Advertisement

Results: 1-20 of 671 Total Found

REVIEWS

RATING

DATE

"AVG failed me."

by: watercat3

AVG AntiVirus Free v2017.4.3014

2017-06-15

Pros:

It's free.

Cons:

Scheduled scans no longer count as a scan of the computer, the aforementioned scheduled scans DO NOT run on schedule, and it may (no proof, just anecdata) interfere with Malwarebytes Antimalware scans.

Other Thoughts:

I used to like AVG, I really did, but then it changed. First, you have to go through Zen to get to the antivirus. Then, there's no progress bar for when it's updating or scanning. I scheduled my scans to run twice a week, Did it run those scans on the days they were scheduled? No, the scan would run up to a day and a half later EVEN THOUGH THE COMPUTER WAS ON BEFORE THE SCHEDULED SCAN WAS DUE TO START! The worst though was when I would run Malwarebytes scans and they would shut down after less than 20 seconds. According to the log, the scan was being cancelled but I wasn't cancelling it. Since uninstalling AVG (and installing something else), Malwarebytes now works.

Advertisement

"Rating should be a minus infinity"

by: Kent Byron

AVG AntiVirus Free v2017.4.3014

2017-05-17

Pros:

For anti-virus it's fair.

Cons:

This mess kept telling me there might have "something bad in it," especially when I knew the program I was installing was completely clean. I finally went back to Avira, which is much better and unobtrusive. I uninstalled AVG only to note that it left a lot of junk on my drive. It took me a long time, but I finally removed the entire pile of junk. NO THANKS, AVG!

Other Thoughts:

None

"full avg download in offline"

by: Hiren

AVG AntiVirus Free 2016 v2016.131.7924

2017-01-01

Pros:

I need download avg to a other internet computer to a install other computer.

Cons:

Other co.puter no have a internet connection.

Other Thoughts:

How to install with out internet.

"Great Freeware"

by: James

AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 14.0 Build 5557a8402

2014-11-09

Pros:

No problem's whatsoever.

Cons:

None.

Other Thoughts:

This program work's great for me. Found thing's wrong with my PC that I didn't know existed. Easy downloaded also. Thank you for AVG AntiVirus free!

"To many issues ...."

by: melen001

AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 14.0 Build 5557a8402

2014-10-27

Pros:

Maybe the only one that it's free .....

Cons:

Download was horrible. Had to wait more then a day for the registration number. This version of AVG is a memory hog. The GUI is just way out of date. And when i tried to uninstall, that was really difficult and i will not use AVG unless they fix these issues. I did manage to uninstall but i had to scour the registry like crazy. Just to many problems so i installed Panda Antivirus Free version 15.0.3 and it's an excellent choice.

Other Thoughts:

Maybe you will have better luck with AVG but i will not use it for now. I am quite satisfied with the free Panda version.

"AVG Free 2015 Updates, no control & memory leakage"

by: ChrisAO

AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 14.0 Build 5557a8402

2014-10-22

Pros:

It's free for Home use, but so is Avast.

Cons:

Since an update to AVG Free 2014 earlier this year where they took away the ability to schedule the definition updates, I decided it was going to get removed in due course as it would inevitably update immediately I switched on, hogging CPU. memory and drive so I can't do a quick check of my email. If I had a quad core processor and umpteen GB of memory, it might not be such an issue. Not yet had time to deal with this, but having complained to AVG I hoped their 2015 update would resolve this. Has it - NO! The updating now has memory leakage as well!! circa 200MB. What's worse in the next update adds a further ~ 200MB. It will be off my machine at the weekend.

Other Thoughts:

AVG need to wake up and smell the coffee. I used to recommend AVG to family and friends and even suggested to the more vulnerable ones to go for the all singing and dancing paid up version. Not anymore I won't be. It took AVG nearly a year to deal with the way they did some of their nagging and promotions, so I'm not going to wait that long for this to be fixed. And before AVG tell me I can schedule updates in the Paid Version, I have no intention of paying to find out if is has more issues and still has the memory leakage bugs. Goodbye AVG.

