Advertisement

HOME : Kodi 17.6 : User Reviews

Results: 1-14 of 14 Total Found

Advertisement

REVIEWS

RATING

DATE

"Even more confusing to use !"

by: Stuart

Kodi 17.1

2017-04-12

Pros:

Some nice performance enhancements, New default UI , seems lighter on resources.

Cons:

New UI can be confusing at times !

Other Thoughts:

It looks like the Developers have tried to make Kodi more user friendly, in truth it still feels like a confused mess with settings splintered into sub menus and generally all over the place. I will give a more detailed review later as I am still testing this new version at the moment.

"Not so great."

by: CH1306

Kodi 16.1 / 17.0 Beta 1

2016-08-22

Pros:

Looks good.

Cons:

UI is not straightforward. Maybe it's OK for the uber-techie, but for someone who just want to access and play media files, it does not work well right out of the box.

Other Thoughts:

None

"Kodi is awesome"

by: Stuart

Kodi (formerly XBMC Media Center) 14.0

2015-01-16

Pros:

Everything

Cons:

None

Other Thoughts:

This was the version that brings the new name change of Kodi, it also happens to be the best version released to date!

It's not packed with new features but it's packed with something better, "speed". This is the quickest yet most stable version I have ever used. It's a no brainer upgrade, it's core efficiency is so much better.

"most bugs seemed to be ironed out now."

by: stuart

XBMC Media Center 13.2

2014-08-19

Other Thoughts:

Just a small review to confirm that most bugs seemed ironed out now. I still have to admit that I think 12.3 is the best to date, however this version 13.2 does have a few advantages. XBMC seems to handle multiple tasks a little better, when updating plugins before you would have to wait as it cranked through them but now it seems to handle updates quicker. On the downside it takes 13.2 longer to shutdown, with 12.3 the shutdown was always quick with little hangups but 13.2 can take 5/6 seconds to close. If it is in the middle of a update it often freezes. The addons are insane in terms of numbers now with plenty of toys to keep most people happy.

"I would stick with 12.3 for now.."

by: Stuart

XBMC Media Center 13.0

2014-05-08

Pros:

In some ways it's quicker, interface has had a nice polish, it's super quick running on Linux,Video playback is sharper, has potential.

Cons:

Has a few bugs, can be unresponsive, many 3rd party addons don't work.

Other Thoughts:

12.3 Frodo was always going to be hard to beat, in all honesty I think a 12.4 version dedicated to ironing out the bugs and improving performance would have been a better way to go.

I tested this in Beta and I was concerned as it was all over the place, even the last Beta release was still a good bit away from a finished product. I think many of those bugs were not properly sorted, this version has crashed on me a few times now whilst this was unheard of running 12.3. This version can often freeze and has required the task manager to close it.

One plus was the video playback seemed much sharper. I would avoid this version and hold out for 13.1 which should address these issues or stick with Frodo 12.3 for now..

"12.3 is best version yet.."

by: Stuart

XBMC Media Center 12.3

2014-01-04

Pros:

Better performance, Quicker, Adons work better..

Cons:

None

Other Thoughts:

12.2 was a major jump in reliability and speed that was easily noticeable, however 12.3 feels like minor improvements but they add up to make a big difference.!

It is quicker and feels generally more crisp in many ways. Network connection is quicker and it seems to buffer more quickly, I haven't experienced any videos stopping during playback, even at peak times.

The program freezes much less, I should mention that it's usually 3rd party apps that have froze XBMC in the past but now it seems to deal with crashed apps better and often recovers.

Please note that XBMC can fragment your hard drive if you add many of the plugins or change skin, I would recommend keeping a eye on it. The other option you can do is run it from a USB pen. I used a 4gb pen and it works just fine. Simply do the following..

Install xbmc
Go to the install folder
Right click xbmc .exe and create shortcut on desktop
Right click the shortcut -> properties
Add -p behind the target

I would say this is now a program you gotta try...

"12.2 giant leap in reliability"

by: Stuart

XBMC Media Center 12.2

2013-06-21

Pros:

more stable, more reliable, uses less resources , some brilliant 3rd party apps added.

