Advertisement

HOME : 7-Zip v18.01 : User Reviews

Results: 1-15 of 81 Total Found

Advertisement

REVIEWS

RATING

DATE

"Great"

by: Lablue

7-Zip 9.22 / 9.30 Alpha

2013-11-30

Pros:

fast, very nice UI, command mode, easy to put files

Cons:

none?

Other Thoughts:

stable: 9.20 beta: 9.22, alpha(not for daily use): 9.31 :))

"Perfect"

by: laptopxpert

7-Zip 9.22 Beta

2011-09-30

Pros:

Long list of supported formats. Potent right click menu options Free

Cons:

None

Other Thoughts:

Haven't used other similar utilities in many years since finding 7zip

"Too confusing!"

by: Steinburger

7-Zip 9.20

2011-02-12

Pros:

- Supports many formats - Does work, yes - Is free

Cons:

- Confusing interface - Too many confusing options - Could be vastly simplified with having simply 3 tabs in the program. Compress | Uncompress | Options Where, Compress tab would show at the bottom of the window the option to select the Compression Type (7zip, zip, rar, etc) & the compression level desired. Users could simply drag files to be compressed onto the window & mass compress them all at once, instead of one by one by one, by.... Additionally, they could do the same on the uncompress tab. Drag heaps of files to uncompress onto the window. Bottom of that window would have the option to select the default extract to folder. Lastly, the options button would have all the other settings for the dictionary sizes, whatever. Settings would all be retained to .ini to make it portable.

Other Thoughts:

SFX maker is terrible.
Needs more options!

Such as:
- Selectable icon for SFX
- Selectable output folder for files (with relative path support)
- Selectable for 7z SFX to run up to 5 files before or after the main SFX runs.
- Option to edit comment files 7z makes on SFX files

There are many things 7zip could do to "catch up" and be as good as winrar. Actually, simply having a drag n drop compress & decompress window would be VERY nice!


"Tiny, fast, stable"

by: SteiferPimmel

7-Zip 9.20

2010-11-20

Pros:

- low system footprint - fast - stable - handy

Cons:

- humble interface

Other Thoughts:

Finally, 7-zip version 9.x are not labeled beta anymore. Love this software.

"Good"

by: Don

2010-07-05

Other Thoughts:

Pros:
- Supports multi-format extraction

Cons:
- No folder tree, like windows explorer has for easier navigation
- Has large compression icons/clunky interface

"missing .ace support"

by: worldcuo

2010-06-28

Other Thoughts:

i doesnot support .ace format

"My pick."

by: Jedijax

2010-03-24

Other Thoughts:

Granted, I have only used the windows included zip software, WINRAR and Winzip, but I gotta say out of them 7-Zip is the absolute winner. The context menu options are just what I needed, they're all grouped in a single menu, and not bloating the entire context menu, and cover practically every need.

Never had a single problem, and it even let's me compress to .cbz format on the go!

(.cbz is a compression format for Comic Books. It allows the user to read pages from a single file, instead of de-compressing and opening each page as a single image file. You need, however, a reading software compatible with .cbz or .cbr extensions).

"most preferred"

by: n35u604

2010-02-19

Other Thoughts:

I started to use 7-Zip portable last year and I love it. Now, I set 7-Zip as my default file archiver in my laptop.

"Difference between v9.0x beta and v4.65 ?"

by: Freelover

2009-12-14

Other Thoughts:

It's good. But what's the difference between v9.0x beta and v4.65?

"Decent, I guess"

by: John

2009-12-13

Other Thoughts:

The strong points are that this is free & fast.

However, there are better free unpackers such as Extract Now that are much easier to use & just plain better.

Win Rar has a SFX + Icon maker that just can't be beat by 7Zip, so until then, peace 7Z!

"Brilliant!"

by: Fotzenbefruchter

2009-04-29

Other Thoughts:

A very good packer/unpacker software. Best is it's free and open source! The only drawback is the olf-fashioned toolbar. However, there's a tool available that can modify 7-Zip to your own taste. It's called 7-Zip Theme Manager and is available from here:

http://7ztm.de.vu/

"7-zip"

by: gimbles

2009-04-03

Other Thoughts:

This program is great, however you need a little command-line experience to make self extracting archives. It does say how to in the online help feature,however.

Great free ware

"really the best"

by: Freeboy

2009-03-29

Other Thoughts:

It's free, open source and constantly being improved. Only thing I miss are self-executable split archives (you can make normal split archives though).

"best free archiver?"

by: rhoadesb

2009-03-25

Other Thoughts:

If I did not like Winrar SLIGHTLY better, I would likely use 7zip.

Many people say it 7zip is the best period.

"Good"

by: File Shark

2009-02-03

Other Thoughts:

The strong points are the supported formats, good compression, ease of use.

The weak points of this program are that it's SFX lacks that many features like WinRar SFX, or even NSIS SFX maker.

Good program, but the SFX engine could use a serious overhaul. As is, it is almost not worthy to be called SFX because the extract option is so basic.

Results: 1-15 of 81 Total Found

Related Software
DOWNLOADS

1.

Bitser 1.4

Free Windows software for managing archives and backups.

5146

2.

Quick Zip 5.1.16Pick

QuickZip is a powerful and fast compression utility.

45989

3.

Free UPX 2.4

Advanced graphical interface for the UPX (Ultimate Packer for eXecutables).

9039

4.

Simplyzip 1.1 Beta 82

A multi archiver that can open many archives.

10804

5.

IZArc 4.2Pick

IZArc is the ultimate archive utility supports many archive formats as well as powerful features.

57725

6.

SharpArchiver 2.2

File compression utility that supports 47 different archive extensions.

5556

7.

Zipware 1.5Pick

Free compression tool designed to easily create, convert, encrypt, and extract multiple archive types.

11857

8.

Zipstar 5.62.5260

Create and unpack the archive formats SQX, CAB and ZIP.

6141