Advertisement

HOME : Wubi 12.10 : User Reviews

Results: 1-20 of 28 Total Found

REVIEWS

RATING

DATE

"Linux CDs"

by: SLK8NE

2010-05-07

Other Thoughts:

Um, I have used Linux too and didn't have that problem. As for playing, a lot of Linux distros don't have autoplay for music cds by default. Did you try going to Multimedia>whatever player came with your distro?

Advertisement

"Bill Gates"

by: Gazmania

2010-05-06

Other Thoughts:

The person who posted multiple negative comments about Wubi and Linux not working
is either Bill Gates or just a moron who knows very little about computing, Peace Out

"Perfect for Linux Newbies"

by: CharlieOrlando

2010-05-05

Other Thoughts:

After avoiding Linux for years, I took a chance and installed Wubi. Wubi installed flawlessly and ran perfectly. It gave me a very good understanding of the look, feel, and functionality of a Linux OS. And, no, I didn't even receive the "trojan" or virus false positive when installing it. In short, Wubi is fantastic. It's clearly the easiest way to install and use Linux for the first time. So, if you're curious regarding what Linux is all about as a desktop operating system, you definitely should give Wubi a try!

"We are confident that the system will be improved ..."

by: Dr. Nemo

2009-05-04

Other Thoughts:

It is an installer for Ubuntu 9.04 and its variants Xubuntu, Kubuntu and Mythbuntu. It is characterized to make the distro something like an executable that installs on any Windows without partitioning the disk to the effect. As a solution is interesting, and we are confident that the system will be improved but for now is not the most desirable, because - for Ubuntu is operable in this manner - requires at least 1.5 GHz of RAM. Thus, a LiveCD/DVD is more comfortable to test Ubuntu and does not require no installation to work.

"most simple way to try Linux"

by: nobody

2009-04-28

Other Thoughts:

I really like this because it's perfect for anyone who wants to try Linux but is afraid to do so. Main feature is that you can install Ubuntu without changing your drive partitioning. Very easy and reliable and even more easy to remove if you don't like it.
However, the Ubuntu live-CD and its installer are noob proof too and performance is better because there is no virtual filesystem that needs to be translated in realtime. But removing Ubuntu and restoring your system the way it was before installation involves restoring your partitons and that's not for everybody.
So try Ubuntu with Wubi, when you like it you can remove it and do a "real" install.

"Perfect for newbies!"

by: Inkpot

2009-04-27

Other Thoughts:

I've been a long-time user of Ubuntu Linux, and have always had the difficulty of singing the praises to friends and co-workers about this great OS, only to lose them when they actually tried to install it. Along comes Wubi, and my problems with newbies installing Ubuntu are over. Wubi makes installing Ubuntu ridiculously simple - it does everything for you, including partitioning your hard drive so that you can keep Windows AND Ubuntu on the same machine. Wubi does exactly what it promises and does it very well. Five stars from me!

"little sad :("

by: Fall3N_ighT

2009-04-27

Other Thoughts:

its good but not have support for Ubuntu Studio :( and I am a little scary to be honest if i decided Ubuntu Desktop environment for Ubuntu Studio installation..sry for my poor english and, i give him only 4 stars..thats it :(

"sick people!"

by: aku46

2008-11-04

Other Thoughts:

i cant understand some sick minded people here talking crap thing & not about Wubi.

by:

2008-07-21

Other Thoughts:

Thanks man i will try that that might help me with the wireless deal

"Linux"

by: Big Ron

2008-07-16

Other Thoughts:

great. works well. Can play and redcord CD/DVD's with basic setup. If you cannot get it to play CD's, then just follow directions when installing...

by:

2008-07-15

Other Thoughts:

Agreed. I've been playing with Linux for over a year. Can't even get it to play a cd. Any distro stinks.

by:

2008-07-15

Other Thoughts:

folkes i just tryed this Linux but i can't get the wireless to work I am going to stack with Microsoft Linux is a waste of my time and it blows

by:

2008-07-15

Other Thoughts:

There Sever is to slow to download i disable my anivirus but this server is to slow

