Advertisement

HOME : VLC Media Player 3.0.2 : User Reviews

Results: 1-20 of 73 Total Found

REVIEWS

RATING

DATE

"Plugins for VLC"

by: TomSJr

VLC Media Player 2.2.0 RC 2 / 2.1.5

2014-11-23

Pros:

When installing VLC, it should ask you if you want to install its plugin to Firefox (Windows).

Cons:

NONE

Other Thoughts:

You can go here to find more info on Firefox and VLC Plugins:
http://plugindoc.mozdev.org/windows-all.html

Advertisement

"Good Video but NO Plugin"

by: dennphill

VLC Media Player 2.1.2

2013-12-22

Pros:

Ben using VideoLan for a long time Works great as stand alone viewer

Cons:

Newest version 2.1.2 Rincewind has NO plugin to update Firefox 26. Older VLC versions will be blocked in Addons. Unacceptable.

Other Thoughts:

VideoLAN does not address this issue. Until fixes are available, product cannot be recommended for use with a browser.

"a small lookback at v-2.1.0"

by: mweizer

VLC Media Player 2.1.1

2013-11-14

Other Thoughts:

For windows (according to site): xp sp2+ through 8 sp1 -- I think for 64 bit same but the way they listed it, I have no idea

they also offer no install 7zip and zip

The .exe previous 2.1.0 installed at ~100mb -- I included all components except ~1.5mb activex plugin player

I haven't updated to this yet -- I'll try their in-program updater (set to manual)

I use think they call it Mozilla plugin player on Pale Moon browser and it is seldom called upon/auto engaged when flash is not used and when it is -- certain movie streams, say -- its progress bar does not indicate. Just play/stop, volume and resize.

It has a huge radio station offering.
I'd love for it to have a r-click option to save the station to some custom area.

So the radio and rarely (apparently) used browser plugin is basically all I use and thus comment about. I only have dabbled in other aspects so...

"Almost"

by:

VLC Media Player (VideoLAN) 2.0.1

2012-06-24

Pros:

Can play virtually all formats of video.

Cons:

The "skin" program..

Other Thoughts:

For many years this was my favorite player.. Now since they went into allowing skins, no matter what you do, the program keeps on putting a skin on it and they will not let you just "open file"..

"VLC 1.2 preview"

by: Raj

VLC Media Player (VideoLAN) 1.2.0 pre4

2012-01-14

Pros:

- Opens a lot of files irrespective of the format - Performs better on h264 files 1080p videos - supports 10 bit decoding - tweaked interface compared to VLC 1.1

Cons:

better library feature would be useful playlist could be better

Other Thoughts:

really useful player which should be present in any system

I always have it and run it at least 5 to 10 times when you have obscure videos on the internet and you cannot figure out the proper codec used. I use mediaplayer classic home cinema for all my other playback purposes and find it versatile and high performing.

"Do You Trust This Software"

by: Ivehadit

VLC Media Player (VideoLAN) 1.1.11

2011-11-14

Pros:

None.

Cons:

The 20MB download becomes a massive 80MB when installed.

Other Thoughts:

I downloaded VLC Player to give it a try and to be truthful found it no better than the two video players I already had installed. GOM Player and SMPlayer. When I came to uninstall it using Revo Uninstaller the 20MB download had become a massive 80mb in the programme files, which made it four times the size of GOM Player and twice the size of SMPlayer. Revo also uninstalled 768 Registry Keys. It certainly made me stop and think as to why the install is so large.

by: cj

VLC Media Player (VideoLAN) 1.1.11

2011-07-17

Pros:

awesome player, one of the best player

Cons:

no need find other player...

Other Thoughts:

None

"Awesome Player"

by: lavacat

VLC Media Player (VideoLAN) 1.1.10

2011-07-02

Pros:

This is the only player I ever use. Supports pretty much all formats out there and it's open source.

Cons:

None

Other Thoughts:

This version also fixes the problem I had when you full screen the video and the windows task bard does not disappear in win 7.

"What happened?"

by: deblake60

VLC Media Player (VideoLAN) 1.1.10

2011-06-07

Pros:

More options

Cons:

Unstable, keeps crashing.

Other Thoughts:

I've used VLC for years and was always a big fan and even recommended to other people. Now with this latest version, my video files will play for about 5 to 10 minutes and then the program crashes. This had never happened before with the older releases.

"great player"

by: Joeres

VLC Media Player (VideoLAN) 1.1.10

2011-06-06

Pros:

the best with KMPlayer I guess - those two are always installed on my system!

Cons:

the arrow still does not disappear

Other Thoughts:

None

"Totally Compatible"

by: uno

VLC Media Player (VideoLAN) 1.1.8

2011-04-05

Pros:

Plays everything I have offered it so far. free, open, and updated regularly.

Other Thoughts:

Thanks to the contributors.

"VLC Junk"

by: gandoki

VLC Media Player (VideoLAN) 1.1.5

2010-12-24

Pros:

Blocks System Operation does install properly

Other Thoughts:

A waste

"the best video player"

by: vizagleo

VLC Media Player (VideoLAN) 1.1.4

2010-10-15

Pros:

any variant can be played on this

Cons:

no converter installed in the player

Other Thoughts:

convert the file while playing

"No, thank you!"

by: luxornet

VLC Media Player (VideoLAN) 1.1.4

2010-10-04

Pros:

Embeded codecs

Cons:

Perhaps some alien made this software!

Other Thoughts:

"Volume 200%" this is the first strange thing I saw at this program. And are a lot

"It's my favorite..."

by: Dr. Nemo

2010-07-31

Other Thoughts:

VLC will make you angry for its boring visualizations and poor adaptation to the skins ... Two things that - ultimately - are not so important.

My advice is to use the default ones to see how VLC is completely stable and economical in the use of resources.

In which VLC shows all his power is in the streaming and playback of videos of every kind and in any medium. More than 175 million downloads of the version 1x attest to why it is the favorite among those who know how to pick the best.

"crash"

by: allan clark

2010-07-06

Other Thoughts:

If you try to change skins it crashes.
if the wind changes or a cloud comes over
it crashes....Its buggy and crashes, best to wait a few years....

"New version rocks!"

by: Freeboy

2010-06-22

Other Thoughts:

Version 1.1.0 brought a lot of significant improvements! Above all, finally there's an optional standard skin that ships with the player and actually fits the player. So far, users had to download a skin if they wanted something else than the default bleak look. Now it's really nice and of course still awesome regarding its functions. And I think about completely switching back from KMPlayer :-)

"Lots of Improvement"

by: cyberbellee

2010-04-21

Other Thoughts:

Just downloaded and install version 1.0.5. I've seen a lot of improvement.
The last version that I downloaded prior to this was version 0.8.6. After that, I get tired of so many bugs and give it up.

Let me tried several configurations, and tweaks, then I will update this review.

"Simply THE BEST !!!"

by: CORNEL

2010-02-06

Other Thoughts:

Until v.1.0.1 I didn't like i!!! Since 1.0.1, it simply doesn't have a match. It is the best. I have to mention that only GOM Player comes close to this one. The thing that makes GOM second to this are the required codecs in some cases.

"Excellent"

by: Scud

2009-09-24

Other Thoughts:

I have used this for a few years now, through most of the updates..and to coin a phrase "it does exactly as is says on the tin". If you don't use this Why not? It's the best on the freeware market, and easy to use.

Results: 1-20 of 73 Total Found