bit) 4.7.0205.0

2015-02-12

Pros:

1) Effective at Cleaning or Isolating Infected Files 2) It is very easy to use 3) Can control scans and updates 4) Effective at Identifying Viruses and Worms

Cons:

1) It will slow down the processing speed 2) Internet speed also reduced 3) Not confirm its real protection is up to scratch but ok if you use it along side Malwarebytes

Other Thoughts:

f you are using this for your antivirus, you are headed for trouble.

"Enough is enough, MSE is going nowhere.."

by: Stuart

Microsoft Security Essentials (32-Bit) 4.5.0216.0

2014-05-21

Pros:

Light, not intrusive, regular updates, free.

Cons:

Missing major features,lack of development,grinds my hard drive, will always be a very basic product.

Other Thoughts:

I was a big fan of MSE when it first came out, but the truth is the programs development has went nowhere ! The reason was spelled out by program manager Holly Stewart who said MSE is baseline security and will "always" come bottom of any AV tests. It would appear MSE has a primary function to help 3rd party AV programs deal with new threats quicker. That's right, we are using this program with the intention of protecting our PC's yet Microsoft see it as a tool for the industry, sorry but I refuse to be a Lab Rat for the AV Mafia.

I also noticed new bugs appearing, at start up it grinds the hell out of my hard drive, sometimes folders are badly delayed in opening and it can screw up your desktop icons. I should have known better that when Microsoft are making products, they only develop them if it suits their interest. I strongly urge people to leave this limited, buggy and going nowhere useless product. It's good to know that in a uncertain world Microsoft will always suck at doing the basics right..

"Not bad at all."

by: Mike

Microsoft Security Essentials (32-Bit) 4.4.0304.0

2014-03-14

Pros:

1. It is very easy to use 2. Can control scans and updates 3. Can control how much CPU it uses. 4. Although it seems to be a bit loose in stopping some viruses it can rid the computer of infections that the big names seem incapable of doing. 5. Works well in conjunction with Malwarebytes.

Cons:

Not sure its real time protection is up to scratch but ok if you use it along side Malwarebytes or similar program. Does not work well with xp but no problems with 7. Full scan very slow but effective.

Other Thoughts:

Have tried all the big names and sick of nags, unilateral quarantine, sand-boxing deleting of files without even a message.
Large consumption of resources and over evasive control of your computer. Furthermore complete removal of these programs is just as hard as removing the viruses they are meant to stop. So far my computer has run far better overall with security essentials.

"It does the job."

by: Hitla

Microsoft Security Essentials (32-Bit) 4.4.0304.0

2014-02-06

Pros:

Cleans up viruses no other antivirus can

Cons:

No more XP Supoort. XP uses less resourses so its best for work and even play.

Other Thoughts:

I've had one of those self replicating viruses that replaces system files and copies itself to EVERYTHING. I've used norton, mcafe AVG and Kaspersky and NONE of them even saw the virus. After reformatting and reinstalling windows the virus was still there (copied itself from another partition). Security Essentials got rid of ALL traces of that virus and i've been using it for 3 years now.

"absolute worst"

by: mauler99

Microsoft Security Essentials (32-Bit) 4.4.0304.0

2013-12-31

Pros:

its free

Cons:

doesn't stop anything. Might as well use a fishing net for a rain coat. See the independent testing results on http://www.av-test.org

Other Thoughts:

If you are using this for your antivirus, you are headed for trouble.

"Best antivirus"

by: Yogesh.d

Microsoft Security Essentials (32-Bit) 4.2.223.0

2013-06-18

Other Thoughts:

M.S essentials is the best antivirus for free

"Still needs work.."

by: Stuart

Microsoft Security Essentials (32-Bit) 4.2.223.0

2013-04-29

Pros:

Light, easy to use, easy to install, works ok with other programs, simple interface, non intrusive, daily updates, free, works well with 7,low false positives, no upgrade nags.

Cons:

Slow full scan, buggy with XP, slow development, bombed in latest AV tests.

Other Thoughts:

This review is based on MSE running on Windows 7 pro, on XP it was very buggy so i removed it from that machine.

MSE is a solid program, i have ran it for over a year now alongside Malwarebytes and have never suffered any infection. However it should be noted my browser is Pale Moon, i have removed many infections on machines running MSE with Internet Explorer which is useless in terms of security.

