Advertisement

HOME : Free OCR 5.4.1 : User Reviews

Results: 1-20 of 55 Total Found

REVIEWS

RATING

DATE

"Dangerous"

by: StrongBad

Free OCR 4.2

2016-02-07

Pros:

Initial function is acceptable if you like to spend 15 minutes per page cleaning up the misreads.

Cons:

My system is Windows Vista. My printer is wireless, connected through my router. This software turned off my router's connection with the printer and corrupted my parsing file. It took rebooting the router, reinstalling my printer software, and splicing in a updated version of the parsing file to regain full use of my printer.

Other Thoughts:

None

Advertisement

"Well Done"

by: RitaLouise

Free OCR 4.2

2014-12-03

Pros:

I changed my 13 year old desktop for new. My 5 year old Brother printers original install included PaperPort. I could not get that back. I needed to use my scanner. Low key, mostly text. I had to drill far into Google search, but found this. Initial use has proven basic, and all I need. At the very least it works! Which I did not have before. Thanks to this website.

Cons:

I have just begun to use this, but it functions well for my needs. Mostly I need to convert text so I can edit. So no cons at this point.

Other Thoughts:

If you search for something on Google, it is often a good idea to go 5-7 pages into the search. This is where the real info comes available. Such happened with this website, and I have found a gem.

"Download Link"

by: Admin

Free OCR 4.2

2014-05-18

Other Thoughts:

Please use the "FreewareFiles Direct Download" link rather than the ad-supported download manager.

Direct Download link: http://download.freewarehunter.com/files/freeocr_setup.exe

We checked the file locally and with VirusTotal.com which reports the file as clean:

https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/3cf8a2b4801bb841aa0fe82f4db272e517865aacbcc123f38cda2a42b8495d8c/analysis/

The ad-supported download manager includes 3rd party software that does not need to be installed in order to download the software. All offers can be declined and the download manager will proceed to download the software.

We list direct download links for all software listed on our website and the download manager is optional.

"Poor quality"

by: DannyDK

Free OCR 4.2

2014-05-18

Pros:

Free - does OCR, to some degree

Cons:

Lots of junk utilities installed if you blindly hit Accept during install

Other Thoughts:

Not worth the install (and uninstall time) when other utilities does a much better job and does not offer free junk to join it during install

"@ jcqm - It's Clean"

by: Admin

Free OCR 4.2

2014-05-05

Other Thoughts:

Please use the "FreewareFiles Direct Download" link rather than the ad-supported download manager.

http://download.freewarehunter.com/files/freeocr_setup.exe

We checked the file locally and with VirusTotal.com which reports the file as clean:

https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/3cf8a2b4801bb841aa0fe82f4db272e517865aacbcc123f38cda2a42b8495d8c/analysis/

The ad-supported download manager does not include viruses, however, it does include 3rd party software that does not need to be installed in order to download the software. All offers can be declined and the download manager will proceed to download the software.

We list direct download links for all software listed on our website and the download manager is optional.

"Don't get it'"

by: jcqm

Free OCR 4.2

2014-05-04

Cons:

It installs unrelated software,changes initial page and other things. Do not download it!!

Other Thoughts:

None

by: Victor

Free OCR 4.2

2013-10-10

Pros:

During downloading, site try to load me Trojan (Generic_r.CZH)

Cons:

During downloading, site try to load me Trojan (Generic_r.CZH)

Other Thoughts:

None

"It's Clean"

by: Admin

Free OCR 4.2

2013-10-06

Other Thoughts:

Please use the "FreewareFiles Direct Download" link rather than the ad-supported download manager.

Direct Download link: http://download.freewarefiles.com/files/freeocr_setup.exe

We checked the file locally and with VirusTotal.com which reports the file as clean:

https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/3cf8a2b4801bb841aa0fe82f4db272e517865aacbcc123f38cda2a42b8495d8c/analysis/

The ad-supported download manager does not include viruses, however, it does include 3rd party software that does not need to be installed in order to download the software. All offers can be declined and the download manager will proceed to download the software.

Your antivirus program flagged the software as adware because of the ad-supported download manager. We list direct download links for all software listed on our website and the download manager is optional.

"Virus inside"

by: Bzzz

Free OCR 4.2

2013-10-06

Cons:

It contain some viruses, as Avira told me!

Other Thoughts:

None

"Direct Download"

by: Admin

Free OCR 4.2

2013-08-19

Other Thoughts:

Use the direct download link rather than the ad-supported Download Manager.