"Not very impressed !"

by: Stuart

AVG AntiVirus Free 2015 14.0 Build 5315a8160

2014-10-18

Pros:

it's free.

Cons:

Crap UI, nag nag nag, web protection is awful .

Other Thoughts:

Maybe AVG and a few others should take a look at some of the new Anti-Virus products and then rethink their program's design . One thing I cannot stand is stupid nag screens that constantly remind you that the free version you are using isn't quite up to the job, so they constantly pester you to upgrade . AVG is kinda sneaky at how it offers you a free trial period much like Avast does, click the wrong button and you all of a sudden have the trial version installed .

My biggest gripe is the simply awful web protection AVG offers, I have no doubt it protects your online activity 100%, that's because it cripples you browser to the point of it being un-usable so there isn't much chance of infection .

Why do AV companies insist on including stupid utility features like privacy cleaner, disk defrag etc. For AVG this feature is regarded as a premium feature and it is awful . There are dozens of free programs that do a much better job than AVG. Of course after scanning my well maintained PC, AVG has the problems outlined in red and it flags up hundreds of issues, most of which are minor at best . I get the feeling AVG is trying to scare me into buying the premium version.

So to recap, it's bloated, full of useless features, it nags the hell out of you, it has a crap UI, web protection is a screaming joke and frankly I would avoid AVG in favor of much better free alternatives .

"Slow Reply"

by: DC1111

AVG AntiVirus Free 2013 13.0 Build 3345a6382

2013-07-07

Pros:

Free

Cons:

Took almost 48 hours for avg to send email for licence and help icon would not work until licence was added.

Other Thoughts:

48 hours is too long to be unprotected so I uninstalled and installed Avast.

"Best for free"

by: KristovSluga

AVG AntiVirus Free 2013 13.0 Build 3267a6170

2013-03-23

Pros:

Free,nice detection.

Cons:

I dislike user interface,not compatible with some free firewalls outhere

Other Thoughts:

I think it is quite nice av for free

"False positives"

by: Henry

AVG AntiVirus Free 2013 12.0 Build 2793a5877

2012-11-19

Cons:

AVG has been running quite well for a few weeks, but today, it says a particular exe file contains Trojan Horse and pops a window asking whether to clean or ignore it. I chose ignore, but still it does not let me run it, and does not even allow me to copy it. I checked that file with Microsoft Security Essentials, and it says the file is clean.

Other Thoughts:

I have been using that exe file daily for many years. AVG never said it is infected until today. I have backed up that file on a CD and AVG says even that CD backup is infected. How can a file in read-only media got infected? So, beware of AVG issuing false positives.

"AVG Remover"

by: FreewareFiles Admin

AVG AntiVirus Free 2013 12.0 Build 2667a5738

2012-09-13

Other Thoughts:

@power user
You can use AVG Remover to uninstall AVG Antivirus:

AVG Remover 32-Bit
http://www.freewarefiles.com/AVG-Remover-32bit_program_47437.html

AVG Remover 64-bit
http://www.freewarefiles.com/AVG-Remover-64bit_program_47438.html

"danger will robinson!"

by: power user

AVG AntiVirus Free 2013 12.0 Build 2667a5738

2012-09-13

Pros:

none

Cons:

This program sounds like a good idea, and it has it's moments, but it's nearly impossible to uninstall, I needed MS FixIt to get rid of it

Other Thoughts:

You need to seriously consider the consequences of loading this. If you wonder why my poor review, Google the number of complaints and entries about removing this program.

