Advertisement

HOME : SpeedyFox 2.0.26 : User Reviews

Results: 1-20 of 26 Total Found

REVIEWS

RATING

DATE

by: Gerry

SpeedyFox 2.0.15

2016-04-13

Pros:

A very easy utility to use, and portable, too. After running SpeedyFox I checked the .sqlite files in my profile and found they were indeed much smaller; places.sqlite was down to just over a megabyte, whereas it's usually 10 MB.

Cons:

Unfortunately, when I started FF after the optimization I didn't notice any appreciable difference in speed, either in launching the browser or in loading pages. Moreover, on exiting FF I discovered that places.sqlite had reverted to 10 MB after only a single run.

Other Thoughts:

Of course, FF was never quick to start up when I first installed it, but then I'm using version 43, which is a lot heavier than older versions. SpeedyFox did not make it any slower, however, and just as the author stated, it didn't mess up my profile, either. I suppose this app's effectiveness could depend on the individual's profile, so maybe other users will have better luck.

Advertisement

"v- 2.0.7"

by: mweizer

SpeedyFox 2.0.7

2014-03-18

Cons:

why have a change log so out of it

Other Thoughts:

I'm no shill for this app, any more or less than any other app; however, my understanding is that if a Mozilla based app is open (being used) , this app does nothing to it.
It works on Palemoon browser and of course Thunderbird mail, for me. No great speed impact, but helps keep it tight.

Stuart, I hear ya, been there and , alas , done that , grinz

"CRAP WARE!"

by: pixster

SpeedyFox 2.0.7

2014-03-17

Pros:

NONE

Cons:

NO THANKS to this piece of *CRAP* I lost all 34 Tabs I had open.

Other Thoughts:

I declined all of their offers, and they
STILL loaded MORE *CRAP* on my browser!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

"Sorry, sorry, sorry"

by: Stuart

SpeedyFox 2.0.6

2013-12-05

Other Thoughts:

I can only offer my most sincere apologies to the author, I confused this program with a add on I had tested the same day with a very similar name. It was a honest mistake and I am very sorry. Could Admin please delete my last review as it doesn't concern this program.

Sorry mweizer, I must have drank too much cough medicine that day or something :-)

Ok Baloney I get the point, a guess you have never made a honest mistake in your life...

by: mweizer

SpeedyFox 2.0.6

2013-12-03

Pros:

small, no instal, fast

Other Thoughts:

Stuart, you lost me , on this one.
(did somebody steal your account?)

There is no update feature, it's no install, delete the old , download the new.
It did not goto website , didn't change homepage.

Startup probably won't change much and takes time the more plugins and extensions it needs to load (especially ones with databases like AdBlock Plus) and these don't change much, far less dynamic than browsing and all that it entails.

The speedup claims can really vary, as Baloney alluded.

I use Ccleaner with Winapp2 which has a compact database option so my results for this are diminished

by: Baloney

SpeedyFox 2.0.6

2013-12-02

Pros:

Compacts databases.

Cons:

None

Other Thoughts:

It does NOT hijack the user's homepage, as a total ignorant wrote. It only compacts databases, as a simple batch file could do using sqlite. A boost can be felt in proportion of the databases' size before/after. Nothing miraculous.

by: Jedijax

SpeedyFox 2.0.4

2013-08-17

Pros:

None.

Cons:

It has pretty much ruined speed for me. The browser takes forever to launch. Webpages take forever to open. Deleting the utility doesn't fix a thing, obviously. I'm just hoping something comes along the way that can revert things to how they were before I used this.

Other Thoughts:

None

"Only OK"

by: RDA

SpeedyFox 1.6

2011-06-16

Pros:

None

Cons:

Did not see much difference in speed opening. If check "open FireFox" box, it takes you to their company's page regardless of your home page or opening page setting in FireFox!

Other Thoughts:

None

"Incredible!"

by: Gavin W.

2010-02-17

Other Thoughts:

So fast...................

"v-1.4.1"

by: mweizer

2010-02-16

Other Thoughts:

On FF 3.6,

A tad better page loading...launching about the same lag
Anyway, it didn't hurt

You have to close FF then run it >>to a previous poster

by: sayyid naufal hawari

2009-11-16

Other Thoughts:

excellent

"Failed for me"

by: blitz

2009-11-09

Other Thoughts:

Got a 'failed to open the profile, please close all Firefox instances before' message.
Ditto even after i cued up Task Manager & ended all FF processes.
Is there any related active plug-ins I'm supposed to shut down first as well?

"brilliant"

by: me

2009-10-22

Other Thoughts:

I didnt think this would work, but as others have said, my firefox took ages to open now its instant, pages open faster too, well worth trying

"Works well when needed"

by: tanstaafl

2009-10-22

Other Thoughts:

Sam and Commercob are either trolls, or didn't bother to even read what this does.

On some systems, it reduced the size of my places.sqlite file from 20+MB down to less than 2MB, which sped up Firefox on those systems dramatically. On others, it didn't do much, because the the sqlite files were already fairly compact.

This is not about Defragging, commercob, it is about optimizing.

5 stars

"Good"

by: extrap

2009-10-21

Other Thoughts:

I would prefer this as a Firefox add-on but it seemingly works with some improvement to the execution of the program.

"Brilliant Idea"

by: Aris Adrianto

2009-10-04

Other Thoughts:

Brilliant. This small tool is much better than the other 'resource-hog' optimizers out there!.

I've been using firefox for two years, and I keep all my browsing history. Before using this tool, it took about 15s to load, and around 30s to shutdown firefox completely. With speedyfox, it only takes 1s to load, and 2s to shut it down. I guess this sqlite 'DB-compacting' function should be integrated in firefox.

Thanks again to the Author for his/her brilliant idea.

"really good"

by: sll

2009-09-06

Other Thoughts:

firefox use to start in about 5 second.After using speedyfox,it now starts almost instantly

"Yes It Does"

by: Speedy Gonzalez

2009-09-03

Other Thoughts:

Speeds everything up with no apparent side effects. Unless you're that DSL turtle, what's not to love?

"Terrific"

by: Alien

2009-09-02

Other Thoughts:

Awsome! Does exactly what it is said to do. It has sped my Firefox by XXX! I was somewhat doubtful and skeptical at first it would work as touted. Well, I tried and I have to admit, it works and it does so beautifully. It has sped up my Firefox XXX over. Many thanks, guys! Mozilla ought to incorporate Speedyfox into their next update of Firefox.

"Perfect"

by: Glenstff

2009-09-01

Other Thoughts:

AWESOME..as promised. You won't be disappointed. Take seconds to install.

Results: 1-20 of 26 Total Found