Cons:

some old apps don't work well on new version.

Other Thoughts:

12.2 is a good follow on from 12.1 and ticks all the right boxes.! I noticed a good performance gain in all areas. XBMC loads quicker and is quicker at loading apps, more important it doesn't hang up as bad on shut down which was a right pain sometimes, now its 2/3 seconds. The performance gains make it a much more enjoyable experience, Eden was really buggy in this area. 12.2 is also a little lighter but could still do with some work in that area.

What makes this program so appealing is the army of 3rd party apps available and now its been made easy with XBMC HUB Wizard. I still prefer to add my media sources manually but if you don't want that challenge and just want a easy way to do it then simply download XBMC HUB Wizard. Google it, download it, install it and run the program. When you fire up XBMC you will soon see the value in this program.

My only niggle is the pace of development seems to break a lot of older apps like Music Video Jukebox and a few others. This isn't really XBMC's fault its the 3rd party developers failing to update their plugins. Still when you get it for free its hard to criticise but why write a brilliant plugin and it doesn't work on the latest version? It just seems such a waste of talent and effort.

I hope the good work continues as its a program well worth having. One tip I have said before but is worth repeating is take half an hour to learn it and it will pay you back in spades..

"Keeps crashing"

by: Lasko

XBMC Media Center 12.1

2013-03-20

Pros:

Looks great

Cons:

Stops working often. Crashed 4 times yesterday during setup

Other Thoughts:

None

"Liking It More Now"

by: Stuart

XBMC Media Center 12.1

2013-03-19

Pros:

Well polished interface, plays almost all video files, army of plugins, great on the bog screen.

Cons:

Still has some bugs, could be more user friendly.

Other Thoughts:

This version (Frodo) is a big jump in performance from Eden. It is more snappy and responsive, when i hit esc it usually cancels the operation. If you change the default skin to Aeon Nox it looks outstanding and well worth doing. To save yourself a lot of grief install xbmc hub for the fusion installer, this will auto config some brilliant channels. One gripe would be some channels i like do not work anymore. (this isnt a XBMC fault, its 3rd party plugins that havent been updated). I loved the Video Jukebox and it refuses to work on Frodo, i havent tried advanced trouble shooting yet.It does still freeze the odd time but much less than previous version.Audio now has genuine stereo sound, yay....

Overall a big thumbs up, this version addressed a lot of bugs and is a genuine upgrade (for the audio alone). I hope they continue this good development work as its making the experience much better and maturing XBMC.

Thanks

"Its a love, hate program"

by: Stuart

XBMC Media Center 12.0 Beta 3 / 11.0

2012-12-10

Pros:

when it works its great, stunning interface,easy install, portable.

Cons:

when it doesn't work its frustrating, heavy, no proper interrupt keys, slow at shutdown, many dead links and dead plugins.

Other Thoughts:

I have a love/hate feeling towards XBMC, when it works it can be a joy to use but sometimes it can drive me mad.
If you are short on power then its hopeless and buggy and not worth the effort.
On a top spec machine like mines its relatively smooth although shutdown is often slow.
One of my biggest problems is no proper interrupt keys, there is a cancel button that doesn't cancel and often freezes.
Thankfully this beta version has made progress and esc works sometimes but all too often i have to launch task manager to close it.

Initial install is easy enough but you better read up before using it as its not the most user friendly program ive used.
The default plugins mostly work but to get the best from it you need the unofficial repo installer, this is another story, there are a lot of broken plugins and links that often freeze XBMC, it can really spoil the experience..

The same goes for finding the simplest features, i had to Google how to clean up all the temp files and metadata as it could quickly swallow up a lot of space, i find myself referring to the manual often and it does make you wonder if its worth all the hassle sometimes.

The interface is stunning though as are the additional skins, it really makes Windows MC look dated.

The bottom line is if you like tinkering with programs then XBMC will reward you, the more i learn about it the better it works.
If you want something that works straight out the box then XBMC will just frustrate you, it badly needs simplified for the masses to use it.
What makes me keep it is its potential, with some development it could be the King of media centre's...

