Advertisement

Results: 1-20 of 240 Total Found

REVIEWS

RATING

DATE

"Nice and useful tool but there are missing fetures"

by: Maui

FreeCommander XE 2017.740 / 2017.760 Beta

2017-11-10

Pros:

Is a good filemanager but there are some missing features. Luckly there is a portable version that you can always use with your favourite configuaration in different machines. I would like to give you some suggestions about this useful applcation

Cons:

1) Isn't possible to change with external icons the icons of internal commands inside standard or divide Bar. 2) Isn't possible to add inside a standard bar external commands or links to the batch files or others programs. 3) Isn't possible to change the command order to the drop-down menu or add to them new external voices. 4) Isn't possible to create a new main drop-down Menu with our favourites internal, external tools although in extra drop down menu is possible to add our favourite instuments as sub menu. 5) The feature like catalog maker (To create lists of directory trees and their files inside, where you can navigate like virtual files) available like external plugin in Total Commander doesn't exist and doesn't work here. 6) I can't find any tool to find duplicates files Example same size, inside directories 7) The pop up favourite menu Alt+Up is too long there are too many voices, in my opinion is better to put just add_current_dir and a configure option or sub menu for the next voices. 8) If I select some files or Dirs then I do a mistake to deselect them, isn't possible to select again the previous selected items 9) Could be useful to create a tool where you can select multiple files to change the attributes like time creation, modificaton or access where you can choose the time for the first file and then you can increase this time about 1 or more seconds for the next selected files That is almost all for now...... Have a nice day

Other Thoughts:

None

Advertisement

"Re-review"

by: david roper

FreeCommander XE 2016.715

2016-02-01

Pros:

This new version does not take 1/2 second to load on Win 7 64b. Everything is fixed from my last negative comments. I can find nothing wrong with this version. It's the perfect explorer replacment for the user.

Cons:

none

Other Thoughts:

None

"The Best Commander but..."

by: DavidRoper

FreeCommander XE 2015.700 Beta / 2015.685

2015-10-24

Pros:

This commander has all the bells and whistles that you could ever need. I like it the most of all I have tried but... I have to attempt to load it 10-12 times before it finally pops up to use, then I have to close the 11 that I do not need to use. I looked in C-A-D and it loads as a "process" in my Win 7 32 2MB. I use another commander because of this phenomenon. I wrote author. Heard nothing.

Cons:

slow to load unless repeated attempts are tried.

Other Thoughts:

I hope he figures out what the problem is.
With so many saying they use it, it may just be me, but other similar "commanders" do not behave this way on my system. I am sad. I am waiting.

"Extraordinary!"

by: Peter Marsh

FreeCommander XE 2015.685

2015-07-25

Pros:

I have been using it for years and years. I still run the 2009 version. I cannot figure out how to jump around with a single click in this version. The ease with which I can see what is here and there and copy and move is wonderful. The multi-rename, compare and synchronize functions are fantastic. This is simply wonderful, clean, software. I love it and recommend it to all.

Cons:

None.

Other Thoughts:

None

"No ifs no buts - THE BEST!"

by: Calcatian

FreeCommander XE 2015.680 Beta

2014-11-15

Pros:

where should i begin? it has EVERYTHING - and still is not bloated! safe, secure, stable and reliable

Cons:

slightly buggy here and there, but there is a very active helpful community and excellent development life cycle all the major bugs of older versions are almost gone

Other Thoughts:

i have become a faithful user after switching to FC

"great solution"

by: anonymous

FreeCommander XE 2014.650

2014-05-10

Pros:

Marek you "prophet" freecommander gave me just what i was looking for,so far move files,whatever kind to an archive,not"move",like copy feature literally move entire files to another place like archives,rar,zip or drive,and so on(i don`t understand how since now noone think about this issue in computer software),till now with this wonderful,i`ll point out,handy piece of software freecommander save me lots of time,this is a logic and simple utility for those who work with computers in a daily basis,is just a gem, i will recomend anyone who ask me for computer solutions,easy,clean,and useful piece of software your freecommander,thanks.

Other Thoughts:

None

"Nice File Manager"

by: Boaz

FreeCommander XE 641 Preview / 2009.02b

2013-11-23

Pros:

I have been using FreeCommander for a long time. This preview (beta) release is looking nice.

Other Thoughts:

None

"Excellent!"

by: crabbellows

FreeCommander XE 601 Beta / 2009.02b

2013-03-24

Pros:

This NEW Version "XE 601 Beta" I'm surprised hasn't been commented on! Wonderful. . . The closest you can get to Total Commander, but in many ways option-rich better.

Cons:

It isn't polished yet, some assigned action buttons don't work so well, but who cares, most from the drop down menu do, and besides, there are a myriad of them! Never crashes, and is brave.

Other Thoughts:

Everyone ought to try this! Give it a day to examine and peruse.

"fc for mac"

by: carlos

freeCommander 2009.02b

2011-10-06

Other Thoughts:

i am a big fan of your product in Windows. PLEASE, make one similar for mac users too. Finder is terrible.

Thanks a lot for your attention.

"Nice"

by: Mike

freeCommander 2009.02b

2011-08-24

Pros:

Nice and easy to use with most tasks - Makes many tasks quick and painless - still learning to use it properly but love it already

Other Thoughts:

None

"Great software"

by: Tien Hien

freeCommander 2009.02b

2011-01-30

Pros:

It is a great software, which help me working very fast with my files, folders. But when open a file inside a unicode named folder, it always said: invalid directory. I have change the folder name to Non Unicode and it is OK. Please support for unicode folder and files. Thank you

Other Thoughts:

None

"Habit-forming!"

by: Saxydan

freeCommander 2009.02b

2010-09-26

Pros:

Once you get used to this thing it is HELL trying to go without it!

Cons:

None

Other Thoughts:

Don't even TRY substitutes!

"Almost there"

by: RN

freeCommander 2009.02b

2010-09-25

Pros:

It has dual panes for editing and moving files and viewing thru quick view to preview files, and now it supports 64 bit use.

Cons:

Editing file names is a hassle and there is no way to turn off dual view and no undo yet.

Other Thoughts:

None

"At last"

by: iJovica

2010-07-08

Other Thoughts:

Finally, after all these years - it's better than faithful Windows/Total Commander! And it's free!

"Does not refresh properly"

by: Henry

2010-03-25

Other Thoughts:

After opening FreeCommander, I inserted a USB thumb drive. FC does not show it, not even after clicking the View->Refresh. I have to close FC and re-enter it, and only then, the USB drive shows up.

"Unicode Filename not shown properly"

by: Henry

2010-03-09

Other Thoughts:

Some of my files are named using Korean, and Japanese. FC is unable to show them in their original language, but shows them using alphanumeric characters.

by: yp411

2009-12-25

Other Thoughts:

useful prg
better subs explorer

"A couple of suggestions"

by: quercus

2009-09-21

Other Thoughts:

An extremely useful utility. There are things I would like to see improved. The problem is that I still have to use Windows Explorer. For example, fC does not recognize some Canon cameras, or the HP iPAQ PDA (with ActiveSync). Also, I would very much like to see 7z support (opening like a folder, similar to zip or rar files). Another reviewer mentioned another important issue - an error in copying many files should not abort, it should give you a choice.

"freeCommander 2009.02"

by: Yusuf1111

2009-09-18

Other Thoughts:

thanks, always liked dos commander good
works nicely

"best free file manager"

by: humpty

2009-07-31

Other Thoughts:

it works like total commander, but it's free.

Results: 1-20 of 240 Total Found