FreewareFiles Direct Download
http://download.freewarefiles.com/files/freeocr_setup.exe

"Poor install"

by: Lowmeadow

Free OCR 4.2

2013-08-19

Pros:

Don't know. Not keeping it long enough to find out.

Cons:

Not only does it not ask where to install it (big pet peeve of mine), it automatically installs it in the root of the C: drive (this is unacceptable).

Other Thoughts:

Also watch carefully on the install. What appears to an "Agree" to accept the standard EULA, is really an agreement to MSN your homepage and Bing your default search engine. You then get a second "Agree" chance to install a browser plug-in for Food Buzz which is at least a little more obvious. I don't have a problem with developers funding themselves by bundling like this. But they need to make it clear that's what they are doing and not try to be sly about it.

"Well done"

by: Jim

Free OCR 4.2

2013-07-10

Pros:

I needed something simple to extract the text from a multi-page PDF document. It seems to work better than I was expecting.

Cons:

haven't used it enough to find anything yet...

Other Thoughts:

I saw a review that stated this utility couldn't OCR more than a single page of a PDF file. When you click ther OCR button, you're given the choice to OCR a single page or all pages. "All pages" worked for me to OCR a 10-page PDF file.

"Pretty good accuracy..."

by: omelette

Free OCR 3.0

2012-04-15

Pros:

Good accuracy.

Cons:

Not at all suited for OCR'ing 'en-masse' as it will only process one page at a time - so with pdf's for example, you must manually select each page for processing. The application-size is misleading - this is just a 'downloader', the main OCR is retrieved from the net when run. It is still tiny in size compared to its commercial counterparts.

Other Thoughts:

This really would be much better if it allowed entire pdf documents to be OCR'ed automatically.

BTW, it doesn't run on Linux Wine (with .NET 2.0 installed) Obviously not a 'Con' in the usual sense as it is a failing of Wine, not OCR 3.0 - more a FYI.

"Simples, Eficiente e Gratuito"

by: Luiz Lećo

Free OCR 3.0

2012-01-20

Pros:

- great performance - smart interface - easy to install new languages - brazilian portuguese available

Other Thoughts:

None

"Works as stated"

by: GeoffSchultz

Free OCR 3.0

2011-12-15

Pros:

Installed without any issues on Windows 7 system and runs just fine using a networked Konica/Minolta Magicolor laser scanner/printer.

Cons:

None

Other Thoughts:

People who complain that this won't run on Windows 2000 need to belly up to the bar and upgrade their computer and/or OS! Windows 2000 isn't even supported by MicroSoft anymore.

Also, to the person who complained that this only imported into a single column in Excel need to learn Excel and the Text to Columns function. Duh!

"Failure"

by: misery_guts

Free OCR 3.0

2011-11-26

Pros:

It's free

Cons:

It doesn't work!

Other Thoughts:

When installed on Windows 2000 SP4, it reported it could not run and required the (non-existant) Service Pack 5.

"Very Nice Program"

by: Pat

Free OCR 3.0

2011-10-01

Pros:

Highly accurate conversion Simple to use Clever selection tools to facilitate conversion of multiple columns or embedded images Very good documentation & examples without requiring many pages of 'how to'

Cons:

Some manual attention required, but this is actually an advantage, lending flexibility and increased conversion accuracy.

Other Thoughts:

Thanks to the author(s) for an outstanding program. You have my sincere appreciation and recognition.

"Free OCR 3.0"

by: DegsyS

Free OCR 3.0

2011-09-21

Pros:

!!!WOW!!! Considering that this is free OCR software, I was blown away by how easy it is to download, once downloaded, it installs very quickly. Once setup it is very simple and easy to use, even a complete novice could use without any difficulty at all. Suitable for beginner's to experts alike, much better than the OCR software you pay for. Don't take my word for it, try it yourselves TODAY.!!!

Cons:

Absolutely none...

Other Thoughts:

None

"WOW!"

by: Garry Cutter

Free OCR 3.0

2010-12-22

Pros:

Small, compact program. Very easy to use, and the accuracy is fantastic! Better than a commercial program I've been using.

Cons:

I've found none.

Other Thoughts:

None

"Free OCR 3.0"

by: Rambler

Free OCR 3.0

2010-09-13

Pros:

Couldn't get the HP software to interact with the scanner but this software worked great with my scanner.

Other Thoughts:

None

Results: 1-20 of 55 Total Found