"loving it"

by: freeloader

2008-07-14

Other Thoughts:

wubi provides a complete ubuntu installer
it installs ubuntu inside specific file without affecting any of your system
together with wubi needed files it installs ubuntu into a file in your windows system
the installer does not modify your system
disk partitions major files or any regi k
it offers dual boot configuration without any risk or major changes
it keeps your windows mbr instead of using grub boot loader
wubi only adds to the windows boot.ini an extra option so you can boot
windows or ubuntu when the computer starts

this is eg boot.ini before wubi
timeout=15

default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)WINDOWS

[operating systems]

multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect

this is eg boot.ini after wubi
timeout=15

default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)WINDOWS

[operating systems]

multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect



c:wubildr.mbr="Ubuntu"

end of eg

and the whole installation uninstalls directly from the add/remove programs utility in win
or by Uninstall-Ubuntu.exe

again the installer does not modify your system in any way
wubi needs to conect to the internet so
wubi will download ubuntu iso
again wubi only adds to the windows boot.ini an extra option
-( c:wubildr.mbr="Ubuntu" )
and this is trojan ha ha he he

ok you like to try Linux
try Ubuntu Ultimate Edition 1-8

"Ultimate Edition comes with everything you might need. It can be used by novices and even system administrators, as it is packed with applications ranging from media players to tweaking tools. You can listen to MP3s out of the box, and watch your favorite movies with audio and video players like Amarok, XMMS, VLC and Totem. When you have to write a document, view a spreadsheet, make a presentation, etc. you can use OpenOffice, as it comes with all the necessary stuff for your office tasks."

read more
http://news.softpedia.com/news/Ubuntu-Ultimate-Edition-1-8-Launched-86257.shtml

or download
http://linux.softpedia.com/get/System/Operating-Systems/ Linux-Distributions/Ubuntu-Ultimate-Edition-22863.shtml

or visit Ubuntu Ultimate Edition home page
http://ultimateedition.info/Ultimate_Edition_1.8/

Ultimate Edition gives you the option to
use ultimate edition as linux live cd or install with wubi wubi is included with ultimate edition
or get rid offfff that M$ thing and install Ubuntu Ultimate Edition as your one and only OS

for Ubuntu software
Get the software you want
http://www.getdeb.net/

All Applications | Linux App Finder
Browse applications in All Applications | Linux App Finder
http://linuxappfinder.com/all

Ubuntu -- List of sections in "hardy"
http://packages.ubuntu.com/hardy/

by:

2008-07-14

Other Thoughts:

This software is very good, you cant really complain when your getting a free OS for your computer. My only gripe was trying to find software to install on the linux/Ubuntu OS other than that this is a great piece of software and I really enjoyed my time using it.

by:

2008-07-13

Other Thoughts:

This has a virus

"Silly to believe that the Ubuntu community delivers a trojan in their software."

by: Björn Lundahl, Gothe

2008-07-13

Other Thoughts:

The source code is also open so anyone with the technical skills can verify if it includes any malware.

I am a great fan of Avast and I use it in my Vista machine. I have a three year subscription. But it is not perfect, not anything is.

This so called trojan is necessary for the operating system to boot and other operating systems are usually installed when the operating systems are, if there are any, idle and therefore other antivirus software are not activated either during installations to detect this so called trojan. Therefore no alerts!

This software is of the utmost quality and extremely easy to install.

If you want to be safe from malware use open source software and surf the internet with Ubuntu or some other Linux distribution.

"Avast"

by: Andrew

2008-07-11

Other Thoughts:

A fantastic solution if your not technically inclined, or don't have a CD burner (like me :[). Unfortunately Avast! anti-virus constantly thinks the program is installing viruses. I disabled it, and it worked just fine.

"I think this is rubbish."

by: The Vermin8tor

2008-07-10

Other Thoughts:

Downloaded this,ran it and a trojan was detected during downloading stage of each available linux,so could'nt install .Went to folders created in 'my documents'.So no setup able,so no good.Virus in downloader.

"No Trojan!"

by: Ray Alex

2008-07-09

Other Thoughts:

Very good software for those who wants to try out Linux, as beginners.
It is a false positive, no trojan.
read story here.
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=36892.0

Results: 1-20 of 28 Total Found