"finally a believer..."

by: el Pablo

XBMC Media Center 11.0

2012-04-01

Pros:

Updated my old XP (sp2) with (microsoft visual C++ 2010) and installed XBMC 11...did the trick. This is one groovy media center. Still not my default media player, but when I want to experience lots of bells and whistles, XBMC-11 is the one to get!!!

Cons:

When you update your computers, this media center will perform miracles. The interface is like some voluptuous eye candy thing, almost looks 3-dimensional. You'll feel like you're right there in the theater. My one and only beef is that it takes several seconds to shut down...

Other Thoughts:

Definitely my last XBMC review...I'm glad I took the time (6 months) to research this one. It is also a BIG improvement over 10.1...update your stuff and give this baby a try...six stars!!!

"Finally got it woking..."

by: el Pablo

XBMC Media Center 11.0 RC 1

2012-03-10

Pros:

A good media center...give a try. You may have to work with it for awhile before realizing it's value.

Cons:

In my older system(xp-sp2)had to import a specific .dll file to get it to work. That's for 10.1 only (11.0 needs a whole new set additions that I don't have the time to find)...Now has a 80% success rate!

Other Thoughts:

I previously gave this a so-so rating, but after spending countless hours working with it, I can say it is very good, not my best, but very happy with the results. Go XBMC Team!

"works well"

by: Stuart

XBMC Media Center 10.1

2011-12-03

Pros:

good interface, most things work, plenty of plugins that also work, better than windows media centre..

Cons:

sometimes the menu's are a little buggy.

Other Thoughts:

When i installed 7 i tried the media centre but it was too much hassle to get it to work properly.
Like most MS programs it was heavy, buggy and most free plugins were slow or simply didn't work at all.

This one was quite opposite and most plugins i have tried worked.
Its got good development on its side and it runs well on Windows.
There are a few glitches with menus popping up from nowhere and the mouse feels sluggish.
Changing skins also seems to have problems with mouse support but i suppose its due to it never really being designed for input with a mouse.

The interface is sleek and really cool looking that's easy to follow with the settings in the right place.

Windows media centre was always dialing out for updates even though i barely had anything on it but this one doesn't.
It also has a good little maintenance utility to clean up old metadata thats installed as a plugin.

I have now disabled WMC and i am using this as its development is impressive.

"33% success rate..."

by: el Pablo

XBMC Media Center 10.1

2011-10-03

Pros:

When it works, it works well. Video and audio can be fine-tuned to your specifications, however, XBMC is only my fifth favorite media center...

Cons:

Installed this program on 30 different computers, but it only worked on 10 of them. Has many many adjustment tools, but is still difficult to use. Needs more instructions, or maybe its just me.

Other Thoughts:

I've found better media centers at one third the size of this one. I still choose to use XBMC sometimes. It's a nice app but requires more explanations on how to use it effectively. Three stars...

Results: 1-14 of 14 Total Found

    Related Software
    DOWNLOADS

    1.

    x3D-Player 1.5

    Watch videos, movies and video capture devices in 3D.

    10420

    2.

    JeffJr 0.9

    Multimedia queueing tool that allows real-time triggering and mixing of multiple audio and video clips.

    3154

    3.

    Free AVCHD Editor 0.4.4.1

    Create your own AVCHD structure by editing and removing extra streams or clips.

    4331

    4.

    VTCage 0.7 Beta

    Timeline based video editing software application.

    4192

    5.

    Jahshaka 2.0

    Takes advantage of the power of OpenGL to give its users Realtime Effects, Interactivity and hardware rendering.

    4117

    6.

    VobBlanker 2.1.3.0

    A tool able to blank, replace, cut and strip VTS video titles.

    6745

    7.

    WatchHDTV 1.96

    Watch, timeshift, and record OTA HDTV with any Windows XP compatible HDTV Tuner card.

    4841

    8.

    MTS Player 1.0

    A free video player for high definition MTS / M2TS / M2T video files.

    262