"AVG FREE ANTIVIRUS 2012"

by: souravbanerjee.baner

AVG AntiVirus Free 2012 12.0 Build 2193a5094

2012-07-03

Pros:

GOOD FREE ANTIVIRUS

Cons:

NEEDS SOME ADITIONAL FEATURES LIKE DOWNLOAD PROTECTION IN THE FREE VERSION & LINK SCANNER & ANTISPYWARE COMPONENT NEEDS TO BE MORE STRONGER IN TERMS OF REAL TIME PROTECTION

Other Thoughts:

NEEDS TO INCREASE THE DETECTION & REMOVAL CAPABILITY OF ADVANCED COMPLEX MODERN ZERO DAY THREATS & MALWARES & BEHAVIOUR BASED THREATS & MALWARES IN THE FUTURE UPDATES & UPGRADES OF THE AVG FREE ANTIVIRUS VERSIONS

"Good antivirus"

by: KristovSluga

AVG AntiVirus Free 2012 12.0 Build 2178a5019

2012-06-05

Pros:

Good detection rate Regular updates Free Free :)

Cons:

few false positives Virus corrupted some graphical elements in the Avg

Other Thoughts:

For that money(free) is very good Av.

"Gets the job done PERIOD"

by: Thewhitehat

AVG AntiVirus Free 2012 12.0 Build 2127a4918

2012-04-12

Pros:

Excellent GUI and very effective antivirus.

Cons:

No anti-virus program is perfect.

Other Thoughts:

I have been using AVG free for almost 7 years now. Apart from my own occasional stupidity this anti virus has blocked everything. So long as you use a little common sense on the internet this anti virus will save you money

"AVG Free 2012"

by: Danu@Soft

AVG AntiVirus Free 2012 12.0 Build 2126a4890

2012-04-04

Pros:

Can remove all virus types

Cons:

I was a little slow PC performance, what might be too heavy when running a scan?

Other Thoughts:

AVG Free Antivirus 2012 is a highly effective antivirus solution to keep your computer from virus attacks, malware, worms, trojans and various other malicious files. Besides being able to protect your computer properly, it can also maximize the antivirus Kiner PC. You should know that every day the hackers continue to develop the ability to create new techniques and new types of virus. If the computers we use regular antivirus and can not update automatically, then your PC into a highly target they want. Thus the AVG Free Antivirus 2012 is ready to be protective of your PC.

http://topsecuritysoftware.net/

"It's better then nothing"

by: Oz

AVG AntiVirus Free 2012 12.0 Build 1901a4695

2012-01-07

Pros:

Has some worthwhile features.But nothing that stands out!

Cons:

I've had one to many problems with it the past.Slow scan.false positives and other odd problems.

Other Thoughts:

I would consider other programs before ever using this again.

"Good!"

by: John

AVG AntiVirus Free 2012 12.0 Build 1901a4695

2012-01-01

Pros:

AVG is a decent free A/V that has realtime scanning of files that get downloaded.

Cons:

Although this is probably common to all or most A/V at the moment, & kudos to AVG for including Rootkit scanners in their later versions, but it seems a bit weak in the TDSS based family of rootkits. Have encountered a few cases where rogue malware took over a system, reguardless of AVG/Norton/McAfee, & set themselves as the "default" antivirus. A shame that rogue software would totally cripple security suites like this.

Other Thoughts:

TDSS style rootkits seem to be the Achilles heel of modern A/V programs, but I am sure that they are working on an update to counter it.

Overall, seems to do as well as Norton, without slowing a system as badly.

"Is this freeware?"

by: rodude

AVG AntiVirus Free 2012 12.0 Build 1873a4623

2011-11-21

Pros:

Seems great.

Other Thoughts:

Anything with marketing tactics and a trial period that ends after a certain period probably should not be deemed freeware such is usually shareware thus this wonderful site should not stock antivirus unless freeware. I and people I recommended this to had same drama's leading me to assume crappy marketing.

"Expecting better"

by: Alias

AVG AntiVirus Free 10.0.1321a3540

2011-04-24

Pros:

Free...it does offer reasonable good security against malware trojans viruses etc but it is not the best

Cons:

Only acheived 1 star rating (avcomparatives Feb 2011 latest test results)although it wasn't the worst (Webroot Antivirus and K7 antivirus? which i never even heard of got no stars )it should have done better

Other Thoughts:

Avira,Microsoft and Avast were better although Avast shoul d have been 3 star rated it lost points due to the fact it had too many false positives .

Results: 1-20 of 671 Total Found