My biggest gripe with MSE is lack of development, i know that its meant to cover the basics but the program hasn't really moved forward since its release, in fact its taken a step back imo. I wasn't expecting tons of new features but i thought its scanner would at least improve, its still well over an hour to complete a full scan. It has also went from being a program with good detection to bombing in the most recent AV tests, this is strange given the size of database signatures MS has. I can only think that Microsoft are too busy sorting out that mess called Windows 8.

All that being said its still a decent program, run Malwarebytes alongside it and you have a decent defence, for a free setup run Threat Fire alongside it and you will still be more secure than many paid options. I love the no nag approach and the simplicity of the interface, you don't need to be a genius to set it up, the options are plain and to the point, very similar to Defender. The only time i have been alerted is when something worth alerting me about has happened. In one case i had a java exploit which MSE dealt with very effectively. One thing to note is that its set at default "not" to scan removable devices, i found this strange and not a good default setting. You can set auto scans for anytime and choose between quick and full. Quick used to be very quick but after a version update i noticed it scans many more areas including most drivers so quick scan takes approx 10mins now.

Installation couldn't be easier, double click the exe and follow the prompts. Be warned that during install it will switch on automatic updates by default, i never allow Microsoft to auto install updates so if you are the same then remember to switch them back off. It will do a signature update during install which is approx 60/80mb in size. When complete it performs a quick scan. It is also set at default to scan daily which i unchecked as i prefer manual scans. Another good option worth checking out is limiting its CPU during scans, you can set it to only use 50% CPU which is handy if you want a daily scan but wish to continue working.

Overall MSE is still a decent program, its one of the few AV's i have used that doesn't cripple system performance and you wouldn't know its running until something needs attention. I still wouldn't trust it as my only line of defence but it is only meant to cover essentials which it does well. With a little bit of development it could match its premium rivals but a can't see that happening anytime soon. I will stick with it though unless it gives me reason not to.....

"Best AV ever found"

by: Larrold

Microsoft Security Essentials (32-Bit) 4.2.223.1

2013-02-27

Pros:

You can set it to do a full scan daily at any time you want. I have never found any other free anti virus software that allowed you to do that. You can set it up to only do definitions updates.

Cons:

I haven't found anything wrong with this program.

Other Thoughts:

Other free anti virus programs should learn from this one. You should not have to have a paid version of Anti Virus Software to be able to set up a daily full scan.

"Worst Antivirus"

by: Sadhan Adhikari

Microsoft Security Essentials (32-Bit) 4.2.223.0

2013-02-24

Cons:

It runs several unidentifiable programs such as abc.exe, pqr.exe etc. (do not remember the exact names) in the background, which slows down substancially or even stops an average PC consuming nearly 100% CPU. It took me several months to realize it. I removed the rotten MSE, and now the PC is back to normal. Other antivirus, such as AVG, also has such background programs which are easily identifiable because of names such as avgabc.exe, avgpqr.exe etc.

Other Thoughts:

There should be a rating less than 1 - Poor. I wanted to rank it 0 or negative.
I wonder how Microsoft produces extremely slow and user unfriendly programs like MSE and Windows Vista. I am using Windows but will never install other Microsoft programs in it.

"Good but not perfect"

by: Dave

Microsoft Security Essentials (32-Bit) 4.1.0522.0

2013-02-17

Pros:

It works as specified and gives reasonable level of protection

Cons:

When copying large amount of files it will slow down copy process considerably. Better products as Avira do not slow down file access so much.

Other Thoughts:

None

"MSE"

by: Uncle_al

Microsoft Security Essentials (32-Bit) 4.1.0522.0

2012-09-26

Pros:

Good software that works well with MalwareBytes Anti-Malware. No system I have it on has ever been compromised after more than two years of use.

Cons:

Sometimes it is over-simplified thereby not fully assisting the user. It blocks nasties without revealing what it is blocking, occasionally resulting in blocking useful software.

Other Thoughts:

GREENRAGE is a troll - generalized negative comments serve no purpose other than indicating comments are irrational.

"JUST FORGET IT!"

by: GREENRAGE

Microsoft Security Essentials (32-Bit) 4.0.1526.0

2012-09-03

Pros:

Microsoft couldn't sell it.... Wish I could give negative stars!

Cons:

Vista-32 users beware! Installing and uninstalling and reinstalling and reading all the "helpful hints" and dizzying bs, had to reformat. Will avoid MS products in future.

Other Thoughts:

Any corporation can give something away for free; especially if its not worth free.

by: Arthur

Microsoft Security Essentials (32-Bit) 2.1.1116.0

2012-04-10

Pros:

Other Thoughts:

The best i ever used. Its great. love it. And free

"Very Good Product"

by: computergator

Microsoft Security Essentials (32-Bit) 2.1.1116.0

2012-03-29

Pros:

I know that with every product there will be negative reviews; however, I have repaired systems for over 20 years, and almost always find that negative reviews are caused by people who already have software issues within their systems. Everything from pirated programs to corrupt files that they are unaware....that's like "downing" a new car maker for a bad car, and you didn't put any gas in it. MSE is great for what it is...a FREE antivirus program that is way ahead of most other FREE programs; it is successful within its limits; If you want better and more thorough, get off some money...........

Cons:

None really, it is a very good product backed by very good people.

Other Thoughts:

.......most people run into problems with programs like this because they have downloaded countless torrents and patch pRograms trying to get access to legitimate programming with out paying for it. ALL of these have spyware, malware, logging, and keygen associated with them.....THAT IS WHY YOU GET TRASH RESULTS...........

"Stuffed my computer"

by: Mike

Microsoft Security Essentials (32-Bit) 2.1.1116.0

2011-12-16

Pros:

None

Cons:

It ran so many false positives and missed the real ones. Slowed my computer, made some programs inoperable and was extremely hard to properly uninstall which made it hard to install a better option.

Other Thoughts:

Getting really fed up with Microsoft

"just good,,"

by: Bapakne Anake Rabi

Microsoft Security Essentials (32-Bit) 2.1.1116.0

2011-08-11

Pros:

fairly it's good, because it's made by the author of the OS (Windows), they know everything they've made,,

Cons:

sometimes it makes old computer become sluggish,,

Other Thoughts:

maybe it needs some improvement in it's core engine.

"The best free protection you can get."

by: Bob

Microsoft Security Essentials (32-Bit) 2.1.1116.0

2011-06-30

Pros:

Light, free, all round protection, low false positives.

Cons:

needs a little development.

Other Thoughts:

I hate MS but you cant condemn a program thats good becuase they make it.
To put it in simple terms, if you want good "free" protection then this is the best option.

They have a brilliant database and false positives are low.
Its quite light on resources and its so simple to use and doesn't have a bunch of options you will never use.

The previous guy claims it gets it wrong but fails to explain why,but hey, he is a professor so it must be true.

Ive used it on my main machine for 2 years with no problems and my pc is clean.
I have no idea why anyone would pay for an AV, this will do you fine unless you like clicking on flash adverts and visiting dark sites which no AV can really defend against.

If you throw malicious tests at it some will get through but if you knew how little an AV actually catches then it makes no difference!
A pc is only as secure as the person using it, set up and some common sense offers more protection than any AV.

Unlike some annoying AV's this one only bothers you when required and has no stupid toolbars or nag screens which is nice for a free program.

I know its MS but for once they got it right and for all round protection its the best...

"Not cool!!!"

by: Proffesor

Microsoft Security Essentials (32-Bit) 2.0.657.0

2011-06-27

Pros:

If you are just visiting the internet and not downloading anything, it's ok if this is your only real time antivirus your using.

Cons:

Tried this several times, it misses so many viruses "Not false possitives" Viruses that I would never recommend using it, that is unless you are only reading internet pages and not downloading anything. Run Malware Bytes or any decent free on demand scanner after downloading a few files here and there "If you can if this is your only primary source of real time anti-virus" and you will see what I am talking about. It's not ready for prime time, NO DOUBT ABOUT THAT! And as the previous user stated I had the same problem, after a while your ram usage skyrockets making it slow down to a snails pace.

Other Thoughts:

Keep in mind, I am using Vista, so that could make a huge difference in the way this program reacts to various systems and software settings. I personally would not use this software for the reason I stated above. I really was hoping Microsoft could have done a better job than this. Out of all the programs out there that SHOULD NOT have a problem with compatibility it's "WINDOWS". Don't waste your time, get Avira/Avast/AVG/Comodo, you'd be better off doing so.

Results: 1-20 of 52 Total Found